FIRST GREEN!! BUT ONLY +3! NOW WHAT?

DevilPup

Member Since 2018
  • My post this morning was related to shooting with a low than normal PS number. I do know it's not about the PS number, but the NADIR, but Spike likes to dive.
  • So now at +3 he found his first green 89. I don't feel this is his nadir. So I need to steer him now for the night?
Since I am new to the low numbers, at what point (PS #) should I "not" shoot or at least lower the dose? What is safe, what isn't? I don't want to get him down to 50. I would really like to keep him between 80 and 120/130. So any help would be appreciated.

This is new post because for some reason, no one is seeing my earlier one...

thanks!

Lu and Spike
 
HI there, I saw on your SS comments that he seems unwell and possibly a pancreatitis flare? How is he eating?

Since he is under 90 right now and you are following SLGS, he just earned a reduction. So , tomorrow you can shoot 1.5 .

He is still at a safe number right now ( just a reduction number for SLGS). If you haven't all ready, give him a little bit of low carb food just to help him surf; a tbsp. of so. And can you get another test in 30 minutes. If he continues to drop more, a little more food. And depending on how much lower will tell you if you should continue with the LC food or some medium carb food (MC) .
 
HI there, I saw on your SS comments that he seems unwell and possibly a pancreatitis flare? How is he eating?

Since he is under 90 right now and you are following SLGS, he just earned a reduction. So , tomorrow you can shoot 1.5 .

He is still at a safe number right now ( just a reduction number for SLGS). If you haven't all ready, give him a little bit of low carb food just to help him surf; a tbsp. of so. And can you get another test in 30 minutes. If he continues to drop more, a little more food. And depending on how much lower will tell you if you should continue with the LC food or some medium carb food (MC) .

Thanks for replying. He is eating good. I don't believe he is in a full flare, but I'm staying on top of the symptoms to prevent one. I gave him Cerenia this afternoon and Buprenorphine this evening. He is drinking good.

I will drop him in the AM. I will offer some LC food now and test again in 30 mins.
 
Lu,

Sorry no one responded to other pist. It's a holiday weekend in Canada so probably a lot of people aren't around.

I would give a tsp of low carb and test in 60 minutes. If your really concerned test in 30 minutes.

As far as urine stick test. I was told today when the blood glucose is over 300 is when it spills into the urine. I don't know if that's correct or not but once kitty is showing improvement it makes sense it will not be in urine. My Olive just had a urinalysis done and there was no sugar in hers.
 
It'll also help if you keep your subject line updated with the latest test data, so we can see at a glance whether you need help (lower green) or whether it's just cause for celebration. I would still do the happy dance for that green. :D
 
Lu,

Sorry no one responded to other pist. It's a holiday weekend in Canada so probably a lot of people aren't around.

I would give a tsp of low carb and test in 60 minutes. If your really concerned test in 30 minutes.

As far as urine stick test. I was told today when the blood glucose is over 300 is when it spills into the urine. I don't know if that's correct or not but once kitty is showing improvement it makes sense it will not be in urine. My Olive just had a urinalysis done and there was no sugar in hers.

Ok, thanks! That makes sense with the urine test strip. I don't know why I tried it....it had always shown the highest possible reading and yesterday it was "negative." So great, I guess were doing the right thing!

Yes, it's a long holiday weekend in the states, too. Hope all can relax some and have a good weekend.

He's sleeping now after his snack. I will test again and post his readings.
 
It'll also help if you keep your subject line updated with the latest test data, so we can see at a glance whether you need help (lower green) or whether it's just cause for celebration. I would still do the happy dance for that green. :D

Sorry, I listed all his readings from today in my morning post just a short time ago. I guess I continue to learn how to navigate this message board. I figured listing the subject line as I did I would get a response.

Green numbers are a reason to celebrate! However, being new the greenies I am very cautious.

====================

AMPS: 163 An hour late because I needed help this morning with dosage. At 171 an hour later I shot full dose 1.75U
+1: 200 +2: 180 +5: 182 + 7: 158 +9.5: 179
PMPS: +11.5 178 +2: 113 +3: 89 (fed LC snack) Shot 1/2 hour earlier to try to get back on schedule.
Will test again in 15 minutes.
Poor guy, I keep waking him up.:(
 
+4.5: 134 I gave him a few bad treats after testing. He will be sleeping right next to me, so I will most likely test in a few hours again. I have the test supplies on nightstand.

Its really hard for these babies to get into a nice, healthy range when they have other issues going on. I know there are a lot of other kitties here that are struggling with other issues. I feel so bad for them. Spike is struggling with both pancreatitis and this darn sinusitis. It's either one or the other and sometimes both at once.
 
Back
Top