Hello
Good job on the ear pokes! Many new people have issues so you are off to a great start.
Many of us here feed the Fancy feast classic pates, Friskies pates or Wellness grain free as they are just as low carb, cats love them and they are cheaper. You really do not want to give dry ever.. it will mess with her blood glucose levels.
Its up to you at the end of the day what dose to start on. People here think the vet has recommended too high but it can be hard to go with faceless people you dont know on a forum as opposed to your vet. So whatever you decide, just make sure you test and hopefully you will see pretty soon if the dose is too high.
To keep your cat safe here are some recommendations:
1. test before
every shot.If the preshot test is less than 200 - dont shoot, dont feed and post here immediately so we can advise!
2. Test around 5-7 hours after the am shot, and around 2-3 hours after the pm shot. Plus spot checks during the day . This way you can see whats going on before anything happens!
3. Record your results on a spreadsheet and post them here - that way we can also see whats going on and advise
heres how to set up a spreadsheet If you can do this, we will move you over the to Lantus tight regulation forum where eyes will be watching you and advising daily.
4. Buy some ketone test strips to check her urine for ketones
5. Get your hypo kit set up now:
IN CASE OF EMERGENCY - YOUR HYPO KIT
Put together NOW the following items and put in an easily accessible place!
Phone number of your vet
Phone number, address and map/directions to your nearest emergency vet (or phone number of the cab company and some cash/credit card)
Karo syrup, honey or corn syrup
High carb canned food with gravy – 2-3 cans
Some favourite treats
Spare pack of blood glucose strips
Coffee for you

And print and review
this
Let us know how you get on or if you have questions!
Wendy