First Day on ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonnns

Member
Hi All,

Well, the ProZinc arrived and since I was a day away from having to get a new vial of Lantus, I made the switch. However, I am wondering if she was finally starting to see some influence from the Lantus but I'm not sure as she has decided she isn't as hungry as she used to be.

So rather than take my Vet's advice to start at 2 units, I've started with 1. I don't think we have enough to go on yet but thought I'd share the numbers from day one. I only did a 12 hour curve as the numbers weren't low enough to worry about what happened overnight.

AMPS = 360
+2 = 352
+4 = 332
+6 = 344
+8 = 360
+10 = 388
PMPS = 415

That 415 was the first time in the red in over a week but she's been close to it. If you look at Cindy's SS, you'll see the numbers were coming down.

Anyway, I'm thinking to stay on the 1 for a week and see what happens. Anyone think I should up the dose sooner? Change the dose later?

Thanks for any insight!
 
hi debbie,
wow, sorry we are sooo slow this morning. well, at least you did get a curve. i personnaly would go up .5u but maybe tomorow morning not tonight as you'll want to keep an eye and test....oh, look who i'm talking to? a lantus refugee...your not unfamiliar with all night testing are you? :lol:
 
How long to hold the dose is something we somewhat see different within a confined range.

I like making smaller but faster increases in dose. So between 1u and 2u I would make .1u changes every three cycles. That's about 15 days to cover 1u.

Others here like 3-5 days between increases - but I think they would recommend larger increases of at least .2u. That would be 15-25 days to cover 1u. I can't really speak for how others might advise though.

EDIT: But it's looking like your kitty may need more insulin. I kind of like Lori's idea for the first increase. Are you using u100 syringes and doing the conversion? Where are you shooting your kitty [hopefully not scruff]? If you are using the short needle [5/16"] u100's do make sure to get them in all the way up to the hilt.
 
gator cindy was on lantus for awhile and on a higher dose...that was my thinking. usually i would say to a brand new user to ride out a week but cindy's not a 'virgin' :lol: so i thought .5 increase would be ok? i know i am faster than the others here debbie when it comes to dosecreases so....we are still learning. and i totally respect the other folks positions here. either way will not be a deal breaker for cindy. ;-)
 
Hiya,

I'm using u40 needles although I still have some u100 needles (and a conversion chart) but figured I'd use up the u100's when I was more comfortable with ProZinc. The u100's are short needle but the u40s are not. I alternate sides and do behind the shoulder blades.

Cindy is funny in that she'll tell me which side (or which ear) is ok to poke today. If I scruff the left side and she isn't into it, she'll make a little growly noise. Then I scruff the other side and she is quiet. Opinionated little thing she is <G>.

I'll probably go up .5 units tomorrow morning as she was into the red this am at 415...unless of course, her numbers drop significantly between now and then. The vet wanted to start at 2 units but not being familiar with ProZinc, I'd rather do the SLGS type of thing. It may be that it is just my worries but I'd feel awful if I wasn't careful and she either ended up hypo or somogyi.
 
I'm just trying to make sure your kitty is getting the insulin & in a good place, so pardon me if I'm covering territory you already know. :smile:

Not sure if you have seen this or not - it is the BD where to shoot your cat:
http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx ... 01&id=7374

The best place is the belly - but some cats do not want their belly messed with. The scruff is the least desirable place.

I always say to make sure to press the plunger and don't pull the barrel.

I like the count to "10" advice in here too:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Injecting_insulin
lol that would be "one-kittah-kittah, two-kittah-kittah, three-kittah-kittah" etc. :-D
 
Hey Gator,

No worries on the injection tutorials! :D I'm always looking for good documents. I've been giving injections of various sorts for 30 some odd years. So while I don't need the documents per se, my DH has an abject fear of needles and is so worried about hurting the cat that he probably actually does! Needless to say, unless I am away on a trip (or on my deathbed), he will avoid the poking part of treating the cats like cats avoid the vacuum cleaner.

Cindy has a very sensitive stomach. At one point in her life, she would scream if you even looked like you were going to touch her. All the tests in the world revealed nothing wrong and after a year or so, she stopped being so touchy. However, I'm loath to start poking her there in case it brings that scenario back to life. For now, the sides seem to be working pretty well for her.

I haven't done a curve today but she looks pretty perky. I'll do a curve tomorrow, or at least a few spot checks, to see how she is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top