First day off the anitbiotics since teeth cleaning.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Very Active Member
Looks like last nights shot took hold.
AMPS was 164.

Perhaps it was that turkey snack yesterday afternoon that killed it. It had not seemed to effect his numbers previously though.
I did forget to give him a round of antibiotics the previous morning. So maybe that was a factor.
 
+13 is 209.
Not sure if I should should try shooting .1u today or stick with .2u.
 
Decided to go with .1u @ 13.25.

I tested some drops prior to doing it. An old syringe with water gets 1 drop in the position I am using for .1u. While the new syringe with insulin got about 2 - 2.5 drops in the same position. Could have something to do with surface cohesion being different between the 2 mediums and the drop sizes being slightly different.
Just thought I would pass it on in case nobody had noticed it in the past.
 
Hey sev,

I think you made the right move. I think microdosing off schedule will probably work will for your cat. This morning he was clearly rising and it's been well over 6 hours since his last shot, so hopefully this keeps him stable. You are probably safe with 0.1 or 0.2 (so don't worry if you're off a bit) but for now err on the side of too little..... kitty hasn't gone low in a long time though, so that's great.

I would say as long as BG is 150 or higher and rising, and as long as it's been 6 hours since the last shot, then dose as needed!

Goodluck, I'll be watching.

PS: just out of curiousity, how are kittys symptoms? ie. thirst and urination?
 
cellosmom said:
Hey sev,

I think you made the right move. I think microdosing off schedule will probably work will for your cat. This morning he was clearly rising and it's been well over 6 hours since his last shot, so hopefully this keeps him stable. You are probably safe with 0.1 or 0.2 (so don't worry if you're off a bit) but for now err on the side of too little..... kitty hasn't gone low in a long time though, so that's great.

I would say as long as BG is 150 or higher and rising, and as long as it's been 6 hours since the last shot, then dose as needed!

Goodluck, I'll be watching.

PS: just out of curiousity, how are kittys symptoms? ie. thirst and urination?

There are no symptoms.
He drinks the proper amount and is not overly urinating.
I have been concerned that I am under feeding so have moved his meals up to 3oz per feeding.
 
Just for newbies who might be reading this thread, Kitty is being mini dosed. He is off a 12/12 schedule because he tends to surf in nice numbers for hours on small doses and so will be dosed as needed.

I would not be shooting as early as +6 though, even if he is headed up. Kitty has thrown you too many curves. My guess is that won't be an option. Doses last a long time for him. I would think even mini doses.

Is it Bonnie? I thought that is what Lori said. All this time I have been calling you Sev and figured you were a guy? Sorry about that.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Just for newbies who might be reading this thread, Kitty is being mini dosed. He is off a 12/12 schedule because he tends to surf in nice numbers for hours on small doses and so will be dosed as needed.

I would not be shooting as early as +6 though, even if he is headed up. Kitty has thrown you too many curves. My guess is that won't be an option. Doses last a long time for him. I would think even mini doses.

Is it Bonnie? I thought that is what Lori said. All this time I have been calling you Sev and figured you were a guy? Sorry about that.

Hang on a sec.

Yup. Still an un-neutered male by all accounts. ;-) :-D :lol:
 
Okay, then I missed the whole conversation about the needles going the wrong place. Thought they went to Bonnie? Sorry, again..... One of the disadvantages of conversing on the internet. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Okay, then I missed the whole conversation about the needles going the wrong place. Thought they went to Bonnie? Sorry, again..... One of the disadvantages of conversing on the internet. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

HAHAHA!!
Brenda is who would be referred to in some states as my common law wife since we have been together for so long. :smile:
 
There he goes, surfing along. This is why mini dosing may be challenging for you. To get a shot in before he gets too high, you will need to monitor and give the drop when he is over 180 - 200 and headed up. That could be in the middle of the night. Or best possible scenerio, tomorrow amps.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
There he goes, surfing along. This is why mini dosing may be challenging for you. To get a shot in before he gets too high, you will need to monitor and give the drop when he is over 180 - 200 and headed up. That could be in the middle of the night. Or best possible scenerio, tomorrow amps.

Somebody please shoot me!! ohmygod_smile
 
@ dmartin and don.
I was pretty surprised to see these numbers.
He was also snacking until his bowl was empty around 1 o'clock. I wonder if the antibiotics leaving his system have something to do with it.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
There are worse problems to have. :mrgreen: Remember back to the early days of 500s..... And he should be OTJ soon.

Heh heh. True.
Lets hope he is.

I cant wait to drop off an updated SS at the previous vets. :twisted:
 
Congratulations Sev! You & Kitty have come so far.
I am so happy for both of you.
Come on Kitty's pancreas you can do it! cat_pet_icon

Happy 2012!
Jenn & Baxter
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Congratulations Sev! You & Kitty have come so far.
I am so happy for both of you.
Come on Kitty's pancreas you can do it! cat_pet_icon

Happy 2012!
Jenn & Baxter

Thanks Jen.
 
AMPS came in at 277.
+2 @ 340. However he should drop back into the 200's in the next hour if he follows his general pattern.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Hope you can get a shootable number you can mini dose before bedtime tonight.

I dont know Sue. He came in the same at +14 as he was at +10. 107.

And he ate a lot at the PMPS.
 
Yaaay Kitty!

At what point did you feed him? Has he taken easily to eating the increased amount of foods?
 
Mystery said:
Yaaay Kitty!

At what point did you feed him? Has he taken easily to eating the increased amount of foods?

He was fed at 6:30AM.
Kitty is a progressive eater. Leaving food out is not a problem.
If I starve him all day long he will scarf his food down. Otherwise its snack here. Snack there.
 
Enjoy it. Do what you.need to do & don't worry. He can't go low, so worst case is he rises.& you have to shoot when you get back.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
I am afraid to leave the house.
Why? He's had no insulin. Many posts ago I said his numbers could be whacky after dental if his body is trying to go into remission. Looks like it is happening.

Sarcasm Hope. :mrgreen:

+30 is 100.
However he had a snack right after I tested. It should be interesting to see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top