First day of Vetoryl

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ana & Frosty (GA)

Member Since 2018
good morning, all

I started Frosty on Vetoryl this morning - 10 mg. I put the capsule in his food and he chowed it down no problem. His pre shot on the 3 units have been improving, and today he gave me a 307, which is very good for him, so I went ahead and decreased his insulin dose back to 2.5 where I know he ran very high. Better be safe than sorry... I’ll continue to monitor his sugars today and tomorrow of course.

The only other issue he’s having is he started having diarrhea yesterday. Since he just finished 2 weeks of antibiotics I’m very concerned about a cdiff infection. Going to call the vet a little bit later to discuss.

Thanks again for all of your support, everyone. Will keep you updated on our journey.
 
I don't know anything about Vetoryl. But I'm also happy to see some treatment for Frosty that can hopefully make him healthy again. He is lucky to have you for a Mom.:bighug:
 
Hi Ana, haven't heard from you for a while. Wondering how Frosty is doing. But I see more yellow starting to appear on the spreadsheet. :)
Hi Wendy! I was going to do a curve tomorrow and post it in the Lantus forum, and tag you :smuggrin: since I know you may be the only person who can advise me on the dose.

I am SO EXCITED about the yellows. This morning’s amps was the lowest he had in a while. I was almost a little hesitant giving him the full dose, but he was still high at +6 last night. I can’t seem to catch him lower than 200s, not sure if his nadir is later in the cycle now or he just hangs out in that range? I almost don’t mind if he’s in the low 200s bc it’s safe and under the renal threshold.

I guess the big question is, do I increase the insulin dose or keep it the same? He tolerated the increase to 3 units well, but still occasionally goes into high 300s/400s. Behavior-wise I don’t see any improvement with the Vetoryl yet. It’s possible he will end up needing a higher dose of it. He has his acth blood test in 2 weeks. Due to my and the vet’s schedule, we couldn’t work it out so that I can bring him 4 hours after the Vetoryl and then take him home, so I will have to take him with me to work and leave him at the vet for the day. I really hate doing that, bu they said he was really cute and social with everyone there, so hopefully he will be ok. I hope we can figure out the right Vetoryl dosage soon and get his diabetes and other issues under control.

Thanks for checking in! I’ll still do a curve tomorrow and post it. Let me know your thoughts on the insulin.

Ana
 
It looks like Frosty is not experiencing any nadirs in the 100-150 range. If it was me, I would go thru the protocol (6 doses after increase) until that objective is reached.
 
It looks like Frosty is not experiencing any nadirs in the 100-150 range. If it was me, I would go thru the protocol (6 doses after increase) until that objective is reached.
I think he may have heard you, Jeff... o_O +4 of 87 tonight (recheck was 84). So we might be decreasing the dose now. I wonder if the Vetoryl is starting to work?
 
That is good news. Maybe he will just stay a bouncy kitteh. Leo is permanently bouncy, keeping both me and Theresa on our toes every day with treatment.

Still it would be nice to have a diabetic kitteh who got the same dose every day and did a nice perfect curve. I guess some of us get these Acros and Cushiings kittehs. But they are sweeter than regular diabetic kittehs, so that's how they pay us back.:bighug:
 
Leo used to be hungry all the time before SRT. The Acro and the diabetes creates such hunger. Leo partly dealt with it - by becoming an expert at leg lovin. He still gives a lot of leg lovin if he is hungry for his next meal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top