First day of starting insulin! some questions...

ssaraiex26

Member Since 2022
Hello there!

Today is my very first post and very first day starting insulin on my boy, Milo! He's on Lantus and I was wondering if it's normal to first see very weird/high numbers when starting out? His AMPS was 450 and at +4 he was 433, +6 505 and +8 527. Is that normal? I just thought it was weird especially since before being on insulin, I tested him several times a week the last few weeks and he would always be in the 400's..

And just a note about my boy.. he's 12. On lantus, Blood work was all normal/middle range except for his glucose (obviously) and his BUN was on the normal/high side. He has always has been negative with ketones (never even a trace), never any UT'S, or infections. No history of DKA. He's a good eater.

Just wanted to get clarity on his first day wonkiness and any other insight/thoughts anyone has regarding starting this sugar dance!

Thank you!
 
Welcome to the best forum you could ever find, can you set up what we call your signature

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


Can you also add those tests to your spreadsheet :cat:

You also might want to read all about Lantus , I'll give you the link, read all the yellow stickys
Happy to see you are using Lantus

Once you fill out your signature and enter the numbers to your spreadsheet I can tag some experienced members for you
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the best forum you could ever find, can you set up what we call your signature

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


Can you also add those tests to your spreadsheet :cat:

You also might want to read all about Lantus , I'll give you the link, read all the yellow stickys
Happy to see you are using Lantus


Thank you! Okay done, did I do it correctly? Does my signature show? I've also attached the spreadsheet :) please let me know if theres an issue so I can fix it. Sorry, im not so tech savy!
and thank you, looking forward to reading about it!
 
Thank you! Okay done, did I do it correctly? Does my signature show? I've also attached the spreadsheet :) please let me know if theres an issue so I can fix it. Sorry, im not so tech savy!
and thank you, looking forward to reading about it!
Hi Sophia your signature is perfect, one problem I saw your spreadsheet before but now when I tap on it I get something about update browser, Microsoft?
I'm not tech savy either. I don't know what happened
When you get it back up the way it was can you fill in the test you already have and I can tag some experienced members for you
Can you add 12 yrs old to your signature also

@ssaraiex26
 
oh no I'm not sure why that happened? Not sure how to fix it either! Does it now open? Not sure how else I can try to fix it..

Yes please, I would greatly appreciate that! My spreadsheet is already filled out. Todays my first day.
 
oh no I'm not sure why that happened? Not sure how to fix it either! Does it now open? Not sure how else I can try to fix it..

Yes please, I would greatly appreciate that! My spreadsheet is already filled out. Todays my first day.
I still can't see the spreadsheet :(
When I tap on it ,it says Microsoft one something
We use Google sheets could that be it
 
Welcome to the LLB forum. It takes 5-7 days for the depot to build. One shot might not do anything. If you follow one of our methods it will be SLGS because you are feeding some dry food. The starting dose is usually 1.0 if eating dry and wet. Did you recently switch to mostly wet? If so .50 is fine. The dose you pick will be held for 7 days unless you test and get a bg under 90. If that happens a reduction is earned.
We usually ask an intro to be posted on the main forum so don’t be surprised if this gets moved. You are all set up so maybe it won’t be.

Please read the listing guidelines sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/
 
Welcome to the LLB forum. It takes 5-7 days for the depot to build. One shot might not do anything. If you follow one of our methods it will be SLGS because you are feeding some dry food. The starting dose is usually 1.0 if eating dry and wet. Did you recently switch to mostly wet? If so .50 is fine. The dose you pick will be held for 7 days unless you test and get a bg under 90. If that happens a reduction is earned.
We usually ask an intro to be posted on the main forum so don’t be surprised if this gets moved. You are all set up so maybe it won’t be.

Please read the listing guidelines sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

Thanks for the info. I understand one shot probably won't do anything, but my concern is that his numbers in the middle of the day today are in the 500's and he has never been in the 500s. (before yesterday he wasn't on insulin and I was just trying to see if diet will reduce his numbers). I tested him a couple times a day for over a month at least 5 days a week, and his numbers were never in the 500s. He was always in 400s. He has been on mostly wet and a little dry for over a month (the dry food is less than 1% carbs and only a small portion is given overnight).. Vet wanted to start him on 1 unit but I wanted to start lower at 0.5. So.. is that normal for lantus? to get wonky/HIGHER numbers when first starting the insulin?
Thanks again!
 
I honestly think the higher numbers are a coincidence. Do you have a record of your prior tests that you could add to your ss?
Coincidence? hm I don't know.. I'll try adding my record to the sheet but I can say now that when I would test him, every day, at least three times a day, for over a month, it has always been between 410-480. Sometimes tested him before eating, sometimes after, sometimes morning, afternoon, evenings.. it was always in the 400s.
 
Hello and welcome! I know that stress can make numbers higher. Often times tests at the vet are higher. Maybe Milo was stressed out over a change to routine? Or, just total coincidence. Keep gathering numbers and posting here!
 
Hello and welcome! I know that stress can make numbers higher. Often times tests at the vet are higher. Maybe Milo was stressed out over a change to routine? Or, just total coincidence. Keep gathering numbers and posting here!
The numbers I mentioned are all from tests at home. at the vet he was at 600 but I know stress affects that. At home, always 400s. Today, first day on insulin, his mid cycle numbers are in the 500s. I know it isn't stress related... but thanks and I will!
 
Back
Top