Griffin the Siberian
Member Since 2021
(I posted this in the Prozinc support page this morning, but haven’t received any replies, so I hope it is ok to repost here?)
Hi and thank you to everyone on this board for the wealth of information!
Griffin was diagnosed a month ago (BG was 353 at last reading on Monday), but he had many issues going on at once so we were advised to work on managing the high blood pressure before starting insulin. During that time, I transitioned both my cats over to wet food and we have a pretty good routine with that. We were given Prozinc and taught how to do the shot yesterday afternoon, so I am officially starting on this journey today. (I will be picking up all my home testing supplies in the morning, so I haven’t started that part quite yet.)
Today isn't going very well - I'm a little frazzled - and already have some questions.
Yesterday was (another) trip to the vet, which really zapped Griffin’s energy. Last night I was gone, so my husband needed to feed and give the blood pressure medication and eye drops. Apparently it did not go well and he was unable to give the medication.
This morning, Griffin was hiding and did not come out to eat breakfast, so I had to go get him out. He ate about half a can (50 calories) and went and hid again right away before I realized it. So I had to go get him out again to do his eye drops. I wasn't prepared very well (and a little nervous) for the insulin, so by the time I had it all ready to go, he had gone to hide again. I had to get him out one more time to give him the shot. I think that part went well enough, he didn't react.
This excessive hiding is not normal, he is obviously not feeling well - maybe a combo of the vet visit and missing his dose of medication last night?
My first question from this morning was how best to monitor/observe for Hypoglycemia when he is laying very still under a couch/bed/piece of furniture all day?
Second is regarding the spreadsheet. I tried to learn about the dosing methods, but not really understanding SLGS vs TR? I added the 1u shot from this morning, and will learn how to do the rest once I have a meter.
As of now, Griffin hasn’t really come out at all today. I physically took him to his food at lunch and he did not eat, but did drink some water, and then went back under the chair.
Which brings me to my third question because I am getting concerned about giving him a second shot tonight if he isn’t eating.
Should I just see if he will eat dinner and if he doesn’t, do I skip the dose for this evening? Or if he does eat, will it depend on how much he consumes? He should have about 220 calories a day and so far has eaten only 50.
I feel so bad for him, he is just not himself! It’s been a long month getting to this point and I just want him to start feeling better.
Thank you for any advice you can give me.
Hi and thank you to everyone on this board for the wealth of information!
Griffin was diagnosed a month ago (BG was 353 at last reading on Monday), but he had many issues going on at once so we were advised to work on managing the high blood pressure before starting insulin. During that time, I transitioned both my cats over to wet food and we have a pretty good routine with that. We were given Prozinc and taught how to do the shot yesterday afternoon, so I am officially starting on this journey today. (I will be picking up all my home testing supplies in the morning, so I haven’t started that part quite yet.)
Today isn't going very well - I'm a little frazzled - and already have some questions.
Yesterday was (another) trip to the vet, which really zapped Griffin’s energy. Last night I was gone, so my husband needed to feed and give the blood pressure medication and eye drops. Apparently it did not go well and he was unable to give the medication.
This morning, Griffin was hiding and did not come out to eat breakfast, so I had to go get him out. He ate about half a can (50 calories) and went and hid again right away before I realized it. So I had to go get him out again to do his eye drops. I wasn't prepared very well (and a little nervous) for the insulin, so by the time I had it all ready to go, he had gone to hide again. I had to get him out one more time to give him the shot. I think that part went well enough, he didn't react.
This excessive hiding is not normal, he is obviously not feeling well - maybe a combo of the vet visit and missing his dose of medication last night?
My first question from this morning was how best to monitor/observe for Hypoglycemia when he is laying very still under a couch/bed/piece of furniture all day?
Second is regarding the spreadsheet. I tried to learn about the dosing methods, but not really understanding SLGS vs TR? I added the 1u shot from this morning, and will learn how to do the rest once I have a meter.
As of now, Griffin hasn’t really come out at all today. I physically took him to his food at lunch and he did not eat, but did drink some water, and then went back under the chair.
Which brings me to my third question because I am getting concerned about giving him a second shot tonight if he isn’t eating.
Should I just see if he will eat dinner and if he doesn’t, do I skip the dose for this evening? Or if he does eat, will it depend on how much he consumes? He should have about 220 calories a day and so far has eaten only 50.
I feel so bad for him, he is just not himself! It’s been a long month getting to this point and I just want him to start feeling better.
Thank you for any advice you can give me.
