First day of insulin, have some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Griffin the Siberian

Member Since 2021
(I posted this in the Prozinc support page this morning, but haven’t received any replies, so I hope it is ok to repost here?)

Hi and thank you to everyone on this board for the wealth of information!

Griffin was diagnosed a month ago (BG was 353 at last reading on Monday), but he had many issues going on at once so we were advised to work on managing the high blood pressure before starting insulin. During that time, I transitioned both my cats over to wet food and we have a pretty good routine with that. We were given Prozinc and taught how to do the shot yesterday afternoon, so I am officially starting on this journey today. (I will be picking up all my home testing supplies in the morning, so I haven’t started that part quite yet.)

Today isn't going very well - I'm a little frazzled - and already have some questions.

Yesterday was (another) trip to the vet, which really zapped Griffin’s energy. Last night I was gone, so my husband needed to feed and give the blood pressure medication and eye drops. Apparently it did not go well and he was unable to give the medication.


This morning, Griffin was hiding and did not come out to eat breakfast, so I had to go get him out. He ate about half a can (50 calories) and went and hid again right away before I realized it. So I had to go get him out again to do his eye drops. I wasn't prepared very well (and a little nervous) for the insulin, so by the time I had it all ready to go, he had gone to hide again. I had to get him out one more time to give him the shot. I think that part went well enough, he didn't react.

This excessive hiding is not normal, he is obviously not feeling well - maybe a combo of the vet visit and missing his dose of medication last night?

My first question from this morning was how best to monitor/observe for Hypoglycemia when he is laying very still under a couch/bed/piece of furniture all day?

Second is regarding the spreadsheet. I tried to learn about the dosing methods, but not really understanding SLGS vs TR? I added the 1u shot from this morning, and will learn how to do the rest once I have a meter.

As of now, Griffin hasn’t really come out at all today. I physically took him to his food at lunch and he did not eat, but did drink some water, and then went back under the chair.

Which brings me to my third question because I am getting concerned about giving him a second shot tonight if he isn’t eating.

Should I just see if he will eat dinner and if he doesn’t, do I skip the dose for this evening? Or if he does eat, will it depend on how much he consumes? He should have about 220 calories a day and so far has eaten only 50.

I feel so bad for him, he is just not himself! It’s been a long month getting to this point and I just want him to start feeling better.

Thank you for any advice you can give me.
 
Hi Sarah
To better help you we need some info about Griffin

to set up your signature
Go all the way up top to you name tap on it and a drop box will appear , you will see the word signature, tap that and just add all your information about Griffin and hit save.

Take a look at my signature all about Tyler all signatures are at the end of everyone's posts in gray

Add info we need to help you:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
 
Last edited:
You said in one of your posts you ordered the Alpha Trak but haven't received it yet and may go out and buy the Reline Prime human meter
Mist of us use a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
The strips for the Alpha Trak are crazy expensive plus you have to order them on the internet.
You said you would figure out how the SS works
I'll give you the link
Real quick
After you test his AMPS and give insulin if you test 2 hours after that his BG would go in the +2 cell (column) if you test 4 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +4 cell. Same goes with his PMPS

Please be sure to list in your signature all of his health issues, I see you posted all of them in your introduction and are you only feeding low carb wet food
Thanks


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
 
Last edited:
Hi Sarah
To better help you we need some info about Griffin

to set up your signature
Go all the way up top to you name tap on it and a drop box will appear , you will see the word signature, tap that and just add all your information about Griffin and hit save.

Take a look at my signature all about Tyler all signatures are at the end of everyone's posts in gray

Add info we need to help you:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
I thought I did this when I joined a few weeks ago, I have just added the info. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
You said in one of your posts you ordered the Alpha Trak but haven't received it yet and may go out and buy the Reline Prime human meter
Mist of us use a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
The strips for the Alpha Trak are crazy expensive plus you have to order them on the internet.
You said you would figure out how the SS works
I'll give you the link
Real quick
After you test his AMPS and give insulin if you test 2 hours after that his BG would go in the +2 cell (column) if you test 4 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +4 cell. Same goes with his PMPS

Please be sure to list in your signature all of his health issues, I see you posted all of them in your introduction and are you only feeding low carb wet food
Thanks


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
Yes, I was unable to get the Relion meter today and will go first thing in the morning to get everything. Thank you for the info!

He just now ate about 10 more calories, so only about 60 for the whole day. I am just not sure if I should give him insulin tonight if that’s all he has eaten? I worry since I can’t test his BG yet and he has very little food in his system.
 
Yes, I was unable to get the Relion meter today and will go first thing in the morning to get everything. Thank you for the info!

He just now ate about 10 more calories, so only about 60 for the whole day. I am just not sure if I should give him insulin tonight if that’s all he has eaten? I worry since I can’t test his BG yet and he has very little food in his system.
When he was first diagnosed did he have any ketones?

I am sorry he's not feeling well. See if you can get him to eat some tuna maybe? If your really worried I would guess you would be safe giving 0.5u

I have a video in my signature showing how I tested my cat CC at home.
 
When he was first diagnosed did he have any ketones?

I am sorry he's not feeling well. See if you can get him to eat some tuna maybe? If your really worried I would guess you would be safe giving 0.5u

I have a video in my signature showing how I tested my cat CC at home.
I actually watched your video today and it helped my nerves a lot!

I was just thinking about trying a can of tuna. Will see how that goes. If he still refuses, you think .5 is better than no shot?
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
 
Today is going much better with Griffin's appetite - he ate breakfast and lunch. I gave him his morning insulin shot and then went to the store to pick up everything I need to test him later: Relion Premier Classic, 26g lancets (they didn't have 28), lancing device, cotton rounds, Neosporin, and a planner (to keep track of his medication/dosing/and location of each shot).

First day of home testing questions:
  1. Advice on using the lancing device vs freehand for my first time? I have seen preferences for both, so not sure which to start with? I'm not feeling super confident and have no experience with needles until my first practice insulin shot at the vet's office two days ago.
  2. I read that Neosporin will help the blood bead and also helps with healing. Do I just rub a small amount on the ear before the prick?
  3. The spreadsheet is giving me almost more anxiety than the testing itself lol. I am going to start slow and just test before the morning and evening shots until I am more comfortable with everything. Any advice for starting slow and keeping it simple with the spreadsheet?
  4. I am working on setting up the Relion Premier Classic meter. Do I need to know or do anything in particular when setting it up for feline readings? The Hypoglycemia indicator can be set from 60 to 20, what number should this be set at?
  5. Any other meter-specific advice before I start?
I think that is all for now. Thank you in advance.
 
Today is going much better with Griffin's appetite - he ate breakfast and lunch. I gave him his morning insulin shot and then went to the store to pick up everything I need to test him later: Relion Premier Classic, 26g lancets (they didn't have 28), lancing device, cotton rounds, Neosporin, and a planner (to keep track of his medication/dosing/and location of each shot).

First day of home testing questions:
  1. Advice on using the lancing device vs freehand for my first time? I have seen preferences for both, so not sure which to start with? I'm not feeling super confident and have no experience with needles until my first practice insulin shot at the vet's office two days ago.
  2. I read that Neosporin will help the blood bead and also helps with healing. Do I just rub a small amount on the ear before the prick?
  3. The spreadsheet is giving me almost more anxiety than the testing itself lol. I am going to start slow and just test before the morning and evening shots until I am more comfortable with everything. Any advice for starting slow and keeping it simple with the spreadsheet?
  4. I am working on setting up the Relion Premier Classic meter. Do I need to know or do anything in particular when setting it up for feline readings? The Hypoglycemia indicator can be set from 60 to 20, what number should this be set at?
  5. Any other meter-specific advice before I start?
I think that is all for now. Thank you in advance.
Glad he's eating better.

1. Free hand was easier for me to aim in the right spot. Never was very successful with a device, and many cats don't like the click.

2. You don't need it daily... Just of there is a scab or bruise. I think I used it every few months.

3. What specifically are you confused about? You put the before shot reading in amps (morning preshot) or pmps... The other columns are for mid cycle tests you might do. So if you have the shot at 7 and tested again at 11, you would put the reading in the +4 column.


4. Normal on a human meter is 50-120, so anything under 50 is too low.

5. You got this
 
Glad he's eating better.

1. Free hand was easier for me to aim in the right spot. Never was very successful with a device, and many cats don't like the click.

2. You don't need it daily... Just of there is a scab or bruise. I think I used it every few months.

3. What specifically are you confused about? You put the before shot reading in amps (morning preshot) or pmps... The other columns are for mid cycle tests you might do. So if you have the shot at 7 and tested again at 11, you would put the reading in the +4 column.


4. Normal on a human meter is 50-120, so anything under 50 is too low.

5. You got this

Ok got it, thank you! I think it’s just the spreadsheet as a whole that feels confusing, I have always avoided them . I’ve been looking at various examples from the community here and it just feels like a lot, but I’m sure I’ll be ok once I start. Thanks again for the help!
 
Ok got it, thank you! I think it’s just the spreadsheet as a whole that feels confusing, I have always avoided them . I’ve been looking at various examples from the community here and it just feels like a lot, but I’m sure I’ll be ok once I start. Thanks again for the help!
The spreadsheet won't be hard once you start. If you have trouble setting it up someone can set it up for you.
 
Success with my first home test! It really is not as big of a deal as we build it up in our heads and Griffin did great! I got an error (E1) message on the meter at first, but figured it out. I also added the reading to my spreadsheet (hopefully correctly!) and now I’m done until the next one in the morning. This is going to be a long road, but now I know I can do it. Thank you for the help and encouragement!
 
Congrats on your first test, you need to be also testing a couple times during each 12 hour cycle , not just the pre shots to see how the insulin is working and how low
Griffin's BG is dropping. The dose is based on how low he's dropping
Anytime he drops below 90 you need to reduce by 0.25 units
I am going to tag
@JanetNJ
@Sarah&Soph

@Panic

to see how often you should test him after shooting.
I'm not a prozinc user but I have read that sometimes they can drop lower towards the end of the cycle using prozinc
Do you have syringes with half unit markings?

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
@Griffin the Siberian
 
Last edited:
Success with my first home test! It really is not as big of a deal as we build it up in our heads and Griffin did great! I got an error (E1) message on the meter at first, but figured it out. I also added the reading to my spreadsheet (hopefully correctly!) and now I’m done until the next one in the morning. This is going to be a long road, but now I know I can do it. Thank you for the help and encouragement!
Whoohooo!!! Congratulations! Well done.
 
Whoohooo!!! Congratulations! Well done.

Took his test just now and it was 304, but he only ate a few bites of his food (I think I accidentally left some out overnight, so he must have eaten a few hours ago), so now I'm back to feeling like I shouldn't shoot? If I skip this one, would I just do the evening one?

I was planning to test him every two hours today. Since I'm using a human meter, do I need to know the conversion for pet readings when I share the spreadsheet with the vet?

Thank you.
 
Congrats on your first test, you need to be also testing a couple times during each 12 hour cycle , not just the pre shots to see how the insulin is working and how low
Griffin's BG is dropping. The dose is based on how low he's dropping
Anytime he drops below 90 you need to reduce by 0.25 units
I am going to tag
@JanetNJ
@Sarah&Soph

@Panic

to see how often you should test him after shooting.
I'm not a prozinc user but I have read that sometimes they can drop lower towards the end of the cycle using prozinc
Do you have syringes with half unit markings?

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
@Griffin the Siberian

Thank you, this is vey helpful. I would love some direction on how often I should test today, I was planning on getting more in so I could get a better sense of his levels. My syringe does not have half unit markings. When you say dropping below 90, is that on the human meter?
 
Thank you, this is vey helpful. I would love some direction on how often I should test today, I was planning on getting more in so I could get a better sense of his levels. My syringe does not have half unit markings. When you say dropping below 90, is that on the human meter?

Thinking more on testing throughout the day today. Since I haven't been able to give him both insulin shots the last two days, I am wondering if I need to wait to do the curve until we have been able to get into a better routine with the insulin and have a better baseline going?
 
Took his test just now and it was 304, but he only ate a few bites of his food (I think I accidentally left some out overnight, so he must have eaten a few hours ago), so now I'm back to feeling like I shouldn't shoot? If I skip this one, would I just do the evening one?

I was planning to test him every two hours today. Since I'm using a human meter, do I need to know the conversion for pet readings when I share the spreadsheet with the vet?

Thank you.


Tagging @JanetNJ for you
 
Thank you, this is vey helpful. I would love some direction on how often I should test today, I was planning on getting more in so I could get a better sense of his levels. My syringe does not have half unit markings. When you say dropping below 90, is that on the human meter?

Tagging @JanetNJ
How often should she test Janet?
And yes anytime he drops under 90 you decrease by 0.25 units on any meter
 
I'd definitly order some syringes with half unit markings. Order them now before you need them. I ordered through chewy.com or Adwdiabetes.com
 
To answer your other question, there is no conversion, the scale is just different. Normal on a human meter is 50-120 and on a pet meter it's 68-150. They are similar at low numbers and farther apart at high numbers. So while a 70 on a human meter might be a 90-100 on a pet meter, a 300 on a human meter might be a 350-400 on a pet meter.
 
Oh my goodness, I must be so frazzled. Thank you for noticing that, I must have added it assuming he would get the 1u. Lesson learned, I fixed it.
That's OK I'm glad I saw it, I see Janet told you to get a test in between 5-7 hours after giving insulin, you want to do that during his night cycle also
You can mix up the times , like maybe @+5, then @+7 also,
Next time you can test @+6, them @+8
This goes for both cycles
Like filling in pieces of a puzzle, of course if he ever drops lower during a cycle you will have to test more often, just ask for help
You can even get a test @ +4 sometimes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top