First Curve - will dose change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa D

Member Since 2019
Hi. Lily was diagnosed 7-13 with 437 reading. She gets 1u Vetsulin each morning. She has been eating pp DM combo wet dry (approx-5 teaspoons dry). Pre-meal bg past week has ranged between 222-281. Today was the highest start bg at 281 (an hour after she vomited small amount of liquid). Her curve today was 281; 271; 244; 288; 224; 268 so far (7am-5pm). Using human glucometer.

Should I expect the vet to increase her insulin dose or give more time for food to work?

She seems to vomit on empty stomach. Is restless about 5:30-6:00 before 7 am test, feeding and dose of insulin. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
 
The dry DM food is not the best for diabetic kitties, as it’s too high in carbs. The wet DM is okay carb wise, but is pretty expensive. Fancy feast and friskies pates (if they’re available where you are) are much cheaper and are carb appropriate for diabetic kitties. Removing the dry food might help to bring Lily’s numbers down - but definitely be sure that you are monitoring closely if you remove the dry!

Are you only feeding her two times a day? If you are, many cats do much better with multiple small meals throughout the day, especially on Vetsulin which can drop the blood glucose very hard and fast. That might also help her to stop vomiting from an empty tummy. For example, my girl gets 6 meals a day, and two of them are 2 hours after she gets her injection, which is when Vetsulin typically starts dropping the blood glucose.
 
The dry DM food is not the best for diabetic kitties, as it’s too high in carbs. The wet DM is okay carb wise, but is pretty expensive. Fancy feast and friskies pates (if they’re available where you are) are much cheaper and are carb appropriate for diabetic kitties. Removing the dry food might help to bring Lily’s numbers down - but definitely be sure that you are monitoring closely if you remove the dry!

Are you only feeding her two times a day? If you are, many cats do much better with multiple small meals throughout the day, especially on Vetsulin which can drop the blood glucose very hard and fast. That might also help her to stop vomiting from an empty tummy. For example, my girl gets 6 meals a day, and two of them are 2 hours after she gets her injection, which is when Vetsulin typically starts dropping the blood glucose.
The dry DM food is not the best for diabetic kitties, as it’s too high in carbs. The wet DM is okay carb wise, but is pretty expensive. Fancy feast and friskies pates (if they’re available where you are) are much cheaper and are carb appropriate for diabetic kitties. Removing the dry food might help to bring Lily’s numbers down - but definitely be sure that you are monitoring closely if you remove the dry!

Are you only feeding her two times a day? If you are, many cats do much better with multiple small meals throughout the day, especially on Vetsulin which can drop the blood glucose very hard and fast. That might also help her to stop vomiting from an empty tummy. For example, my girl gets 6 meals a day, and two of them are 2 hours after she gets her injection, which is when Vetsulin typically starts dropping the blood glucose.
Thanks. She is eating six times a day, too. But the wet Food doesn’t seem to hold her from 10:00 pm to 7:00 am when she is tested and gets her shot. I’ll keep weaning off the dry food after reading that wet food can be left out during the day. Timed for peak times.
 
Oh yeah, Sophie has started getting a 4 am snack as well, as there was a solid week where she vomited every morning between 3-5am (shot time is at 6:30). Adding that in stopped it completely. I have a timed feeder with ice packs that works great for during the day, but all the slots are filled so I’ve just been waking up for the 4am feeding :banghead:
 
I leave wet food out overnight, works fine. I've read you can leave wet food out for 24 hours, but that seems a little extreme for me. You can put some water on the wet food, M'row helpfully adds
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top