First curve done yesterday - could someone review it please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grady'smom

Member Since 2014
Good morning:
Grady and I did our very first curve yesterday. I think we both held up pretty well! Anyways, I would appreciate it those with more Lantus experience than myself could look it over and give me your thoughts on it. He was on 1.5 units once daily ( his vet's idea) for a few days before and on the day of his curve. I am going back to 1 unit twice daily.... I don't like him having 12 hrs of no coverage.
I'm still a rookie with all this so any opinions are welcomed.
Thank you!!
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Good morning Linda

Lantus really works best when the same dose is given 12 hours apart. So falling back to 1u twice a day appears to be a good plan.

Grady gets a great response to the 1.5 once a day but only for 12 hours but because he drops so hard early and by it constantly draining and trying to fill his shed in my opinion it would be too high a dose to give twice a day once his shed fills. You may everyone find that 1u twice a day to be a tad high as well once his shed fills.

Hope that makes sense its before coffee here lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Congratulations on getting that curve done! Great work!

I agree completely with Mel, go with 1 unit every 12 hours. And if you happen to get up in the night to go potty, consider tracking down the cat and grabbing a mid cycle test here and there at night. The nighttime cycle can be lower than the daytime.

Ever test you get gives you another point of data to assist you in learning what works for your cat. Every Cat is Different.
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

The official calculation for a starting dose is this:
What is your cat's current weight?
What is your cat's ideal weight?
Take the lower weight.
Convert it to kilograms if it is pounds (pounds / 2.2)
Multiply by 0.25
Round down to nearest quarter unit.

Given twice a day at 12 hour intervals.
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Thank you Mel, Linda, and BJM!

Grady started out back in August on 1 unit BID, then got bumped up to 1.5, then 2 & then back down to 1.5 but once daily. When you all say this is a dance you're not kidding! Lol

I gave him 1 this morning and plan on 1 again tonight. We've got home testing down pat now so I check him before every shot. Another curve in a few weeks!

Thanks again! We appreciate it very much!!!
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Stick with the 1 unit for 3-5 full days and monitor the nadir period +5 to +7 as much as you can.
As long as the glucose stays above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer 68 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak, the 1 unit is safe.

If the nadir also stays under 150 mg/dL, you're narrowing in on the ideal dose.

As you get data that shows the nadir remains safe, you may lower your no shot limit about 10 mg/dL per week - 200, 190, 180, 170, 160, 150 .
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Ok....now a question.

Grady had an awesome day today. He was bright and alert most of the day. I am a happy mama!

I just grabbed an +11...... 179. As it is his usual dinner time, he is eating as we speak. Am I correct in checking him again and he's over 200 giving him his 1 unit?
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Its test, feed, then shoot within about 15 minutes time.

From +10 to pre-shot, no food, so you get a fasting glucose number.

Have you had a chance to read the Lantus Stickie posts in the Tight Regulation forum?
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

The 179 is after no food for at least 4 hrs. He just happened to be sitting in his "spot" so I grabbed a test.

I usually test him, feed him, and shoot within a half hour or less, depending on how long it takes him to finish his food ( he's a bit slow sometimes).

We are still learning the ropes here and all of you have been so helpful. I've been reading as much as I can but right now I think my brain is on information overload.
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Wait until your regular shot time

It helps to print out the stickies and read and re-read bits in the bathroom, on the bus, or waiting in lines. ie, short, repetitive encounters with the info will help it sink in until you wonder how you learned so much!
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Just retested .....187


I'm giving him his 1 unit. I'll be here to keep an eye on him
 
Re: First curve done yesterday - could someone review it ple

Sorry to reply to this so late, but Grady's bouncing looks a lot like Joe's did. We learned that, as long as we were giving "big" doses, 1.0 or more, we couldn't really skip a dose. We had to give him something, even if it was just 0.5 or 0.25. It was in this way that we discovered he did better on smaller doses, and today is day 14 OTJ. Small doses twice a day is better than big dose, nothing, big dose, nothing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top