Hi and welcome to you and Meika to the forum. I see you live in Australia.
I live in Sydney.
As this is the first test you have done, I would not increase just yet until we can see a few days data. The reason for this is because we don’t know if she could be dropping low and bouncing back up high. Bouncing can happen if the blood glucose (BG) levels drop
too fast, too low or lower than she has been used to lately. Her body then panics and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into the system and that sends the BG up high. Bouncing can last from 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do except wait it out. Bouncing can look as if she needs more insulin so that’s why we need to see a few days data. In all likelihood she does need an increase but it is much safer to have the data to confirm that.
Try and always get in the preshot test….so the routine is
test, feed and shot one after the other. If the preshot BG is under 200 (11) at the moment I would recommend stalling, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if it is rising. Post and ask for help as well. The BG number you can shoot will fall as we get more data. Does that make senses?
We can certainly help you and teach you how to increase and decrease the dose. Most of us here, once we are hometesting and have the insulin, don’t go back to the vet about the dose. We have very experienced people here and we have all had diabetic cats which we have looked after 24/7. This is a very supportive and knowledgeable community. I would cancel the appointment and save the money.
We increase the dose in 1/4 unit increments in most cases unless the BGs nadirs (lowest point in the cycle) are really high.
I can see you have entered the data onto the US SS chart. The thing to do is to enter it onto the world chart and it automatically puts it into the US chart. I’ll ask
@Bandit's Mom just to have a look at it to make sure it’s fixed properly. Well done setting the SS up.
I’m going to give you a link to
HELP US HELP YOU which also has the signature and hypo links plus other useful information.
Can you tell us what you are feeding Meika? And what type of mete you are using.
Also here is another link to Aussie information which you might find useful
INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS