FelineFriend
Member
I am going to tryShould be OK. Can you get a test in before you go to bed? The testing will get easier over time.
I am going to tryShould be OK. Can you get a test in before you go to bed? The testing will get easier over time.
I'm glad you took it down from the 3 To 2. Whenever you can, try to get some mid cycke numbers to see how far down she's going.I am going to try
I'm hoping to get a mid-cycle test today. I just eyeballed the 3/4 dose as my syringes have 1 unit markings.Good decision. Looks like Smokey is leveling off and hopefully will come down a tad more. She may need a small dose increase but I'd give the 2u another couple of cycles and do an increase when you can get another test in sometime after your pre-shot test.
Just a curiosity.... You shot 2.75u the other day. Do your syringes have 1/2 unit markings on them or did you just eyeball it? Having the 1/2 unit markings makes it easier to make small dose adjustments of 0.25u.
Sounds good! Never hurts to get as much data as possible.Thanks @JanetNJ and @MrWorfMen's Mom. i was able to test at +4 today and Smokey's BG was 6/108 which seems pretty good. should i try for a +6 also? if i need partial doses later on i will likely try to find some u40s with 1/2 unit markings. my own medical condition dictates not trying to do conversions (chronic migraine plus double vision)
cheers, Dhana
"yeah rite" growled Smokey, "my serf hurts me with her pathetic attempts at blood letting, but i always cuddle her afterwards because i can tell it hurts her too"Sounds good! Never hurts to get as much data as possible.
Ok so it seams like your lowest point is either 5 or 6. Good to know. Nice number. Do you use a human or pet meter? Either way it's good. Wouldn't want it going much lower, but it's a good number.successful BG test at +6 after 2 units it was 4.4/79 Smokey was hungry so gave her some wet food.
i use a human glucometer, Lifestyle lite that requires .1 micrometer of blood for testing.Ok so it seams like your lowest point is either 5 or 6. Good to know. Nice number. Do you use a human or pet meter? Either way it's good. Wouldn't want it going much lower, but it's a good number.
you are correct @MrWorfMen's Mom, it IS a Freestyle Lite. my brain misfiring is one reason i don't want to use syringes that require looking up conversions! i also purchased a Freestyle Precision Neo because it can test for ketones. it requires more blood though ☹Looks like she is on her way up now although some of that rise is likely food influence. Can you check her again at +9? It would be nice to see how long it is taking her to metabolize the insulin especially with what looks like a late nadir. Then we'll give Smokey and you a break until PMPS.I know all this testing is a pain and the "serf" doesn't like poking her girl but all this data is very helpful in figuring Smokey out and for making future decisions.
Dhana, is your meter a Freestyle Lite? I've never heard of a Lifestyle meter.
Ok, thanks @MrWorfMen's Mom I will give her 1.5 units and check at +3 like you suggested. Thanks for staying up to check in!Hi Dhana, sorry if I am late. I think I would back off to at least 1.75u or even 1.5u tonight. I think some of that 14.3 PMPS is a bounce and Smokey earned a reduction in dose tonight with that 4.4 reading today. Can you test up to +3 to see how fast Smokey is dropping? If so, then I think the 1.75u is probably Ok otherwise I'd drop it to 1.5u for tonight and get another test before you hit the sack. If you can test tomorrow, take her up to 1.75u tomorrow morning AMPS permitting. I'm just a little concerned about the possibility of her going lower overnight while you are sleeping so I tend to be more conservative for night cycles.
Thank you for post the US BG level to because I get confused. I'm just following here reading , but do like the lower BG. And it seems like you are doing so much better in testing!Smokey's PMPS is 14.3/257 . should i stay at 2 units?
She didn't have much of an appetite after her PMPS test so I went with the lower dose. I will be staying up for awhile anyways to keep an eye on her.No problem. You are definitely honing in on a better dose for Smokey. Kudos for staying on top of things today, catching her lowest point and feeding her to keep her safe. You're doing a great job with her and that extra data from today will help immensely in the days to come.She's looking good!
I totally believe that because now I barely have to touch skittles and he will start bleeding. I can't even use the sweet spot anymore because too much blood comes out. I did just test his brother who I never test and it took little longer for him to bleed Compared to skittles but it was still only a teeny amount.The meter Dhana is using needs the smallest sample available in any glucometer and it won't read unless it has a sufficient sample. I think any problems with testing are just because Smokey's ears have not yet grown extra capillaries yet. As one tests, the ears will give up their gold a little easier. And just like humans, some cats bleed better than others.
That is very generous @sherrib but its me not the meter. The one I have uses only .1 micro litres Thanks very much anyways!I actually have a brand- new meter that I have never even opened the box and I've had it for a year already. And I was thinking about sending it to you but I have no idea how you can get the test strips if you can't find the prodigy meter . Test strips to run three dollars for 50
You are welcome, I don't know how to convert Canada to the US so when you post the US numbers it just made it a lot easier for me. I got somebody here to make my SS and right now I cannot remember who it is so I can give them credit for itYou're welcome @sherrib fortunately the spreadsheet makes it easy to do - thanks to the designer!
Yes that's so true. I tried donating blood once and three people came, filled their pouches with blood, and left while my pouch was less than half full! It also seems to help when I make sure my hands are warm.The meter Dhana is using needs the smallest sample available in any glucometer and it won't read unless it has a sufficient sample. I think any problems with testing are just because Smokey's ears have not yet grown extra capillaries yet. As one tests, the ears will give up their gold a little easier. And just like humans, some cats bleed better than others.
Slow blood must run in the family LOL! But like Linda said the more testing the more the ears " grow"easier to test. Pretty soon you are going to be giving advice to a newbie and making them feel so much betterYes that's so true. I tried donating blood once and three people came, filled their pouches with blood, and left while my pouch was less than half full! It also seems to help when I make sure my hands are warm.
I don't know how to convert Canada to the US so when you post the US numbers it just made it a lot easier for me.
So for example 14.4 x18 = US number ?just multiply the "world" numbers by 18 to get the US numbers
I use my calculator program a lot!!
So for example 14.4 x18 = US number ?
250-300 I'd do 2 units. 225-250 I'd do 1.75.at +2 after 1.5 units Smokey's BG was 11.1/200
Yes, you'll see more stable numbers once there high carb food is out of the picture. Re crystals: one thing that can help is to add warm water to every wet food meal to increase urine volume/bladder flushing.well this is so not making sense... after 1.5u this morning, at +3 Smokey had dropped to 4.1/74 but yesterday morning it took about 6 hours to get to nadir. part of the problem is although i'm feeding her Wellness canned food, the others are still free feeding Call of the Wild dry. i know, i know, that's way too high carbohydrate but it's all i have now until i can arrange to get Young Again shipped. i'm fortunate that i live near the border so will be able to get YA even tho i live in Canada. i'm not fortunate in that i'm still not able to get my car up my driveway so i can't easily get into town to get some Wellness core dry food interim 'til the weekend when hubby is home with the 4x4. and i'm even more fortunate that i'm able to stay home with my cats...tho that's because i'm in constant extreme pain and can't work... my plan eventually is to feed wet low carb and crystal friendly 2x / day and let them free feed on YA.
Yes, preshot numbers.sorry @JanetNJ i not sure i understand - are the ranges you're referring to the pre shot values? i am going to find u40 syringes with ½u markings so i can be more confident in my .25 increments.
i also had the horrifying realization that all of my pre shot numbers may be skewed! i did not remove bowls of dry kibble 2 hours prior. ☹ yesterday however i was with Smokey and i'm pretty sure she did not eat any food.
anyhow, today's AMPS was 12.5/225 so i guess i should stay with the 1.5u?
this is so not making sense...
Oh! Good that you can drive over the boarder to get it. Contraband cat food. Lol. I found once the food spike equation was removed when I started ya food, the numbers were even easier to predict.well this is so not making sense... after 1.5u this morning, at +3 Smokey had dropped to 4.1/74 but yesterday morning it took about 6 hours to get to nadir. part of the problem is although i'm feeding her Wellness canned food, the others are still free feeding Call of the Wild dry. i know, i know, that's way too high carbohydrate but it's all i have now until i can arrange to get Young Again shipped. i'm fortunate that i live near the border so will be able to get YA even tho i live in Canada. i'm not fortunate in that i'm still not able to get my car up my driveway so i can't easily get into town to get some Wellness core dry food interim 'til the weekend when hubby is home with the 4x4. and i'm even more fortunate that i'm able to stay home with my cats...tho that's because i'm in constant extreme pain and can't work... my plan eventually is to feed wet low carb and crystal friendly 2x / day and let them free feed on YA.
thanks, i do not understand the physiology of bounces, but is it expected that at +9 Smokey would be up to 15.6/281? she was sleeping just before i tested but so was i so not sure if she ate some TASTE of the Wild recently. do you still think i should drop the insulin tonight? i was not planning to, especially since i have not yet found 40U syringes with the 1/2u markings.Here we are at the conundrum of dealing with feline diabetes. My view of this is that yesterday Smokey was still in a bounce in the morning and then it "broke" which is exactly what we wanted to happen. Today she followed a more expected course with Caninsulin in that she reached a low at +3 instead of at +6. Nadirs (lowest reading) can move a bit but with Caninsulin, they are more often around +3 or +4 than at +6. If I were you, I would think about dropping her to 1.25u tonight just to be safe. It's obvious the dose the vet had her on was way too high and she now has other ideas but things are definitely moving in the right direction.
Food wise do you mean Taste of the Wild. If so it's about 22% carbs which while too high is not the worst you can get. I was feeding that to my girl for a time while I tried to find something with less carbs available in Canada that she would eat. You are definitely lucky to be near the border and able to get Young Again (she says as her green eyes get greener). When you do get the Young Again, it's likely you are going to see Smokey's need for insulin drop considerably so I'd make the switch slowly over a few days to a week and monitor Smokey closely.