First BG Curve Stats - Help with dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Nacho

Member Since 2016
Good Afternoon,

I have been testing Nacho every 2 hours since this morning - and it seems like the only time his level dropped was +6 at 270 - the rest are in the 300s.

Would you recommend an increase in lantus now that he has been on it for about a week?

Also - I am pretty comfortable with home testing and getting in 3-4 tests a day when working.

Would you recommend staying on SLGS or switching to TR now that I am more comfortable?

Thank you,
Lisa
 
What you saw today is a "typical" Lantus cycle where the nadir is at +6. Since it's looking like Nacho's nadirs are largely in the 200s, I would go ahead and increase the dose to 1.25u.

I'm probably not the best person to encourage you one way or the other when it comes to deciding between TR and SLGS. I'm biased in favor of TR. I used TR for the 6.5 years that I managed Gabby's diabetes (and I was her sole caregiver and worked full-time). For me, the big draw in favor of TR is the research that supports it's use. I was a testaholic and liked having a set of clear guidelines to follow. The protocol also has an excellent track record for getting cats into remission. As long as Nacho is on a canned food diet and you can get at minimum, at least one test per cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests, you can use TR.

 
Yes, I think it's time to go up to 1.25

If you can continue testing as you have been, you can do TR....it will allow you to increase Nacho's dose more often if it's not getting him where you want him ....you can always go back to SLGS if it doesn't work for you
 
Yes, I think it's time to go up to 1.25

If you can continue testing as you have been, you can do TR....it will allow you to increase Nacho's dose more often if it's not getting him where you want him ....you can always go back to SLGS if it doesn't work for you

Is it OK if during the week that 3rd/4th test are at roughly +9 and then +2 or +3 after the evening shot?
 
Good luck with the new dose. And it's great to hear you are getting comfortable with home testing. It really does become part of the routine after a while. And just adding my welcome as I haven't stopped in yet. :) Feel free to ask questions, we all remember what it was like to be new.

One housekeeping things, we like to link our previous posts to the new one, so people can go back and see what was said before. Here is your and Nacho's last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-first-curve-dosing.173683/
 
Good luck with the new dose. And it's great to hear you are getting comfortable with home testing. It really does become part of the routine after a while. And just adding my welcome as I haven't stopped in yet. :) Feel free to ask questions, we all remember what it was like to be new.

One housekeeping things, we like to link our previous posts to the new one, so people can go back and see what was said before. Here is your and Nacho's last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-first-curve-dosing.173683/

Thank you! How do I link them? I can definitely do that next time :)
 
To link a post, first go to your old post. And do a copy of the URL address from the top of your browser window. In your new post you can do one of two things. The easy way I did waas to select the chainlink looking icon (called Link). It will pop up a window and you can paste the URL there. The more complex way is associate the link with some works you want like Yesterday. You type in the work you want to be a link, highlight the word or works, then select the Link icon and paste the URL in there.
 
To link a post, first go to your old post. And do a copy of the URL address from the top of your browser window. In your new post you can do one of two things. The easy way I did waas to select the chainlink looking icon (called Link). It will pop up a window and you can paste the URL there. The more complex way is associate the link with some works you want like Yesterday. You type in the work you want to be a link, highlight the word or works, then select the Link icon and paste the URL in there.

Great! Thank you for the tips!
 
What you saw today is a "typical" Lantus cycle where the nadir is at +6. Since it's looking like Nacho's nadirs are largely in the 200s, I would go ahead and increase the dose to 1.25u.

I'm probably not the best person to encourage you one way or the other when it comes to deciding between TR and SLGS. I'm biased in favor of TR. I used TR for the 6.5 years that I managed Gabby's diabetes (and I was her sole caregiver and worked full-time). For me, the big draw in favor of TR is the research that supports it's use. I was a testaholic and liked having a set of clear guidelines to follow. The protocol also has an excellent track record for getting cats into remission. As long as Nacho is on a canned food diet and you can get at minimum, at least one test per cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests, you can use TR.

Thank you!

Might be a stupid question - but how do I measure in 1.25 if the syringes are 1/2 unit? Is there a trick? :)
 
You mostly eyeball the 0.25 unit changes. There are pictures of what .25U looks like in the Sticky note on Syringe & Insulin Info: Handling, Drawing and Fine Doses. If you put together a sample syringe with some coloured liquid in a used syringe, you'll have a template to compare against.
 
You mostly eyeball the 0.25 unit changes. There are pictures of what .25U looks like in the Sticky note on Syringe & Insulin Info: Handling, Drawing and Fine Doses. If you put together a sample syringe with some coloured liquid in a used syringe, you'll have a template to compare against.

Thank you !!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top