First at home test - trying to do curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Very Active Member
This is my first time doing a home test (nervous), and I really wanted to do a curve test today because Zeus' doc wants to do a bg test this week at about 6 hours.... the first test in the right ear was 329 and said Keytones. This was right after we got up, no food or insulin. So I immediately did another in the left ear, it said 284, did not say Keytones. I'm using a Reli On Ultima glucometer - do I convert these numbers somehow for a cat? Or is it correct? I did a test on myself last night and it was 91. But I just don't understand yet the numbers and where they're supposed to be when. :?

I didn't want to change anything today, just do the curve, so I did feed Zeus and gave him the insulin - he's been on 1.5 units of Lantus for a little over a week. He started out at 2.5, then doc lowered it to 1, but Zeus still had sugar in his urine, so we increased to 1.5.

What to do now? It's still early... hope everyone is having a good morning :smile:
 
knolet said:
This is my first time doing a home test (nervous), and I really wanted to do a curve test today because Zeus' doc wants to do a bg test this week at about 6 hours.... the first test in the right ear was 329 and said Keytones. This was right after we got up, no food or insulin. So I immediately did another in the left ear, it said 284, did not say Keytones. I'm using a Reli On Ultima glucometer - do I convert these numbers somehow for a cat? Or is it correct? I did a test on myself last night and it was 91. But I just don't understand yet the numbers and where they're supposed to be when. :?


Don't worry about what the numbesr are for now :smile: Just test and write down the numbers and when they were taken in relation to the insulin shot (ie, 2 hours after insulin, 5 hours after insulin, etc). Do you have the popular FDMB spreadsheet set up? That's how many members here track their cat's blood glucose levels. The instructions are here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

You do not need to convert the numbers. The number that shows up on the meter is what your cat's blood glucose level is.

Here is what a typical Lantus curve looks like:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you graph the numbers from a curve onto a line graph, you may see a typical gentle U shape which means the insulin is working :smile: A pretty flat line may mean that the insulin isn't quite working or maybe the cat is having an "off" day (my cat has had plenty of those :roll: ) An upside down U shape may mean that you gave a fur shot (insulin didn't get fully injected into the cat).
 
I know you said don't worry about the numbers, and I'm trying not to, but +2 and the numbers have gone up to 338 & 354 and says keytones again. Zeus looks fine and is acting perfectly normal.... although a little annoyed with me pricking his ears - he's starting to run away when I walk near. Guess I don't blame him :smile:

I did download that spreadsheet - thank you. I don't totally understand how to use it, but I'll look at some of the others that you all have done and maybe that will help.

Thanks for the support and advice.

Kathie
 
knolet said:
but +2 and the numbers have gone up to 338 & 354

Those are pretty much the same numbers :smile:

So pre-insulin the level was 329? Now 2 hours later (+2) it is 338?


keytones again

Do you have any urine test strips? You can double check for ketones using that. Use KetoStix of KetoDiastix, purchased at the Human pharmacy.


I did download that spreadsheet - thank you. I don't totally understand how to use it, but I'll look at some of the others that you all have done and maybe that will help.

It's pretty easy to use. You fill each row across each day. The Date column is self explanatory. The AMPS is the morning (AM) pre-insulin bg level. U is units, how much insulin you gave the cat. The columns with the + numbers indicate hours after the insulin shot. So if you tested 2 hours after the insulin shot and get a bg of 300, you would enter 300 into the +2 box for that day. PMPS is the evening (PM) pre-insulin bg level. There are more + columns to use if you do any bg tests in the evening. Comments is for any notes about your cat (thew up, went to vet, started new dose of insulin, etc)
 
Yes, I'm a worry(er) :-D You're right, when I look at it like that, the numbers are pretty similar. I just want to do the best for Zeus and really am not very confident with all of this stuff yet.

I did buy a box of the urine strips last night. Will try to get a sample, not sure if we'll have any cooperation ;-) I have two cats, and two litter boxes, but they both like to share the boxes. It's the funniest thing to watch sometimes, Smokey will start in one and dig around a little, then go do the rest of her business in the other one. Zeus does the same.

Thanks for the explanation of the spreadsheet, that helps. In addition to not knowing what AMPS was, I guess I was looking for a place to put in the time, but I don't really need to if I'm giving the injection at the same time 12 hours apart. That's where the +2, +3 etc. come into play. Makes sense now! Sorry for being :?
 
Hi Kathie,

I'm pretty new as well and can completely relate to the sense of nervousness you're feeling.

Really, I think one of the best things you could have done for Zeus is to come here. The folks here are knowlegeable and kind and there are no silly questions here in their eyes-and believe me, I've asked some that I felt silly about!!

Those of us who can't offer too much in the way of advice will offer you our support and a shoulder if necessary.

One thing that helps Leo and I during the curve days, and really any test time, is to offer a low-carb treat of some sort after a test, successful or not. For Leo it's chicken. For the first few days he was skittish around me (oh God, here she comes with that blue beeping thing and pokie thing again! Run!) but now he just looks as it as an opportunity to have chicken after a little stick. He purrs and lies down as I'm getting the meter ready.

This will get easier and you will get more comfortable with the process. I promise. :smile: Welcome aboard.

Kate & Leo
 
Thanks Kate (and Leo) :-D

I just talked with Zeus' Doctor. I had called this morning because a few times when I tested it said ketones. The doc wasn't too concerned, but I'm even more confused as he said that the numbers reached with a human glucometer can be 100 points higher than what they see in the office (although I thought it would be the other way since Zeus hates his carrier and going in the car). Doc still wants to do a bg test in the office next week at +6. He said that I could bring my glucometer and we'll compare them in the office. I'm good with that, and happy to do so. I was wondering if this one is accurate, or how I'd even know. It didn't come with a control solution, though the booklet talks about using one. Is it just saline or something? Anything I can make, or buy at Walmart?

Anyway, Zeus' numbers have been pretty consistent all day. Baseline 329, +2 = 338, +4 = 305, +6 = 295. I'm going to keep testing for the remainder of the day, and I was thinking of testing again tomorrow before the shots and at +6. Zeus is really not happy with me rubbing his ears, and doesn't like the lancer device.... wiggly little guy. He slipped away before I could get enough blood last time, so we had to start over. He wasn't pleased ;-) I tried just poking his ear without the device, but that was even worse.

So, now a question about the numbers. If they're all relatively equal, both before and after the shot - does that mean that we're heading towards being regulated?
 
Many human meters will show Check Ketones or similar when BG is above 300 or so. The standard BG meter s do not measure ketones although there are some BG meters that will measure blood ketones with the proper strip.
 
I'm sort of confused by what your vet told you as well-mine told me that Leo would test lower on a human glucometer than on the one at his office, and didn't mention a specific number regarding how much. Hm. I'll dig around here and see what info I can find. I have a glucometer by the same company, Relion, except mine is the Confirm model which doesn't have the ketone alert. I tested it at first by using it on myself-I saw that you did the same thing. I did take it to Leo's vet and he said it gave values that he would expect to see compared to his own-meaning it was pretty accurate. So hopefully the makers of both have good consistency across product lines.

I'm not sure about what the close-together values could mean...we use different insulins and the effect from one may not be the same as the effect from the other. Hopefully someone with experience with Lantus will come and shed some light on it for you.

Definitely keep up the testing-most especially before injections! :smile:

Kate & Leo
 
knolet said:
I was wondering if this one is accurate, or how I'd even know. It didn't come with a control solution, though the booklet talks about using one. Is it just saline or something? Anything I can make, or buy at Walmart?

The control solution is a special solution used to test whether the meter is working within normal liits. Wal Mart should have control solution for the Relion meters. If not, call the Relion customer service number and ask to purchase one. Do not say that you are using the meter on a cat because customer service will flat our refuse to help you.


Baseline 329, +2 = 338, +4 = 305, +6 = 295.

So, now a question about the numbers. If they're all relatively equal, both before and after the shot - does that mean that we're heading towards being regulated?

Numbers are pretty flat. It's too early tell based on this one curve if your cat is heading towards regulation or not. I suggest posting over on one of the Lantus support groups and asking if you should keep the 1.5 units BID for another week and do another curve or increase the dose to 2 units BID and do a curve in a week or so.
 
Finished the curve, Zeus' bg dropped a bit to 265 at +10 but then was back up to 307 at +12 before his meal and insulin. That's it for tonight. The last two were really tough, Zeus did not cooperate at all, and neither did the lancing device. Zeus even put his teeth on me (didn't bite though) when I was just trying to praise and cuddle him a little. Poor guy, can't blame him. I wasn't really thrilled to have to poke his ears that many times either. I sure do hope that I don't have to do many of these curve tests. It really took a lot out of both of us - I was so sad and discouraged and just plain clumsy... wish I could have had an extra two hands.

Yes, interesting that the Vet seemed to think the numbers would be higher using a home meter. But, thinking about it. Zeus' original bg was (I think) 369 or maybe 389 at the Vet's office. When he stayed at the office for his first curve the next week, the Vet said he stayed within the mid 200 range all day. The numbers today were all higher than that.

Thanks Kate and Squeem :-) I'll go to Walmart tomorrow to see if they have the control solution. It would be nice to know if it is accurate or not.

Hope you all have a great evening.
Kathie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top