First AM check, BG@ 179 - no shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
So I just got my hands on my own meter yesterday and went about building Shylo's spreadsheet (I haven't stuffed it into my signature but I'll leave the link at the bottom of this post for the data I have so far). I'm testing with the Walmart ReliOn meter, last night it seemed high at 329, and at +3 I was able to check and it had dropped a bit to 263. This morning I just tested and it was just 179. Should I just lower the dosage or skip it entirely this time? He's been on insulin for just about 14 days and since I just began testing at home I don't have previous numbers available.

He's eating breakfast night now anyway, he gets half raw/half canned (Nature's Variety) and then just 1/8 cup of grain-free rawboost kibble. I feel a little bad, when I pricked his ear with the lancet I didn't have a firm enough grip and he jerked his head away... clipped him good along the edge of his ear. ): Made it really easy to get a sample at least, but I'll have to use the other side for a few days until it heals.

Here's his spreadsheet link, I'm about to go get this into my signature and work on his profile too; https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing

edit; I should add he's getting 1 unit of Lantus insulin every 12 hours, forgot that important bit of info there.
edit2: Forgot to publish the spreadsheet, whooops. It's early for me lol. (Here it is) https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html
 
Sorry for double post, I ended up deciding to skip the morning dose and just check again tonight, as once I leave for work in an hour or so no one will be home until much later. I'd hate to give him the dose and then have something go wrong while no one was around.
 
Khayr said:
Sorry for double post, I ended up deciding to skip the morning dose and just check again tonight, as once I leave for work in an hour or so no one will be home until much later. I'd hate to give him the dose and then have something go wrong while no one was around.

You made the right call. It's better to miss a cycle than to shoot when he's too low, especially if he's going to be alone. Good job!
 
Agreed. The next time he is that close to 200, you could try stalling. Don't feed him and test again in 20 minutes. If he is over 200 and rising, then you could shoot.
 
Phew, I'm glad I did! Makes me feel better while stuck at work. Next time I'll try the stalling tactic, that makes a lot of sense. Definitely glad I started testing when I did, that could have been a bad situation right there... A shame not all vets tell you how important/crucial home testing is. The one that diagnosed Shylo wasn't the one he usually sees and he just mentioned that home test f for curves could save me a lot of money... nothing about low numbers. Good thing I'm trying to do my research!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top