Have you seen the dosing method for Novolin? I will post it below. Please print it off and read it thoroughly. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-novolin-humulin-nph.186097/
It recommends that you don’t let the BG drop below 100 to 120.
I would reduce the dose down to 2.25 units immediately.
I also notice you are not testing before every shot. I would strongly recommend you test before every shot otherwise you are taking a big risk that the BG may not be high enough to give the dose.
Are you waiting an hour after you feed to give the insulin. And do you give snacks during the am and pm cycles ?
However I do want to echo the importance of testing thy @Bron and Sheba (GA) brought up.
I started out in my FD journey finally needing to give any insulin even though I had not figured outs testing yet, and looking back that was certainly a mistake. I also wasn’t really truly able to regulate Alice until I started giving shots three times a day, and that was after she had diabetic ketoacidosis. If I had come across a guide for Novolin N prior to that, I could have saved a lot of money and sleep and harm.
I hope you will keep practicing testing. It’s the only way to know if what you are giving is safe to give. And the more you test the more data you have to work with later to make predictions. My best to you and Jasper and Mario!
Thank you. I was able to test this morning. It's just the past couple of days, I had a lot of trouble getting his blood and if I did the strips messed up. He only has one good ear and I really didn't want to keep having to repoke at once so after 4 attempts and him getting fidgity I gave up. I know I shouldn't have. It was just getting to me and getting me frustrated. I did test, feed and usually wait 30-1hr depending on how close to insulin time. I've somehow got off schedule a little as this testing delayed me some.
I have read the guidelings on Novolin and will try to get better at this. I won't shoot if his number is too low. That 94 was just a +5 number I had gotten and hadn't seen it so low before. I have adjusted his dosage down slightly. @Bron and Sheba (GA) , I do give snacks or small dry between cycles. I just started him on FF pate today along with B12.
Awww thats where youre wrong. I KNOW you are trying so hard but when things get to that point, its better to give a treat, walk away and regroup. You'll get there.
My Alice only has one good testing ear too. Sometimes she gets tired of frequent testing.
Warming the ear and using a large enough gauge lancet starting out is very helpful! (Eventually more capillaries will fill in and you’ll be more practiced and a small gauge lancet can be used to reduce discomfort.) Also if your meter times out before you get the sample... what I did early on when I was getting practice and slower at it was get the strip into the meter and not stick it all the way in until I started to get blood.
Also, sometimes I put my fingers pinched below my where I poked to help coax blood out.
And of course, neosporin with pain relief is helpful.