Finnegan update 9.22 19

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmer

Member Since 2019
Sorry if I’m not posting the right way in threads. Still figuring it out...

5:30 am fed Finn his breakfast. He ate it all up. Gave him 200 mcg of chromium.

7:30 am tested BG. Hit a vein and panic ensued. We all survived!

BG = 71!!! No shot again.

Finnegan is playing and active.

Will call internist tomorrow to give rundown of situation.

Will download chart once my husband lets me use his computer. Prepping for teaching!

Yay Finn!
 
Blood and urine samples taken. First test came back with no sugar in urine. Retested and it showed up. Fructosamone Test was high 500s originally. Then test to Texas a&m for liver and pancreas and other things. That was regular vet. Then MedVet (internist) did a bunch of imaging to make sure no physical cause for diabetes. B12 normal. Pancreas normal. TLI normal.

Last glucose curve before chromium was mid 300-400s.

Is 71 after eating normal? I know it’s the low end of normal. He is not drinking a lot or using the litter box a lot either. Not overly hungry. We are scratching our heads.

Poke in ear was traumatic with all the blood. We will test again tonight with fingers crossed we don’t hurt him again. He does flinch when he gets poked. But does seem to get over it quickly!
 
That's a good report on Finnegan and 71 is a normal reading. I've personally had a reading as low as 56 on the AT2 meter since remission so that reading could be normal for Finnegan after food. Some cat's BG will go up more than others after meals and it would all depend on how much was eaten, the carb load of the food and your cat's metabolism. None of us have a baseline of what our cat's BG was prior to diagnosis and some cats' BGs do normally run lower than what we consider to be normal.
 
Sorry if I’m not posting the right way in threads. Still figuring it out...

5:30 am fed Finn his breakfast. He ate it all up. Gave him 200 mcg of chromium.

7:30 am tested BG. Hit a vein and panic ensued. We all survived!

BG = 71!!! No shot again.

Finnegan is playing and active.

Will call internist tomorrow to give rundown of situation.

Will download chart once my husband lets me use his computer. Prepping for teaching!

Yay Finn!
This may help hold the lancet on a 45 degree angle, not straight down
.
sweetspot-jpg.47945
 
Thank you so much, especially for the 45 degree angle bit. That should help immensely! And I’m sure Finnegan will thank you as well!
 
Thank you so much, especially for the 45 degree angle bit. That should help immensely! And I’m sure Finnegan will thank you as well!
You are welcome, My cat Tyler doesn't even flinch, sometimes I test him when he's asleep lol, Make sure his ear is warm just rub Finnegan's hear from the bottom up until it feels somewhat warm, I just put my fingers under his ear and then on a 45 degree angle just give him a poke. Then just use a tissue or those cotton rounds and hold his ear for a couple is seconds until it stops bleeding.
I'll show you what I use , I get them from my vet, for me the lancets are too short, and I can't see where I'm poking. But everyone is different, I'm sure most members use the lancets. Finnegan is so adorable
 
Last edited:
IMG_20190714_211759.jpg

These are just my preference, if you ever did decide to use these you will notice that at the end of the needle it's sort of on an angle, that's how you would hold it facing up
 
Last edited:
Oh, that makes perfect sense! We will see how things go with vet today as to how to proceed with my little boy. He is just so sweet.

Thank you for this information. This group has been invaluable.
 
Today’s (9.24.19) numbers: 71 with no chromium and before eating. Have call into internist. Regular vet is stumped, mystified, scratching her head.
 
Looking good. :)Might want to change your date to 23Sept though! ;)

While your vet might be stumped given the Fructosamine test results, it's always possible that the samples were mixed up or contaminated in some way. I had one fructosamine come back suggesting my cat was well regulated when all of her daily tests were well above normal and anything but regulated. Other blood values can also affect the fructosamine results so while it tends to be a good tool for diagnosis, it's not infallible.
 
I am lucky I can find a thread to reply to let alone figure out how to change the title!!!

This information is good to know. We are stumped because spot glucose and curves all came back high except for the last one after the chromium started. And he finally found a food he likes to eat consistently. He’s just acting like a normal little boy, chasing his tail, attacking his carrot, and having fun. No excessive water consumption or urination. Healthy appetite.

This group has been a lifesaver. Would have been lost without you all...thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top