Hi all,
(Reposting from main board at respondent's suggestion. Sorry for the duplication. Still learning where to post my questions for the most efficient responses...)
I'm trying to figure out how to finetune the dose of Lantus for my two brother cats, Sander and Tree, and I'd welcome the wisdom of folks on this list. The vet doesn't have a lot of diabetes experience, and I haven't figured out how to regulate them yet. They are responding very differently to the insulin. I've checked the dosing protocol sticky, but because I am new at this, I'd love real human feedback.
Sander: 3.5 weeks into Lantus twice a day, I now have Sander at .25 of a unit. This morning before his .25 shot, he was at 101 (after skipping both morning and evening shots yesterday because he was too low, AMPS 40 then PMPS 80). 6 hours after this morning's shot, he was at 45. At what blood glucose level is it safe to give him an injection tonight? Do I keep him at .25, or go even lower? And how do I go lower when my syringes only show 1 unit intervals and it's already guesswork to do .25?
Tree: 3.5 weeks into Lantus twice a day, I have Tree at roughly 0.9 unit (a skinny 1 unit). This morning he was at 247, this afternoon he was at 46 at his 6 hour blood check. Do I drop his dose? And if so, to what (.5?)?
Thanks, folks, for your help.
Elisa
(Reposting from main board at respondent's suggestion. Sorry for the duplication. Still learning where to post my questions for the most efficient responses...)
I'm trying to figure out how to finetune the dose of Lantus for my two brother cats, Sander and Tree, and I'd welcome the wisdom of folks on this list. The vet doesn't have a lot of diabetes experience, and I haven't figured out how to regulate them yet. They are responding very differently to the insulin. I've checked the dosing protocol sticky, but because I am new at this, I'd love real human feedback.
Sander: 3.5 weeks into Lantus twice a day, I now have Sander at .25 of a unit. This morning before his .25 shot, he was at 101 (after skipping both morning and evening shots yesterday because he was too low, AMPS 40 then PMPS 80). 6 hours after this morning's shot, he was at 45. At what blood glucose level is it safe to give him an injection tonight? Do I keep him at .25, or go even lower? And how do I go lower when my syringes only show 1 unit intervals and it's already guesswork to do .25?
Tree: 3.5 weeks into Lantus twice a day, I have Tree at roughly 0.9 unit (a skinny 1 unit). This morning he was at 247, this afternoon he was at 46 at his 6 hour blood check. Do I drop his dose? And if so, to what (.5?)?
Thanks, folks, for your help.
Elisa