Finally got first bg test minutes ago..too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blakismom

Member
I did it! I finally managed to get a bg test on Blaki for the first time just a few minutes ago. Now the joy of getting the first bg has quickly been replaced by worry. Blaki's vet gave me a vial of Humulin N to replace the vial of Novolin N that I dropped and broke. To make a long story short, after injecting Blaki twice, one unit 12 hrs apart I noticed that she was having some sort of bad reaction to the Humulin...both her eyes and face showed swelling minutes after the injection. So I decided not to give her anymore Humilin. Her vet was out of town for a few days so I decided to wait it out til he got back since Blaki seemed okay...not great, but okay. So I finally was able to get an RX for Levemir yesterday even though he was reluctant because he was not familiar with it. So last night I gave her the first injection of Levemir, one unit. This morning I gave her one unit and 12 hrs later at 7:30 pm tonite I gave her her second injection. This whole time I have been unable to get blood out of her ear to test until just a while ago I finally had success. It was 59. Three and one half hours later...is that too low? What should I do? Is she going Hypo? Please help! I hope there is someone still awake who can advise me of what to do. Thanks so much.
Nora and Blaki
 
Re: Finally got first bg test minutes ago..too low? UPDATE

Oh please...I am starting to panic. I don't know what to do if anything? BG 59 three and one half hour after insulin.
Thanks, Nora & Blaki
 
I am sorta new to all of this but I know that is dangerously low and you should try to get her to eat something high carb right away like some dry food.
 
I would keep testing if you can (i know its hard as i fought my kitty for a week before success) and I know other members here also suggest to try giving you cat corn syrup if you have it or rubbing it on her gums if she doesnt eat it
 
59 is a low number, but not yet dangerous. Do you have high carb food in the house? Some kind of cat food with gravy? If you haven't gotten a test in the last 15 minutes, get a test and then give a spoonful of the high carb food. If you dont have high carb food, you can put a couple drops of Karo syrup on low carb food. You'll need to test again within 15 minutes to a half hour to make sure the numbers are coming up. Everything is fine for now so try not to worry too much.
 
I tried testing her again, with no luck. I have been trying for a week and a half at least with no success until I finally got this one. She is sleeping now, but seems to respond normally when I touch her and talk to her. She talks back with her usual meow, and indifference which is her normal reaction. I am afraid though that if it is already so low after 3 1/2 hrs that it probably will get much lower in the next few hours. But I am brand new to all of this and I'm not sure if that is the case or not. I am so worried. I offered her some of her normal pre dx food that is higher in carbs and she did take a few bites. Blaki sleeps a whole lot anyway, so thats not a good indicator of trouble to me. I will stay here until someone can instruct me further.
 
I actually caught Champ (my cat) in the 30's and he didn't act any different except he wanted food NOW!! It's important to get a test. I actually test Champ all the time while he's sleeping. You may not be getting any blood because her ear is cold. Try rubbing the edge of her ear between your thumb and fingers nice and gentle. After a couple minutes, try testing again, poking as close to the edge as possible. After the poke gently pull the "hole" apart and see if blood comes out. If you squeeze, do it gently and kind of "milk" it out. If she's tired, she'll probably not mind it at all. What food did you get her to eat? I want to see if I can find the carb count for it.
 
Thanks for your help. I gave her Fancy Feast Tuna Feast Flaked. I am off for a few minutes to see if I can get a test. Stay tuned...
 
Ok...the FF Flaked Tuna Feast is only 7% carb. I hope you got the test so we can see if that pulled her numbers up. Some cats are carb sensitive and that's all they need. That would do it for Champ. Other cats need a bigger kick.
 
After 10 or more unsuccessful attempts she was getting pretty upset so thought I better give her a break. I will try again in 15 minutes or so. I guess I just got real lucky the first time. Thanks for looking up the Tuna Feast. It's nice to know that it is low enough carbs so that she can have it again because it is her favorite, I don't have any other kind except for other flavors of Fancy feast that I bought based on the list by Dr. Lynne Lankes for being low carb. I guess I need to get some higher carb food tomorrow for this very reason. I gave all of her higher carb food to my brother for his cat after Blaki's dx. What else can I offer her that is high carb? Now I just hope that I can tempt her into eating something else since she won't be hungry. sigh....it's gonna be a long night.
 
When you go to the store, get some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. It's 18% carbs and has a lot of gravy which the kitties love. For now, since you haven't been able to get a test, you'll have to go by visual cues. She isn't going to go hypo in her sleep, but if she starts acting strange...crying, shaking....anything out of the ordinary, you'll have to just guess that she might be getting really low. If that happens and she won't eat, rub some Karo (or honey or any kind of syrup) on her gums. If you can't get it on her gums, rub it on her tongue. Do you want me to stay up with you for a while?
 
Thanks for your help Patty. You go ahead and get some sleep and I will keep trying for another test until I have success. Meanwhile I am keeping a close eye on her and she seems to be fine so far. I will be staying up with her until I get a couple of tests that show her bg rising. So I guess that means that I need to find some high carb treat for her. Once again, thank you! You are so kind.
Nora & Blaki
 
Good luck!!! We have a lot of Levemir users over in the Lantus TR forum if you want to stop by there tomorrow. They'll be able to give you some information on how Levemir works, when it onsets (it has a later onset than Lantus), etc.
 
I use a Humulin variant. It seems to be fairly short acting. Akbah had lots of hypos while I was reducing his dose on it after changing him to wet food. The humulin would drop him from a great height within the first hew hours.

When he gets under about 55 I give him honey, mixed with warm water and catfood to make a stinky sugary gravy. I give him a teaspoon every 30 mins till his numbers start to rise. Doesnt matter, with the honey mix, if its gravy food or low carb, but gravy is better.
Bear in mind, its a quick carb hit which wears off, so you need to make sure you have (1) two rising numbers in a row and (2) you are past his/her nadir.

Akbah's nadir on humulin is about +4-+6, have a look at his spreadsheet.

You'll be fine, so long as you keep testing and get puss past the nadir with honeygravy.
 
It's only 6.30pm for me so I can sit with you for a while yet if needs be, also there will be people with levemir experience waking up soon. One question - are you sure you got a good test. I'm not sure what meter you're using but some of them will read incorrectly if you don't get sufficient blood.

Also, for your future reference, I noticed that someone with the best of intentions was suggesting to give dry food. This is not recommended because it takes too long for the dry food to affect the BG, you want to use wet gravy food as suggested by Patty and just give a little at a time (a tsp or two of just the gravy half hourly is about ideal) to make sure Blaki's still got some appetite if you need to keep giving it.
 
Update...many unsuccessful tries at getting another test, must have just got lucky to ever have gotten the first one :sad:
She is sleeping now, but does respond to my voice and touch...yawns and instinctively folds her ears back. She gets pretty upset at repeated attempts so I take 30 min breaks in between attempts at poking 10 times or so in a row. Poor Baby. I gave her a few high carb kitty treats that I found in the cabinet. Do you think she is going to be okay or should I keep trying to test? I'm starting to think that I am hurting her more than helping her. Frustrating and exhausting...as you all know I'm sure. Thanks for your support. BTW...no, I am not sure I got a good test, it being the first time I finally got blood I may have gotten overly excited and did do it right. I actually somehow got a couple of big drops of blood...ouch...don't know how that happened, but perhaps in my excitement I did not get sufficient blood in the strip. Oh gosh, now I really am confused. Now that I think about it, I hope I didn't hurt her ear getting that much blood. All attempts since then have been in the opposite ear.

Nora & Blaki
 
You might find that one ear gives more blood than the other, in which case, go back to the one that worked for now.
What time was her last shot, and what time did you get the low reading?
How much did you give her, and was that a normal amount (not higher or lower?)
 
Don't worry you won't have hurt her, I go right through Vyktors ear sometimes and no complaints from him, but Blaki's ears may be getting a bit sore if you're trying so much some people use something called neosporin (or something like that) for pain relief when there's a lot of pricking going on. I wonder why she won't bleed, can you talk me through the steps you take when you're trying to get a sample and how is the temperature where you are?

What might be a good idea for the next try is to aim for the vein. It won't hurt Blaki but there will be a fair amount of blood so you'll want a tissue handy.
 
O I went back and read your first post. Sorry, all the info's there.
Let me see, it was 59 at +3.5, and that was about three hours ago?
So you're at +6.5 now?
If that's true, surely I would say you are past your nadir?
Would that be right?, that you are 6.5 hours since that shot?
 
I have cross posted you in the TR forum so hopefully someone experienced in levemir will be along shortly. I do not believe you would have passed nadir yet though, my understanding is that levemir is even slower to onset than lantus (what I use) and a lantus nadir would usually be around +6 to +8.

Don't panic about that though there will be people here to help you
 
Her last shot was at 7:30 pm, it was a normal dose of 1 unit. It was three and a half hours later that I got the test that read 59. I have a really difficult time trying to test her because she is not your normal lap cat...she never has been the cuddly type, it don't matter cause I love her with all my heart and soul. I have tried many different approaches to testing. I have tried to do it when she is relaxed, even sleeping, but she is a fiesty kitty and she actively resist by turning over on her back and kicking with her back feet and such. So then I tried putting her in the position I use when I have to give her a pill, which is I kneel down on the floor and put her between my legs with her facing forward, I have a small plastic pill bottle that I use as a hard surface to back the ear so it doesnt just get pushed away, so with pill bottle and ear in one hand and lancet pen in the other hand I try to get as close to the edge of the ear as I can and I push the button. Most often she is still wriggling around and/or folding her ears down making it difficult to keep my aim. She is black so it is kinda hard to see whether or not I got a drop of blood so I look with a small flashlight and I see small red marks or even bruising, but still no blood. I have tried warming the ear with a heated rice sock, I have also tried putting a tiny film of vaseline on her ear so that if I did manage to draw blood it would bead up and be easier to see (thank you all for the wonderful tips). She is a stubborn little girl, and often it is I who bleed. It's kinda funny because now her ears start twitching at the mere sound of my voice. I am determined to get blood to test and she is determined not to let me get blood...which leaves us both at a standoff...stressed, a bit irritated, and exhausted. Right now she is +8 so maybe past her nadir? She seems to be resting happily and comfy. So the next dilemna...what if I cant get a test before her next scheduled shot about 4 hours from now? Do I skip the shot? I know without a test its just all up in the air as what the right thing to do is.
I am so exhausted it is 3:25 am and it's been a long stressful night so I think I will lay down next to her and doze off for a bit, that way i can keep a close eye on her even while I doze. Thank you all so much for you support. God Bless You!
 
You really need to warm the ear every time you try for now. For Vyktor I have success just rubbing the edge of the ear gently for about 30-60 seconds (I'm going to time it next time!) but I have to keep rubbing right up until I swap hands to do the lancing. Vyktor is black also, you may find it easier, as I do, to get blood and to see it if you lance from the inside of the ear rather than the outside. Doing it this way, with your flashlight, should also allow you to see the vein more easily if you're going to go for that. Also can you turn the lancet device up any higher?

If I were you I would set the alarm to get up and check her in an hour and try again to test. If you're very tired you might not wake if she's in trouble.

Also - congratulations on getting your first test!
 
By the time four hours have past, I'm certain someone experienced will have turned up from our posts at the Lantus / Levemir boards.
I'm really sorry that I wasn't reading your post properly before and got everything wrong, the type of insulin, that you'd already given the dose and stuff. I'm next to my puter, sending hugs.
If it was Humulin I'd say you could sleep for sure. If I was going to sleep, in this situation, it would be next to my kitty... :?
 
It sounds like you need to "burrito" your cat.
I have heard people describe it and say that it actually helped to calm their cat, once puss realised there was nothing it could do. I will go looking for the description of it for you.
 
Hope this link works: http://www.veengle.com/s/cat%20burrito.html

Here's a photo, http://www.flickr.com/photos/30016843@N05/5871552322/
I've seen tighter burritos than that too.

from http://felinediabetes.com/bg-test.htm
To hold or not to hold? Some cats prefer not to be held. You can use the "knee catch" where you back the cat between your knees while kneeling. You can place the cat between you and the sofa arm. You can wrap the kitty in a towel, like a kitty "burrito". You can test the cat wherever you find her. You can have a testing table or counter, where you place kitty for every test. Or you can do what I do - Sit on the floor with kitty in your lap. All of my cats are tested this way, but it doesn't mean it's the only way. Try everything you can think of, request advice if you need it, and give treats and praise for every single behavior you want to reinforce. The more positive the experience, the more likely it is to be accepted.
 
I use Levemir. My cat's onset is at +4 and nadir (the lowest point of the cycle) is about +8.5. I sounds like you are at about +8.5, now, so I would not be going to sleep, right now. But ECID (Every cat is different).

I don't know if you will be skipping the next shot (in 4 hours?). But I highly recommend that you decrease the dose to 0.50 unit (1/2 unit). You do have the syringes with the 1/2 unit markings on them, right? Also, buy a bunch of higher carb food and put it in a separate cabinet, along with your other hypo tools and the print out of the instructions on that cabinet door.
 
Nora,

Please read this link How To Handle Low Numbers when you have a chance.
Stock your HYPO TOOLBOX . Any Fancy Feast Grilled variety is high in carbs, as are any of the Friskies varieties With Gravy. I would put everything together on one shelf in a cupboard or pantry with the print out of TREATING HYPOGLYCEMIA taped to the inside of that cupboard door.

I wish I lived closer to you, so I could help you learn to test.

We will help you learn to test. It took me forever (what seemed like forever) to learn to test at first, and it was so frustrating, I wanted to just give up. But, it is very important. I highly encourage you to keep trying. My cat has black ears, but the insides are white and less furred, so I test on the insides. I free hand (hold the lancet in my hand, rather than using the lancet device), and use a 28 gauge lancet, and my fingernail on the other side of the ear (but I've been doing this a long time). I know it's scary, and frustrating at first. You're doing good. We'll be here with you. Keep posting, and we'll help you to learn.
 
I think Dyana has good advice about decreasing the dose by 1/2 this morning since you haven't been able to get more testing done. Testing is the hardest thing to get used to doing and can be so frustrating. I use a lancet pen and have found it easier for me, but lots of people freehand the lancet. That might work better for you. I also stick two times right next to each other and that usually makes one bigger spot of blood that is easier to test with. And don't worry if you have a huge amount of blood at times. After you test, just put pressure on the spot and it will stop bleeding after only a few seconds. Definitely go buy some neosporin pain ointment and put some on his ears so they won't be so sore. I think using a kleenex folded over a few times to make it sturdier may be better to place under his ear when you are using the lancet. You can kind of hold on to his ear better with something that is more flexible than something plastic. And really hold his ear tightly...get a death grip on it so he can't fling his head around.

I hope things are going ok this morning. I usually keep FF gravy lovers on hand for when Simon is lower and you also need karo syrup just in case. If I don't want Simon to increase too much, I just give him multiple low carb mini-meals and test in between to make sure his numbers are rising. If they aren't, I will break out the gravy lovers. Of course, every cat is different and reacts differently to different foods.

Good luck and you are really doing a good job. Hang in there with the testing. It will definitely get better.
 
As you can see Ak has black ears. I test from behind. He sits next to me, I sort of squash him down with my arms, and I have a torch in my teeth. With black ears, the torch has made all the difference. I first shine it up through his ears, and inspect them, to choose a place to stick. Then I hold the warm sock against his ear and pat him for a slow count to 20 or 25. Then I put the torch back in my teeth, (sorry dentists), I have a folded up tissue in my left hand and the lancet in my right. I'm right handed. I stick manually, and I often go through the ear. He flinches sometimes and not others. I have found that if I wait for a few seconds, and if I slide my finger from the base of his ear toward the spot I pricked, gently, then quite often where there was no blood, blood appears.

So much advice from so many people. I hope you got some sleep, and that puss is alright. Take it easy today, you had a rough night.
Don't give up.
 
And I can only see the blood that does appear because I have the torch. It occurs to me that I might get one of those headlamp torches from... wherever they come from.
 
akbahsMum said:
I have found that if I wait for a few seconds, and if I slide my finger from the base of his ear toward the spot I pricked, gently, then quite often where there was no blood, blood appears.
I forgot about that part. Maybe, that is what's missing. I learned by someone talking me through it over the phone and I remember the lady telling me to be patient, that it can take up to 25 looooong seconds of "milking" (slowly and gently rubbing your finger along the other side of the ear to where you poked the hole) to see the blood droplet eventually appear and grow big enough for a test.
 
Hi Nora,

I'm from the Levemir insulin support group section of FDMB. I'm sorry none of us were online overnight or earlier to see your post. You got some great help though and I'm pretty confident things were fine for Blaki. Levemir is a wonderful insulin and rarely causes life-threatening hypo unless there's a large overdose. 59 is not life-threatening on Levemir for cats when tested on human meters.

First of all, welcome to the vampire club! It sounds like you need the most help with home-testing tips. Home-testing is pretty essential with Levemir, as you can see, even 1U may be too high of a beginning dose.

My tips for home-testing are to acclimate Blaki to the lancet device. Show it to her, let her smell it, click it beside her ears without sticking her as often as possible. She may get frightened at first, but the idea is to get her used to the sound, as some cats respond negatively more to the sudden click than the actual stick.

You can also use the lancet itself freehand, if it's a needle in a little tube. That way is easier for some of us who need to see what we are doing, because the device is so fast it's hard to see where it actually goes in. Here's a picture of where you want to stick http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y161/FindingNeo/sweetspot.jpg That wonderful illustration was done by a Levemir user, Sheila, Beau & Jeddie.

As has been mentioned, warming the ear first is essential for success in the beginning weeks. Sitting on the floor the way you're doing works well for some cats, but others may feel too confined. Sometimes the key to successful home-testing is finding out which kind of cat yours is - confined or not. If not, I recommend using a table or sink counter, so that you're both more comfortable, but some cats won't sit or stand still so you have to confine them. You can also wrap her in a towel, called a kitty burrito, but that's a last resort.

Treats are also essential - freeze dried meats work well and can be found at most pet stores. We don't recommend treats like Temptations because they are loaded with carbs.

As for using Levemir, please see the stickies in the Levemir and Lantus TR ISGs for important points, if you have not read them already. They are called "stickies" and are above the member posts in each ISG.

As mentioned, Levemir is a late peaking insulin. +9 is typical. But that's what makes it such a good insulin. It works by maintaining a depot or "shed" that it draws upon throughout a cycle. You can read about the differences between Lantus & Levemir here, which explains the process biologically http://www.diabeteshealth.com/read/2007/07/17/5316/lantus-and-levemir--whats-the-difference/

So you have to fill the shed first. The 1U you gave obviously did that quickly. Since Blaki is newly diagnosed, she has a very good chance of going off the juice, as we call it - OTJ, especially since you changed her diet to low carb. I recommend giving her only .5U, get her and yourself used to home-testing and then we can work on regulation for her and possibly OTJ.

If I may ask, how did you determine you wanted to use Levemir? I am interested in furthering its use in cats and just wondering because I didn't see any discussion in your threads here about Levemir. It's a much better choice than N, for sure!

Any other questions or things you need help with, let us know. And you're welcome to post in Levemir ISG for further help with it.
 
I should have set the alarm before laying down to rest. I awoke about an hour ago and immediately started trying to get a test. As of this posting, my many attempts to get a test this morning have all failed. I am sitting here writing this sobbing, I looked at her ears with a flashlight and the whole edges of both ears are purple. Horrible! I don't know what my problem is. I feel like I am losing her...actually I feel like I am killing her. What an inept mom I am. I know I desperately need a test on her. I am giving us both a break while I can regain my composer. I think there is something bad going on but I don't know what it is. Her pupils are really dialated, her breathing is a bit too fast, and I noticed something that I have never seen in her before...both of her eyes are really watery, but the scary part to me is that the bottom eyelids seem to be swollen, meaning the white inside of the bottom eyelids are clearly visible. I have never seen this before and don't know what it means. I did not give her any insulin this morning at all, especially given the fact that It was already an hour and a half past her shot time when I awoke, and the fact that I haven't been able to get a test...I have no idea what is going on with her. I suspect that my ignorance is causing her great harm and could cost her her life. When I finish this post I will get back at it, trying to get a test. It seems that I am poking in the right place but cannot get blood. By the looks of her ears, I have poked from top to bottom, inside and out...without results. I did use a rice sock to warm the ear, but still no luck. I am scared that I am gonna lose her, and it will be my fault. I quickly scanned the unread posts and will come back and read them more thoroughly later. The people on this board are unbelievably kind, knowledgeable, passionate, and patient. I thank each and everyone of you for taking the time out of your own busy and complicated lives to offer your support. Thank you so very much. I will return here later with an update...a good one I hope.
Nora & Blaki
 
From the symptoms you're describing, I would get her to an ER vet. Pupils dilated and not breathing well sound like something that needs to be checked out ASAP. It doesn't sound insulin related, but I would get some syrup into her for just in case, then go.
 
((((((Nora)))))

I agree too. Her condition sounds serious enough that she needs to be seen by a vet today.

FYI on her ears, even if you don't get blood, please press on the spots on the ears after you try to get a test. What you are seeing is probably bruising and pressing the spot after each test or attempted test will stop bruises from forming.

Please keep us posted.
 
Update on Blaki...After we both took a rest, we both are better. I think she was just really stressed out because of the non stop poking and feeling my stress which is through the roof! It is a beautiful warm day here in sunny California so I took her outside so she could do her favorite thing in the world which is lay in the sunshine. So after the sun nicely warmed her ears, I am happy to say that I finally got a good test. It was 110, so just to make sure it was a good test, I immediately got another successful test and it was 108. Is that a good number? Does that indicate that she must have dropped even lower than 59 at some point? I did not give her any insulin this morning. Now my question is should I still give her an evening shot? If so, should I give her 1/2 a unit instead of 1 unit? When should I try for another test? and at what intervals? Thank you all so very much!
Nora & Blaki
 
Her current values indicate that she may not need very much insulin, if any. When you get close to the time she has gone 24 hours without insulin, test her again, although you can test her between now and then if you are able.

If her blood glucose is still below 200 at the 24 hour mark, do not give any insulin. Her pancreas may be working again well enough it can keep her blood glucose values down on its own. Sometimes this happens with just a diet change to low carbohydrate food. Also, if she had a UTI and the antibiotic for that has done its job, that may also help to lower her blood glucose.

I'm glad things have calmed down for both of you. How are her eyes now?
 
Hi Nora,

I'm so glad that Blaki is feeling better and you have also had some success and rest. I wish I had been here for you last night too but I am a Lantus user now and former PZI user but don't know anything about Levemir so could only have helped you to a certain extent. I'm so glad that Vicky saw your post. I was awake, just not on the board.

Since the tests were successful after the sun I would think that you are not getting the rice sock hot enough. I put mine on 33 or 34 seconds on the microwave but you'll have to see what works best on yours. I would try making it a little warmer without burning her of course. I also use 2 tissues folded over several times behind the ear when I poke to make a firm spot to poke that is also soft and won't hurt or bruise. I first warm the ear, then quickly apply the vaseline, set my back tissue in place and poke hard with the setting on the highest it goes. I would rather poke hard once than lighter several times. I then take another tissue and apply pressure to the spot for at least 15 seconds and put a tiny bit of neosporin w/pain relief after wiping the vaseline off. I have all my items laid out next to me before I start so everything is ready. I also offer water by bringing her small bowl to the spot we do meds at and holding it for her before testing and again before injecting. A hydrated cat is easier to get blood from or to pinch skin for an injection. Also only one
of her ears works, the left one. I can't get anything out of the other. I also talk to her and give treats through the entire process. She is fascinated with Vaseline and always wants to try to get a lick of it. :lol: Occasionally I let her win and get a teensy lick of the lid to keep her interest in it.

Racci is very good and sits next to me on a big ottoman for her meds and testing. I am righthanded and sit her to the left of me and the items I need are in between us and a little behind. I'm lucky in that she has always been good about letting me handle her but the beginning was hard for me too. It;s never easy to learn and I remember sitting and crying about her bruised ears also and still to this day screw up sometimes so don't feel bad. We all had to learn.

Blaki will get used to it. If you could get her to sit next to you in a favorite place that would be ideal but if not, I would burrito her. It might work easier than using your knees and you could transition to not having to burrito her in that same spot later when she's more used to it by loosening the burrito little by little when you think Blaki is ready.

I am a little concerned that she may have had an allergic reaction though and if that happens again, you should watch her carefully and bring her to the vet. If I think of anything else, I'll let you know.

Melanie & Racci
 
Don't be too hard on yourself Nora this is difficult to start off with but I promise you it will get easier and it won't be too far in the future when you're advising someone else how to go about testing and helping them learn. So glad to hear Blaki is okay this morning :-D

Remember when you're trying for those tests - breathe! If you're not relaxed stop and give yourself a few minutes, you know you can do it now anyway :-D
 
Hi everyone! I want to thank each and every one of you for your kind and encouraging words, your support, advice, tips and tricks and everything else. You are all amazing and awesome people!!! I just got another test on Blaki (WooHOO, thank you very much!) so just several minutes ago at 6:40 pm her test showed 157. Her next scheduled shot is at 7:30 pm, 45 minutes from now. Do you think that I should skip the shot entirely or give her a reduced dosage of .5 unit? She has been sleeping nearly non stop all day, and seems kind of weak and or lethargic. She is eating and her appetite is good. She is not drinking excessive water or urinating frequently. I believe she is constipated and has a belly ache since there have not been much solid waste in her litter box today or yesterday. Also when I took her outside earlier today, she was intent on eating as much grass as she could find. How do you deal with constipation? Before her diagnosis, I would give her a product called Laxatone, but I am pretty sure that it would not be good for a diabetic cat. Thanks everyone.
Nora & Blaki
 
Hi there

You have a lot going on with your cat, and to get both of you through, you need to give yourself a break. Not everything is easy to treat, your cat can't tell you what is wrong, and it sounds to me like there is more than just diabetes going on.

First, about the diabetes, how was she diagnosed? was it with a fructosamine or just a blood glucose test? I ask because those numbers are pretty low, so either she's only 'barely' diabetic or perhaps not at all. Something to look into anyways.

I would NOT give insulin given how she's feeling and those numbers earlier, but others may feel differently. The Most I'd give is 0.5

Second, her other symptoms just don't seem like diabetes. Can you confirm that she's had proper blood work and that she's been checked for urine? Please do check her urine as soon as you have the strips.

Third, if her condition worsens at all, please get her in. Dilated pupils could indicate high blood pressure or glaucoma and there are multiple other possibilities.

again, please give yourself a break, and listen to your instincts

Jen
 
Good evening Nora!

I am not one to give insulin advice, but I won't give insulin @ 157. We don't use the same insulin so it might be different. Someone will come along with better advice.

Here is a really good post on constipation where Dr.Pierson comments on the subject with advice. Take a moment to read it....yes more stuff to read...lol. I know when I first joined all I did was read & read. I think I read more then all of my college years.
Here is the link.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=61627

You are doing a great job. Don't beat yourself up over feeling ignorant. You are not ignorant. We all have been right where you are at one time. In the beginning I to felt like I was going to kill Baxter. I didn't want to leave my house because I was so scared. With time everything will get easier. Just remember to always take a deep breath & breathe. Take your time at test time & relax. cat_pet_icon

I hope this helps.
Jenn & Baxter

Oh I think it's ok if you take the 911 of the posting since you are out of the woods now. You might put something like update at the end of the subject.
 
Re: Finally got first bg test minutes ago..too low? UPDATE

Blaki has a vet appointment on Tuesday morning to have the stitches taken out from her tail amputation. All of this started when she went in to have her tail amputated. As instructed, I gave her no food the night before. The vet wanted her in his office by 9:00 am, and the surgery was going to be done at 1:00pm. I did drop her off by 9:00am and later the vet called me and told me that her sugar was 350 so that he wanted to postpone her surgery by a day and give her some insulin to bring it down, so she stayed at the vets and the next day he called me to tell me that he had given her four units of insulin and she had dropped into the 40 - 50 range, I can't remember the exact number. So anyways, to make a long story short, she ended up staying at the vets for three days and nights, she had some kind of urinary infection as well, and had her tail amputated. She has been through a whole lot recently, and I cant' help but wonder if the high bg tests at the vets were due to stress (being away from home) and the fact that she will not eat a bite of food the entire time she has to stay at the vets, the pain her tail had been causing her, and the urinary infection all at once. She was put on Baytril antibiotic for 10 days and only just finished with that. Also I, being ignorant of the importance of diet, always gave her treats that I now know to be very high in carbs and sugar content, plus she would get popcorn when we would eat popcorn while watching a movie which was quite frequently, and many, many other things in her diet that was just wrong. When I ate cereal and milk for breakfast in the morning, I would give her the sweetened milk left in the bowl after I ate all of the sweetened cereal, and on and on... I have definitely had my eyes opened to the importance of diet and how bad it can adversly affect cats health. Boy, if I knew then what I know now, she would be much healthier because at 15 yrs old as I look back I now see that perhaps she was not fed for healthy balance from day one. I am so sorry Blaki. I look at her, and I think OMG...I did this to you! I have loved you with all my heart and soul, while killing you the whole time. That's a hard pill to swallow. This lesson has definitely been learned the hard way.

Nora & Blaki
 
Re: Finally got first bg test minutes ago..too low? PS:...

Thanks for the suggestion about taking off the 911 and adding update to the end of the subject line. I did not realize that I could do that...thank you!

Nora & Blaki
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top