Figaro AMBG 40 >> +4.50 112; PMPS 383 reducie

It is now 13 minutes since you first fed some gravy. Could you test his BG again on 7 minutes please? (that will be 20 mins from when you first gave gravy).
We need to make sure his BG level is coming up
 
Ok he just ate gravy, will retest in 18 min!
Thank you Bron.
Pleasure!
Liz, in the subject line, can you put +12.20 before the 46 please which will tell people where we are up to, thanks.
You are managing well!
You will need to skip this morning's dose of insulin and Figaro has earned a reduction back to 2.75 units at his next dose.
 
Hah what a time for the board to blip out!

We're back and Figaro was up to 57 at +12.40
Yes! Thank goodness it was only down for a short time!
57.....that's better.
I would give him a small breakfast of his normal low carb food now.
You will need to keep testing until we are sure he is going to stay up.
I'd test again in 30 mins.
Is that all ok with you?
 
Yes! Thank goodness it was only down for a short time!
57.....that's better.
I would give him a small breakfast of his normal low carb food now.
You will need to keep testing until we are sure he is going to stay up.
I'd test again in 30 mins.
Is that all ok with you?
That sounds great. Will feed some LC now and test again 25-30 mins from this post.
He is watching birdies out the window!
 
Also want to add, it looks like you immediately fed some gravy when you got the low PS. When you get that low PS you don't want to feed anything right away and just test again in 15-20 minutes to see if the BG is going to come up on its own or not. If it's still down on subsequent tests then you can feed a bit to get it up so you can shoot.

The idea being that if it's coming up on it's own and you give HC you're then adding to the normal rise and making it spike higher than it normally would have. If it's continuing to drop at the second test, it should be rising naturally before too much longer and feeding HC then is just smoothing out the dip and giving it a little bump back up to a safe range, and then the dose you do give is going to give you a smoother curve.
 
Also want to add, it looks like you immediately fed some gravy when you got the low PS. When you get that low PS you don't want to feed anything right away and just test again in 15-20 minutes to see if the BG is going to come up on its own or not. If it's still down on subsequent tests then you can feed a bit to get it up so you can shoot.

The idea being that if it's coming up on it's own and you give HC you're then adding to the normal rise and making it spike higher than it normally would have. If it's continuing to drop at the second test, it should be rising naturally before too much longer and feeding HC then is just smoothing out the dip and giving it a little bump back up to a safe range, and then the dose you do give is going to give you a smoother curve.
Hi Justin, I know that is what to do for a lower than normal PS. My understanding though is that at 40 you take action immediately and feed to get into safe numbers (50+) asap.
 
Great!
How cute watching the birds!
He could well bounce from these low green numbers so don't worry if you see some high numbers. It will be quite normal for him to react to the low numners in this way. Still take the reduction.
I would be shocked if I don't see high numbers soon, between bouncing and a skipped shot. But then again, he surprised me being in the 80s last night and of course with a lime PS :eek: so I'll have to wait and see!
I will reduce tonight.
 
Hi Justin, I know that is what to do for a lower than normal PS. My understanding though is that at 40 you take action immediately and feed to get into safe numbers (50+) asap.
Cool, just wanted to make sure you were aware. Yeah, I just looked at the spreadsheet and that's a big dip for the first time so getting ahead of it ASAP is a good call.
 
Also want to add, it looks like you immediately fed some gravy when you got the low PS. When you get that low PS you don't want to feed anything right away and just test again in 15-20 minutes to see if the BG is going to come up on its own or not. If it's still down on subsequent tests then you can feed a bit to get it up so you can shoot.

The idea being that if it's coming up on it's own and you give HC you're then adding to the normal rise and making it spike higher than it normally would have. If it's continuing to drop at the second test, it should be rising naturally before too much longer and feeding HC then is just giving it a little bump back up to a safe range, and then the dose you do give is going to give you a smoother curve.
@Justin & Sebastian
With an AMPS of 40 after a cycle of greens, I would not wait and see if it was going to come up on its own. I would have given some food to bring the BG up over 50 too. Figaro is a fairly new diabetic and there is not a lot of data in his SS yet, and I doubt he would have risen enough to shoot anyway.
Personally I would never be complacent about numbers under 50 because there is no safety gap if things go wrong.
 
Last edited:
Okay, he is 58 after 30. I was hoping he would be a little higher.

He didn't eat all of his small LC meal. He is a grazer, plus it is probably not as tasty as that gravy!

Would it make sense to add a little gravy to the remaining LC, or should I just wait and test in another 30 min?

Staying home from work til I have a decent idea of where he is headed.

His belly just grumbled, might be slightly upset from the carbs :|
 
Okay, he is 58 after 30. I was hoping he would be a little higher.

He didn't eat all of his small LC meal. He is a grazer, plus it is probably not as tasty as that gravy!

Would it make sense to add a little gravy to the remaining LC, or should I just wait and test in another 30 min?

Staying home from work til I have a decent idea of where he is headed.

His belly just grumbled, might be slightly upset from the carbs :|
I would stay with the normal low carb now Liz. Once they come up over 50 we usually swap to low carb unless they drop down low again. I'm surprised he's not a bit higher too after the high carb food he has had.
But he's safe and you have done a great job keeping him safe this morning!
I'd test again in 30 until we see what he's going to do. It's possible he could stay in lower numbers for a few hours yet.
 
I would stay with the normal low carb now Liz. Once they come up over 50 we usually swap to low carb unless they drop down low again. I'm surprised he's not a bit higher too after the high carb food he has had.
But he's safe and you have done a great job keeping him safe this morning!
I'd test again in 30 until we see what he's going to do. It's possible he could stay in lower numbers for a few hours yet.
Thanks, Bron! That makes sense. I have found Figaro doesn't usually spike from his LC food, but I haven't had a real need to use HC before so I'm not really sure how carb sensitive he is.
He seems perfectly fine, though uninterested in food. I'm not alarmed by that, he may feel full.
 
Thanks, Bron! That makes sense. I have found Figaro doesn't usually spike from his LC food, but I haven't had a real need to use HC before so I'm not really sure how carb sensitive he is.
He seems perfectly fine, though uninterested in food. I'm not alarmed by that, he may feel full.
It could still be the insulin keeping his numbers down. You didn't test after +8 last night so we don't really know if the numbers dropped during that time or not. (That is not a critisism.....just a comment.).....Some cycles when the insulin dose is strong, it is harder to keep/get the numners up higher, than it is in other cycles.
Do you have honey or Karo in case it is needed sometime?
Does that make sense?
 
Hmm only 55.

It could still be the insulin keeping his numbers down. You didn't test after +8 last night so we don't really know if the numbers dropped during that time or not. (That is not a critisism.....just a comment.).....Some cycles when the insulin dose is strong, it is harder to keep/get the numners up higher, than it is in other cycles.
Do you have honey or Karo in case it is needed sometime?
Does that make sense?
Ah yes that does make sense. Yes I have karo!
 
Oh, I missed the 55 at the top of the post.
Will he have a bit more food?
I'd test again in 30 mins and if he drops further I would give a teaspoon of the higher carb food.
I am going to have to go to sleep soon........I live in Australia.
Maybe @Olive & Paula can keep an eye on you.
 
He just ate his LC. I'll test again 30 mins from now to give it some time to kick in.

Thank you SO MUCH Bron for your guidance, things feel under control. Please don't worry as you go to bed :) And hi Paula!

If need be I can always put up another 911, we got this.
 
Liz, not sure if you know how to enter the numbers in the SS ......
With the +13 numbers you stack them in the +1 column and the +14 numbers in the +2 column etc.

He just ate his LC. I'll test again 30 mins from now to give it some time to kick in.
Thank you SO MUCH Bron for your guidance, things feel under control. Please don't worry as you go to bed :) And hi Paula!
If need be I can always put up another 911, we got this.

It's been a pleasure to get to know you and Figaro....you are doing a great job with him....he's a lucky boy!
 
Woah Liz, I just woke up and saw the thread and Fig's numbers, did you sleep at all? This must have been quite a night full of emotions. Are you staying at home today or until he goes up?
 
Liz, not sure if you know how to enter the numbers in the SS ......
With the +13 numbers you stack them in the +1 column and the +14 numbers in the +2 column etc.
Thanks, my brain is having trouble processing the numbers with all the 15 and 30 min increments!

It's been a pleasure to get to know you and Figaro....you are doing a great job with him....he's a lucky boy!
Thank you! We are so lucky to have the support of the board. :)
 
Woah Liz, I just woke up and saw the thread and Fig's numbers, did you sleep at all? This must have been quite a night full of emotions. Are you staying at home today or until he goes up?
I slept a few hours, luckily woke up to my backup alarm! :coffee::coffee::coffee: I'll stay home as long as necessary. Luckily I have some flexibility to work from home at least part of the day :) not that I am getting any work done right now....
 
Err, 2.21% carb (ME value) according to the company.

just a thought here. How about picking up just 1 or 2 cans of 6% F F roasted turkey is one) or 8% food? So if this low again, the bit more carb might be enough so a lot of syrup wouldn't be necessary. Of course you will have to figure out when to use it.

with Ollie the 6% brings her up when she is low 40's, usually in an hour, then just her regular lc works.
 
Back
Top