Fern update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ferndoc

Member Since 2015
I knew i should have given something this morning when he read 144 and 149, but I followed the newbee protocol of none below 250. At +3(+3.5) he was at 334. I plan on monitoring at +6 and +9 and I figure this will give me better data so I will feel comfy with a shot next time. My other comfort is that his +3 number is less than = too his pre shot numbers and he's not super high yet.
 
Very good idea to get the additional data. (I'm all for anything that helps to reassure! :) ) It might be an idea to record when and how much you feed today as well (use the Remarks column in Fern's spreadsheet). It may be useful to refer back to at some time in the future.


Mogs
.
 
The only problem with feeding is that Fern and the two civvies eat together. So I'm not sure exactly who eats how much. They get 4 cans 5.5 ounce of Grreat Choice from Pet smart a day basically. They eat somewhere between 3-4 cans. Plus reward Chicken. If there is something significant like this bean confusing 5pm with 6pm I am trying to note it. But as they have eaten from the same plates for 8 years and when given seperate plates "trade off" it's honestly a battle I don't want to fight. It'll be hard enough next week to make sure Fern eats his antibiotics after his teeth cleaning.
 
Typically, you don't want to shoot anything under 200 until you get enough data and can monitor doses for those lower ranges. If you get a lower, pre-shot number (under 200), you can stall for about 20-30 minutes and then test. If the kitty is rising and is close to the 200, you can go ahead and shoot. If the number is still under 200, you can continue to stall another 20-30 minutes and test again. Of course, you do not feed until you shoot or decide to skip the shot. Your dose may be reduced and of course, you will need to monitor.

To give you an example, check out Merlin's AMPS on 9/28/15 where I stalled two times for almost 90 minutes before I decided to shoot.
 
Yeah, I did stall this morning. I got a 5 point rise from 144 to 149. I debated and decided to let this cycle ride and monitor. Next time, I feel confident I can give a token .5 to 1 unit. If I am close to 150 and seeing a rise.
 
Oh this PM he came in at 478 which I actually see as being decent; it's high but lower then previous highs. I'm waiting on making any updated does until after his dental. I figure I'll basically be starting over on Wednesday. The vet wanted him "stable" before a dental. I took a chance last week and scheduled and the vet agreed looking at his numbers he was stable in whatever matrix they were looking at.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top