? Fergus PMPS 120 Dosing advice please.

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
So, due to life, i've been unable to test much more than his preshot numbers. He threw me a random 200 number at like +11 the other day, but other than that mostly his AMPS and PMPS have been in the 300-400 range.

I've been increasing his dose .25 every 10 cycles. Now we are at 5 units.

So today he throws me a PMPS of 121, then 30 min later 131, so I didn't dose him.

My question is, should i reduce the dose on the next cycle?
I'll try to test more in the coming weeks. I feel terrible but i had to save my sanity and get some sleep.

If someone could advise that would be great. Thank you.
 
Your signature and spreadsheet say "TR", but it looks like life is interfering with the requirement to test a couple times each cycle. The night time tests are giving you a pretty good amount of data, but still missing what is happening in the AM. Are there any days when you can catch a mid cycle test, or at least a +2 or +10? If you could have monitored tonight, you could have shot that 121. One technique would be to wait 15-30 minutes without feeding and see if he's rising on his own without food.

I'm a bit worried about the increases from 4.0 unit were done without knowing how low the dose was taking him. However, it could be that the night time data is representative of daytime. I think the answer about what to do about dose depends on your ability to test the next while. I wouldn't want to set him back if he needs more insulin. So if you can test more, I'd hold the dose until you see how low it's really taking him. If you cannot test more, I'd consider switching to SLGS for dosing. Neither dosing method would have you decrease at this point.

The link to your previous post for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-28-fergus-amps-475-3-302-6-151.253576/
 
Ok. I will set an alarm and try to catch an extra reading or 2 this morning and then again Sunday afternoon.
I can also do a curve on Monday.

I'll hold the dose and get more info.

Maybe SLGS will work better for me at this point.
He also has megacolon and recently has been unable to poop without an enema, so i'm not sure how that is playing in with the BG readings.
It's a lot.

Thanks for your help. I'll keep you posted.
 
So he ate, not too much and i checked again at +3 and got 6.3. How is it still dropping?
What is happening? I didn't dose him. Shouldn't his numbers be going up?

I fed him some kibble but I have to go to work.
 
I just opened a new pkg of test strips and tested again. It's 8.1

i'm having a friend check in on him later and leaving lots of food out.

ugh. Stressed out.
 
If you can't test more often I suggest you switching to SLGS. You will have to hold the doses for seven days but if you work a lot this is the better option. How long before you have to leave?
 
Looking at Fergus' numbers, your +1 is a bit of a food spike. The +3 is roughly the same as your PMPS which is to be expected. Lantus onset occurs at around +2 for most cats. The difference between the 7.3 (131) and the 6.7 (121) is within the 20% attributable to meter variance -- in other words, they are the same numbers -- or reflects Lantus onset kicking in.
 
Lantus works with a depot--that means that some insulin is still stored in subcutaneous fat and will still be in effect for up to 6 cycles. So even if you didn't shoot tonight, the doses you gave this morning and before are still affecting the BGs.
 
Lantus works with a depot--that means that some insulin is still stored in subcutaneous fat and will still be in effect for up to 6 cycles. So even if you didn't shoot tonight, the doses you gave this morning and before are still affecting the BGs.


Im at work. I left out high carb kibble

my friend is gonna go and hang out with him and make him eat
 
Dawn, do you work day and night? I'm glad you left some high carb out for him tonight. When you post tomorrow, put the "?" in front of your title. I was so surprised to see the drop he had tonight at PMPS. We need to have some experts help you out here. Post everyday. We need to get your Fergus on a good plan.
 
Back
Top