Feral diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trish D.

Member Since 2013
My 8 y/o cat was a feral kitten. He is tame, but still will not allow himself to be picked up and resists going in a carrier. He was recently diagnosed with diabetes and sent home with insulin, 1/2unit once a day. I am having difficulty giving him the shot. The first day I tried to give the shot without picking him up or holding him. When the needle went in he jumped and ran and I doubt that he received any insulin. The vet said wait and try again the next day. The second day I held him by the scruff of the neck, but, it was very hard to " make a tent" for the injection while trying to restrain him from running. He may not have received his second dose. I want to take him back to the vet to be checked, but, he managed to slip out of my hands while I was putting him in the carrier and now runs when I come near. He is a very sweet cat, but, is still so fearful of being held or going in his carrier. He was hospitalized and was very ill before being released home. Has anyone had experience treating a diabetic feral cat ?
 
What is he eating? While you work out the shot part, giving him a better diet (a diet without corn such as found in many of the cheaper dry foods) can help reduce his glucose levels.

Now as to giving him the shot, will he at least let someone else (husband, daughter) hold him while you do the other part?

I feel for you! Kudos to you for working through this.
 
I've PM'd member Kpassa to drop in and give some advice. Her kitty Michaelangelo is a feral. She should be able to give you some good advice.
 
I have a few tips,

1. Can you get short 5/16mm needle syringes? With a short needle you barely need to tent, especially if you go in at a shallow 45degree angle at the most.
2. get the vet to shave some spots so you can better see what you are doing,
3.Practice on a ripe peach or potato or something using water till you get smooth at it and not as hesitant.
4. Also shoot when he is eating or sleeping. Stroke him first, then inject, then more strokes.
5. Let the syringe , with insulin in, sit out of the fridge for a few minutes before shooting to come up to room temp in case he feels it cold.
6. Treat after!!

Wendy
 
I have a really difficult cat who hates being restrained, and I found that breaking things down into little steps and going reallllly slowly made things easier. I test on the kitchen counter, so I started just putting her up there with some food. Then I touched her ears while she ate. Then touched ears and clicked lancet pen. She still growls sometimes but mostly lets me get enough blood now.

I thought I had to be perfect at all this stuff the first week and drove myself nuts every time she freaked out while I was trying to test or shoot. :oops: Like Deb says though, it's a marathon, not a sprint...

Good luck!
 
Oooo! Ferals are some aggravating fun! In fact, when I went to give Mikey his shot this morning, he yelped as if I'd stabbed him when I hadn't even inserted the needle yet! Whenever he does that, I simply roll my eyes :roll: and tell him to stop being so melodramatic. :lol:

The best bit of advice I can give you is to be flexible and take your time. Part-ferals react much more to your emotions and they pick up on stress even when you might not even realize you're stressed. As Nikki's Mom said, it helps to break the process down into individual steps and focus only on each step instead of the overall goal. I wrote this up for another new member and you might find it helpful. It's about taking your time. For me, the actual pre-shot test takes about 15 seconds (mostly because I'm waiting on the glucometer to be ready) and about 3 seconds to shoot. The entire process, however, takes me about a half hour with Michelangelo (and that's after "practicing" at this for the last 7 1/2 months!).

Figuring out his wants and peculiarities will also help you go a long way. Mikey only likes to be given his shot on his right side. He prefers that I announce when I'm going to give him his shot. He sometimes needs to run off some energy before I give him his shot. You have to get really in tune with your cat and be willing to chase him around the house for 15 minutes in a game of tag till he settles in or use some cat toys to play with him and get his attention or bribe him with treats or a little bit of food first.

Basically, give in to their every whim. Cats don't have many needs and what they do want or need is often simple for us to fulfill. You can't "spoil" a cat because it's not like it's going to ruin them when they grow up (into humans?? :lol: ). So, as long as you remind yourself that he's not being "unreasonable" because he wants to play first or whatever; he's simply being a cat and it won't inconvenience you to play with him for 15 minutes if it makes shot time and test time much more agreeable for both of you.

I have plenty more suggestions, so feel free to let me know anything specifically that is causing you grief or if you need any other ideas. :-D

And welcome to the board! :YMHUG:
 
As to tenting, Michelangelo was diagnosed when he was an underdeveloped 6-month-old (~4.5 pounds). He had no skin to tent! If I were to try to tent Mikey on his flanks, I still don't think he has enough skin that I'd be able to. The only place I can really tent is his scruff and neither of us like shots there, especially since it messes with Mikey's numbers and off-sets him by about 4 hours.

I've had to give myself B12 injections for the last couple of years and you can't really "tent" a human. So, I basically transferred that technique into giving Michelangelo "flat" shots. Because of this (and also because he's long-haired), I use the longer needles. It really helps if you practice on a cut apple or potato first because it gives you an idea of the angle of penetration. You go at a much more shallow angle so it's more of a "prick-and-slide" than a "poke-and-jab."

And make noise. Don't be loud or anything, but just keep up a constant chatter so he doesn't feel like you're trying to sneak up on him. Skittish kitties hate that and will startle easily (in fact, Mikey's nickname is "Skitty-Kitty" :lol: ). Try not to restrain him either. I've found it easiest with Mikey standing. If he's sitting and I tell him it's time for his shot, he'll stand up and present me with his rear in "shot position." No restraint necessary...although I may occasionally have to temporarily hold his head still and straighten him out by a splayed grip along the base of his neck and shoulders and the back of his head.

Tell him when you're going to give him a shot, run your hand down his side over where you're going to give it, press your fingers against the spot where you've picked to poke, then gently replace your fingers with the needle tip. Apply pressure till you feel it break the skin and gently slide it forward. Push down on the plunger, being careful not to move the needle, then gently slide the needle back out. Softly stroke over the needle spot to feel for wetness (don't rub!) and then smell your hand to see if you smell insulin and might have given a fur shot.

It also helps to warm the syringe with your fingers a bit to take off the chill. Usually when Mikey reacts to a shot, it's because it's cold and not because of the poke.
 
While you continue to work on home blood glucose testing, see my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some other assessments such as urine ketone &/or glucose testing, measuring the volume of food and water, and the 5 Ps (aka Whole Cat Report). There is a very slow protocol using some of those measures, if it is needed.

Always treat, even when unsuccessful.

Active play for 15-20 minutes before meals may help work out some of the nervous energy and improve your bond and trust of each other.
 
My Katie although not a feral, is very "high spirited", and cannot be restrained, period. At first I did not know how I was ever going to give her the injection, she is one of those kitties that simply does not want to be touched unless she is in the mood and easily gets overstimulated.
I have had her since she was a kitten, and now she's nearly 8 years old and she still won't even let me do more than 2 or 3 swipes with a brush or comb before she yells and runs off. That is just her personality. (But at the same time she is very sweet and loving, and we love her madly:)
I manage her 2x daily injection (by myself) with this routine- About 20 minutes after her meal, I announce it's time for "chicken and a shot". I prepare the shot, crumble up freeze dried chicken on a plate and set it on the counter (our "shot spot). While she eating her treat, I do the injection. It is now a routine and she expects it. I always choose the same shot for shooting, and don't chase her around. On the rare occasion she refuses to get up to the "shot spot", I place her there and immediately give her the chicken and shot. We have been doing this for a year, so far, so good. If she ever tires of the freeze dried chicken, I will be in trouble.
Hope this helps. Try using a treat he absolutely loves and cannot resist.
 
Yes! Having a "shot spot" when first starting out is important. That's how I can tell when Mikey is ready to cooperate; he willingly goes to his shot spot and waits for me. He has three places: in front of his food dish, on top of his kitty condo, or directly in front of me (wherever I'm at).

Another thing I thought of is that I always give shots "against grain," as in from the rear to the front. Not sure if there is a "proper" direction for giving shots, but Mikey hates when I try to do things "over his head." Even if I tried, I'd never be able to properly position him to give him a shot in the same direction as his fur.
 
Update on Jack " the feral cat". I want to thank everyone who gave me encouragement and very practical ideas about treating Jack, and finding ways to make the process more comfortable for him! After eluding me for 2 days I was able to get him in a carrier and take him to the vet for testing yesterday. His BG was over 400, but, as he had eaten right before we left for the vet it was possible for him to have an insulin shot right then. This gave me an opportunity to ask the vet tech to supervise me while giving Jack an injection. I'm still not secure about my ability to give his insulin shot. His dose of .5 units is so small it is difficult to know if the insulin has entered the injection site. But, per the vet tech the insulin did go in. I've picked the bathroom as his "shot spot". It's a small space and he is free to walk around, but is still within reach when it's time for his shot. I'm petting him before and after the shot and have not had to restrain him, though he did try to pull away today as I was giving his shot. I need more experience at shot giving so I can deliver the shot more quickly. Jack is eating well and likes the Purina DM Savory Selects. He is currently relaxing in his favorite spot Our next challenge will be testing his BG. I am looking at videos and doing research, but, for now will take him back to his vet for blood tests.
 
Home testing is a nice 'next goal to have.

If you let us know where you live, we might have a member that is willing to come out and teach you to home test.

The ear warming is key before pricking the ear to get the blood flowing before the ear prick.
 
Good for you Trish! Giving him his shot will start to get easier. Nikki would fight me and half the time I was giving fur shots the 1st week. Once she realized it was part of her routine, she got much better! She still huffs about it but at least she stopped wiggling all over!

Awesome job! :-D
 
And treats! Don't forget the yummy treat like a piece of freeze dried chicken or some plain boiled chicken or turkey. Just a tiny piece, as a reward to get your cat to realize that the shot will get him a nice treat.

Wink got treats, before the tests, after the tests, before the shot, after the shot. He really looked forward to those treats.
 
So far so good on Jack!

Once you give the shot, touch the spot briefly and smell your fingers. If you dont smell anything, and your fingers arent wet, it went in. And of course BG tests will tell you that too.

Giving treats after the shot will help him get used to it - and maybe enjoy it - but make sure they are low carb like freeze dried chicken!

Here are some testing tips but for now I would start stroking his ears (or paws - whichever he likes best) and giving him a treat afterward to get him used to at least that first.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub

What kind of insulin is it?
Wendy
 
Would you please provide us with some more information and put this in your user control panel? It helps us to help you better.

Go to the upper left corner of your screen and click on the words, User Control Panel
On the next screen, a row of tabs is presented. Select the Profile tab
On the next screen, there are a number of choices along the left hand side. Select Edit Profile.
Go down to the location field and enter your country, state/province, and city if you are willing to share that info.
Click on submit to save this change.

Still in the User Control Panel, Profile tab, this time select Edit Signature from the left hand list of options.
A free form text box appears.
We like to see information like your name, your cats name age and sex, the diagnosis date for the diabetes (DX 4/30/13), what meter you are using for testing, what insulin you are using , what you are feeding (wet or dry, what brands/style of food), any complicating health issues your cat may have, any additional medications your cat is receiving.

Click on submit to save this information. Now, this will appear at the end of every post you make. You can update the info when you need to.

Think of this as having some very useful information at our finger tips for those that are replying to your posts.

Would you please do those updates when you get a chance? Thanks.
 
On Monday, Jack fought going in his carrier to have BG test done at the vets. He panicked at sight of the carrier. I will try covering his head with a towel to see if he gets less stressed today when we try again for another visit to the vet. We skipped the vet visit on Tues. to give him time to re cover from Monday's stress. But he was still leery of me on Tuesday when it was time for his insulin. He wouldn't come close enought for me to give his insulin injection in the shoulder area. He hid behind the toilet. I gave his shot in his hind quarters. Will this cause a problem? We will try the carrier again later today after his insulin injection. I have another feral cat, Beni, who needs to be trapped and neutered . He is a year old and very skittish. I can't put frontline on him, as I do on my other cats. I saw an article about Capstar, it can be taken orally ( in a pill pocket). Has anyone had experience with this product? I live in Palo Alto, CA in the San Fancisco , Bay Area. If anyone lives near and could give mr pointers on testing BG on Jack's ear, I would be so grateful.
 
At the bottom of this PDF, there is information on using indirect measures to monitor diabetes and adjust dose. It isn't perfect, but it may be useful until and if you can get blood tests.

The Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature have some tips on collecting urine to test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top