FELIX +6 bg 45

Liliana Iliana

Member Since 2025
Hello! At the moment hi is 77 after i fed him his usual lunch LC with few drops of glucose. Following TR method, tonight he will get a reduction by .25. I will test him again in 1 hour and see if hi's heading up or down.
 
Sounds good, that he responded well and quickly. Most here suggest testing every 20-30 minutes after hitting below 50. Once you have 2 tests that are out of the lime (after the bump with food or syrup), it's safe to take a breath and grab the next test in an hour to check.
*Note I am a newbie, but my little boy went through several days of numbers in the lime, and this is what was taught to me and what I did.
 
Sounds good, that he responded well and quickly. Most here suggest testing every 20-30 minutes after hitting below 50. Once you have 2 tests that are out of the lime (after the bump with food or syrup), it's safe to take a breath and grab the next test in an hour to check.
*Note I am a newbie, but my little boy went through several days of numbers in the lime, and this is what was taught to me and what I did.
Thank you.
 
Thank you.
No worries! My little boy went through limes really bad. Once he hit low numbers, he stayed there. So I know that inner terror.
Oh! Two notes I should mention where I screwed up. When seeing the low numbers, make sure not to over feed. In case your baby needs several food bumps, you want them staying somewhat hungry. It's harder getting those carbs into them when they're full.
I tried getting as much carbs right away as I could and eventually he wasn't interested in this after a time.
Also, they say you only need a few drops of the karo syrup or honey. I must've given at least 10 the first time.😅
That being said, Every Cat Is Different, and you'll learn what works best for your baby as you go. The ultimate goal is remission. But in case it's not achieved, regulation is the next best thing. Here's to hoping for remission.🥰
 
No worries! My little boy went through limes really bad. Once he hit low numbers, he stayed there. So I know that inner terror.
Oh! Two notes I should mention where I screwed up. When seeing the low numbers, make sure not to over feed. In case your baby needs several food bumps, you want them staying somewhat hungry. It's harder getting those carbs into them when they're full.
I tried getting as much carbs right away as I could and eventually he wasn't interested in this after a time.
Also, they say you only need a few drops of the karo syrup or honey. I must've given at least 10 the first time.😅
That being said, Every Cat Is Different, and you'll learn what works best for your baby as you go. The ultimate goal is remission. But in case it's not achieved, regulation is the next best thing. Here's to hoping for remission.🥰
58 now. hope is not going low again. I think glucose wear off. but just in case i give him i tbsp lc food again and i will test him in 30 min. +8.30
 
The bumps, especially karo, don't last long. Typically you'll get around 20min on it. Do you have any medium or high carb food? Would be worth giving just a little, which would last longer. As I said, typically we give 1-2tsp of higher carb food at a time to get the numbers up
 
No worries! My little boy went through limes really bad. Once he hit low numbers, he stayed there. So I know that inner terror.
Oh! Two notes I should mention where I screwed up. When seeing the low numbers, make sure not to over feed. In case your baby needs several food bumps, you want them staying somewhat hungry. It's harder getting those carbs into them when they're full.
I tried getting as much carbs right away as I could and eventually he wasn't interested in this after a time.
Also, they say you only need a few drops of the karo syrup or honey. I must've given at least 10 the first time.😅
That being said, Every Cat Is Different, and you'll learn what works best for your baby as you go. The ultimate goal is remission. But in case it's not achieved, regulation is the next best thing. Here's to hoping for remission.🥰
Yess, i give him a little bit of gravy form HC food. Maybe a bit less of a tsp.
 
Sounds like you've got this then. I didn't see any data from 2025. Do you know what his nadir is? Usually once they hit that, it's smoother sailing and less to worry about then. Also, because I know someone will mention it. If you feel Felix's situation is no longer an emergency, could you take off the 911 tag? They're a stickler here about those. If you still have questions, especially hoping for more info from the pros, it can be changed to the '?' to get their attention as well.😊
 
Sounds like you've got this then. I didn't see any data from 2025. Do you know what his nadir is? Usually once they hit that, it's smoother sailing and less to worry about then. Also, because I know someone will mention it. If you feel Felix's situation is no longer an emergency, could you take off the 911 tag? They're a stickler here about those. If you still have questions, especially hoping for more info from the pros, it can be changed to the '?' to get their attention as well.😊
2025 data is on the sheet next to 2026. I want to change 911 but i don't know how
 
How odd, it was being wonky for me, sorry about that. Looking at his past numbers, hopefully he should be rising naturally now. The last time he had lime numbers, was also at the +6, but then he gently rose back up. That lady number of 68 looks perfect! Where you actually want to be. Seems like he pulled himself out of it. With your help of course ;)
 
How odd, it was being wonky for me, sorry about that. Looking at his past numbers, hopefully he should be rising naturally now. The last time he had lime numbers, was also at the +6, but then he gently rose back up. That lady number of 68 looks perfect! Where you actually want to be. Seems like he pulled himself out of it. With your help of course ;)
I just hope he will not bounce to much like he did in the past! Bu, what can i do?
 
Hello! At the moment hi is 77 after i fed him his usual lunch LC with few drops of glucose. Following TR method, tonight he will get a reduction by .25. I will test him again in 1 hour and see if hi's heading up or down.
If PMPS it's under 100, should i stick with .25 reduction? Felix next shot is in 3 hours.
 
I would not. Typical reductions for TR are 0.25. And please don't think that. There ARE no stupid questions. Felix's will being is in your hands, and you want to be positive you get it right. So never fear in asking questions. It's how everyone learns. Heck, my own cat Nico threw everyone for a loop here. I'm sure lessons were learned by even the ones that have been around for a while.
I actually got the best advice from another newbie when no one else was quite sure what to do with him.🤣 NOT that ill lead you to the best advice. That would be Monster's mum, Regan. That lady's got a 6th sense with this stuff. But we all learn, and questions are how it's done. Good luck on that reduction! Just keep in mind if you set higher right away, it could very well be that infamous bounce
 
even now.. after it's been time.. I myself still refer to it if needed. ✨

also, initially, it's best and suggested every 15-20 min..

then it's 30 min. once up two tests. and you keep checking and following the steps, and start again if needed.. 👍🏼
 
even now.. after it's been time.. I myself still refer to it if needed. ✨

also, initially, it's best and suggested every 15-20 min..

then it's 30 min. once up two tests. and you keep checking and following the steps, and start again if needed.. 👍🏼
You are right. I theory i know what to do but first i learned not to panic. Then i take action. But i still need someone to tell me i took the right decision. And you all do that. Thank you for pointing out to me that post. I will printed out and keep it with me all the time.
 
You're doing a great job. It's scary and hard especially if you're on your own; providing support is what this board is all about!
I am so grateful i found you! Where i am, i didn't find a support group specially for cats with diabetes and the vet i have, doesn't have that much experience with diabetes. Don't get me wrong, regarding with other cat/dogs issue she is a great vet.
 
I am so grateful i found you! Where i am, i didn't find a support group specially for cats with diabetes and the vet i have, doesn't have that much experience with diabetes. Don't get me wrong, regarding with other cat/dogs issue she is a great vet.
I think it's the same for most of us on all those points! I do know someone who had a diabetic cat (he sent me here), but nobody in my life outside the board has been able to give me anything like the support I get here.

A lot of vets are excellent general practitioners, but diabetes involves a lot of specialized knowledge that they just haven't trained for. Some vets do better at continuing to learn and study when they get cases than others. (I'm lucky - my vet is really good at this - but a lot of people on the board have had difficult experiences with vets who didn't know much, wouldn't listen to them, etc.)
 
Back
Top