Feeling like a failure for my boy

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Just a note to talk over some stuff from how I am feeling about having my boy Dx in Dec of 2012 and here he is still not doing well I think and it seems others do too, my fault what happened last Sat with not being home to give him is shot, had to work and could not be late. I had a choice to make be at work to be able to support my boy's needs or be late and be in trouble and get my pay docked. So this day gave him a set back I feel, plus his fructosamine came back at 506 yet the numbers on his spread sheet are no where near that. I feel guilty and starting to wonder if I am doing any of this right? I understand every cat is different, that he may never be regulated but I so want to keep him with me for as long as I can. I also know at 16 it may not be that long. He is a happy cat, all 5 P's are in place yet I cannot get over this poor care I am giving him. He and I have a special close relationship, it's hard to explain but I am sure many of you have it also.
I will post a link to my lasted post and his SS is at the bottom of my page, I also will be doing another test in 1 1/2 hr for his +2 after pmps.
Thanks for letting me vent, it feels strange to open up about this but who else would really understand?

Mimi and Loki


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95814
 
Hi Mimi,

Venting is certainly good, and most certainly allowed here! And you're right, who else is going to "get it"? ;-)

OK, apparently, I'm looking at a different spreadsheet than you are? Because I don't see evidence that he's not doing well, or that you are giving him "poor care".

Here's what I see.

Loki's been on Lantus for 6 weeks. He's doing better on Lantus that he was on Prozinc. His doses are lower than they were on Prozinc.

He's only been diabetic since December. I am sure that to you, that feels like two lifetimes. But it's 5 months, right? I was extremely fortunate with Bob because he was only on insulin for 10 weeks. Some cats go OTJ quickly. Some never do. But 5 months is not long, really. Not compared to some other kitties here who have been on insulin for one or more years, and still have gone OTJ. And some cats have been on insulin for many years, might be on it for many more. But the point is, they're still alive, and other than a couple shots a day, who could tell they were diabetic?

Last Saturday, you did exactly what I would have done, and I think I suggested you skip the shot? It's one shot. No big deal. Have you ever given a fur shot? A fur shot that misses completely and skipping a shot are the same thing as far as the effect. It means 24 hours without a shot in the middle. That's all. It doesn't cause you to lose any and all progress you've made to this point. You did the safe thing, and when it comes down to it, the safe thing is the right thing (in EVERY case). You couldn't be home to shoot or test, your hubby needed to work too, and there wasn't anyone you could find to shoot and test on short notice. In my opinion, you did the only thing you could do.

Don't let the pink numbers you see the past couple of days distract you from all the nice yellow and blue numbers. You skipped Saturday morning? He went up to 300, right? But then he dropped back down to 245 six hours later with no shot that morning? He didn't keep climbing. So you gave a shot Saturday night. The next morning, you saw a number that was too low for you to feel comfortable shooting! The insulin was still working. So you skipped Sunday morning due to the low number? He kept going down, to 106, after eating. And then went all the way up to an ugly red 414!!! That was a "bounce", Mimi. It wasn't because of the skipped shots. And he cleared the bounce really fast too. You gave him a shot Sunday night, and look where he was Monday morning? Back to a beautiful blue AMPS.

My guess is that he went fairly low Sunday night, and the numbers you saw yesterday were "bounce" numbers from that low. This morning he was 288, and today's cycle looks good to me. Nice and blue in the middle, and a low yellow PMPS tonight.

Listen, I'm no expert on Lantus or Lantus spreadsheets. But what I'm looking at on Loki's SS for the past few days makes sense to me. And it's a lot prettier than a lot of other Lantus spreadsheets.

You're NOT doing poorly with Loki, Mimi. Seriously. You might be frustrated, and you might be playing the "blame game", but you're doing all you can to manage this insane disease. You can't let this be a "ball and chain", and think that it rules your life. The rest of the world won't adjust to make this "easy" for you or anyone else doing this. All you can do is what is possible and practical for you. Looking in the rearview mirror has its benefits. It's helpful to be able to look back at your data at times. It can help you to try to have an idea for what the numbers might do today based on what they've done in the past. How many cycles does a cat take to clear a bounce? What does the cycle or two before a "big dive" look like for a particular cat, and do you see that pattern today? It can give you a head's up that it might be time for a low number or an active cycle. But beyond that? Don't look back. Don't let "coulda, woulda, shouda" be a distraction to you. Try to focus on today and look forward to tomorrow. Screw yesterday. It's done.

Chin up, kiddo!

Carl
 
:YMHUG: I know how you feel! :YMHUG:

A small comfort is the the 506 on the fructosamine test does not mean that's what his average BG was. On the test itself, they show a range of numbers and what that range equals to the range of BGs. Every lab that runs the fructosamine has a different range of numbers they post, which is why it should be on the test results so you can translate that into BGs. Someone else might have a "common" range of values that they can provide you. I have one somewhere in one of my old condos, but it'll probably take me longer to find it than for someone else to post it (it's a race! :lol: ).

Something else that really helped me is that I was told that even though Mikey might be running high throughout the day, he was still hitting levels below 240 and seeing blues (and greens). This means the chances of long-term damage are much slimmer and he might not be "perfect" or "regulated," but he was going to be okay.

Some cats it takes a lot more time to see results. I know for me, I can sometimes get discouraged when I see all these cats going into remission as I'm increasing Mikey's dose yet again. I remind myself that it doesn't matter that Mikey will probably never be insulin-free because the only difference would be that I pay less attention to him than I do now. And I know Mikey would happily stay on insulin if he could keep himself the center of attention, little bugger that he is! :lol:

You are not a failure, even if you feel like it. You're doing the best you can with the tools you have available. Try not to imagine how much worse you'd both be if you hadn't found FDMB and hadn't started testing! You've done more than most owners ever would for their cats and that's something you should take pride in.
 
Thank You so much for making me wake up and realize that my boy may not be OTJ or ever will be but he will be taken care of to the best of my ability and all of your guys being there for him and I . I think I just got down from the skipped dose and then the results of the next test.
I will ask the vet for the # of the fructosamine test and see what you guys think.
I will keep my "chin up" (thanks Carl) and will be here for anyone who needs it, anytime.
KPassa, thanks so much you rock...
Off to do my +2 and will add it to his SS, no worries we are good here.
Mimi and Loki
 
Thank you Kay! I meant to "poo poo" the 506 on the fruct test and that it didn't mean his BG was that high. But I forgot that chapter in my novel and wasn't ready to write a sequel already. :lol:

IIRC, someone said recently that a 450 on a fruct test indicates "good control", so 506 isn't quite as bad as it sounds. It's not like a "black number" on the BG rainbow or anything.
 
And here's a link to the Fructosamine results. >450 means BG is over 280; it doesn't mean BG is 506.

ETA: yes, if you can get the numbers from the vet, it'll be even more accurate.

I also skip shots if I'm not going to be home to monitor, so don't feel bad. And I've also been giving the poor boy fur shots quite a bit lately due to the shorter needles I've been using.

Don't forget about the mantra: "Better high for a day than low for a minute!"
 
You are not a failure!! Look at everything you are doing for him.. More than many! You take him to vet, you feed him good food, give him a good insulin and even home test!! And to top it off, you are here asking advice and looking for help, you are a great mamabean.. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise!!

So how is he doing generally? Is he better than without the insulin? Add those things to the comments section of your sheet too, that way you can see his progress.

I am not surprised if the fructosamine was a little high, since we do want to get him lower and out of those pinks.. So let's work on that!! This probably means we need to get you used to shooting at lower numbers. Here is a primer..http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46003

Can you add what food you are giving to your profile? (And remind me here?... It's low carb canned right)

Don't give up on OTJ.. It can still happen.


Wendy
 
Oh and talking to venting.. Can you imagine how frigging annoyed I am that I am here for over a year with two diabetic cats, one of whom is barely regulated on 8units and is still increasing? Meanwhile I watch all these other cats go OTJ with my help. Totally makes me jealous and feel like I am doing something wrong.. But I have to remind myself that many people wouldn't bother and my cats are happy and healthy.. The SS is just numbers.
 
Wow Kay that is so interesting I wish I could show that to the vet, he wanted me to up him to 2 units 2x's per day but I am not quite ready for that yet. I really want to make sure he is over the missed shot adventure first. I think I will follow the testing pattern of amps then + 6 and then pmps and the +2 for the next 5-7 days and then we will see. I can start with today's results as I tested quite a bit today.
BTW I use the Relion Prime too and the short needles. Loki likes the shorts better.
 
Meanwhile I watch all these other cats go OTJ with my help. Totally makes me jealous and feel like I am doing something wrong.

And the other side to that coin....
Bob went OTJ in 10 weeks, and the first half of that was in the days before I found this place. And it sure as hell wasn't because I was doing anything "better" than anyone else, or even that I did much of anything right, to be honest. I used to feel "guilty" that it was so easy for me, especially when I realized how incredibly fortunate I was that it happened that fast. I'm usually in awe of the beans who have been doing this for many months or years, or that have danced with multiple sugarcats. And yet they spend hours upon hours a week here helping every new member that joins the board.

Heroes in my book...
 
Mimi,

Pity party? Nope, not around here you don't.

Venting, sure. We all need to vent about our frustrations. But I don't see any reason for you to feel that you aren't doing your best for Loki. Coulda, woulda, shoulda. That is the past. Look forward to each day and remember how far you have come in 5 months.

Yes, I did not join this board until the end of January 2013 but my foster Wink had been at the shelter since at least October, receiving insulin but still unregulated. It took 5 1/2 long months to get him OTJ. I never expected that, my goal was simply to get him better care in a loving home. Did you abandon your kitty at a shelter when you found out he was diabetic? Nope.

Let's see here now, how you are doing with caring for Loki:
1. Loving home? check
2. Spoiled rotten kitty? check
3. playing with his beans? check
4. getting insulin? check
5. home testing? check
6. low carb food? check
7. good vet care? check
8. good appetite? check
9. preening? check
10. purring? check
11. trying to do your very best for Loki? check

Remember that you cat Loki is not just his set of numbers. The 5 P's, preening, purring, playing, pooping, peeing plus a good appetite, better looking coat, no neuropathy signs are all positive indicators that you are doing a good job.

Hey Canterbury CT isn't that far away from where I live in MA. I could drive down and give you big hugs in person. Until then, how about some cyber hugs? {{{{{{{{{{Mimi}}}}}}}}}}
 
mimi4neeyah and Loki said:
I think I will follow the testing pattern of amps then + 6 and then pmps and the +2 for the next 5-7 days and then we will see. I can start with today's results as I tested quite a bit today.
BTW I use the Relion Prime too and the short needles. Loki likes the shorts better.

I would suggest maybe not waiting that long. If you can, try to get a +6 tonight (or your next available night) because I have a feeling he might be seeing some greens at night that you're missing. If you have to wait till the weekend to get a late night test, then don't raise the dose just yet, but if you can get a +6 test in tonight and he's still running yellows and blues, from the previous data he looks like he'll be able to handle a .25u increase for tomorrow (then, by the weekend, you'll start seeing some better numbers as the depot tops off).

Michelangelo hates when I use the short needles but doesn't mind it when my brother uses the short needles. I think it comes down to the technique of the shooter because my brother can't use the long needles on him either. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top