Katy and Charlie
Member Since 2023
Hello everybody! Charlie is a trooper, he has been acting great but he is still not even close to being regulated. I have been feeling so hopeless and need some encouragement and guidance. He is now completely on a low-carb wet food diet. He gets a can in the morning and a can at night. No dry food at all. For a while, we were thinking he was dropping super low and then bouncing, which I was able to collect numbers that proved that was the case so I continued to slowly drop his dose. He stopped dropping super low, the nadirs have been in the high 200's. But after 5 days of consistently being high, I decided to raise the dose slightly. If you look at my spreadsheet you can see occasionally he does drop lower but it never lasts long, he always jumps back up.
I've considered trying to switch to the tight regulation method but have some questions. When changing to a new method, do you calculate the dose based on weight and start from scratch? Or do you keep on the dose he has been on and adjust from there?
What is a cycle? A full day with the 2 shots 12 hours apart? or is it just one shot?
Working a full-time job I can't necessarily test at +3 or +9. I can do +6 and before or after work. So I am not sure if tight regulation is even an option for me.
I just feel hopeless. I feel like I am doing something wrong. I feel I'm stuck in this cycle of bouncing and don't know how to stop it. Charlie acts pretty good most of the time but I know that this uncontrolled diabetes is slowly damaging his body. Any guidance or encouragement you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.
EDIT: Another thing to add, should I try waking up in the middle of the night to test? As someone who suffers from fatigue, I really value my sleep. But if you guys think it would help, I will try!
I've considered trying to switch to the tight regulation method but have some questions. When changing to a new method, do you calculate the dose based on weight and start from scratch? Or do you keep on the dose he has been on and adjust from there?
What is a cycle? A full day with the 2 shots 12 hours apart? or is it just one shot?
Working a full-time job I can't necessarily test at +3 or +9. I can do +6 and before or after work. So I am not sure if tight regulation is even an option for me.
I just feel hopeless. I feel like I am doing something wrong. I feel I'm stuck in this cycle of bouncing and don't know how to stop it. Charlie acts pretty good most of the time but I know that this uncontrolled diabetes is slowly damaging his body. Any guidance or encouragement you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.
EDIT: Another thing to add, should I try waking up in the middle of the night to test? As someone who suffers from fatigue, I really value my sleep. But if you guys think it would help, I will try!
SLGS is a perfectly fine method. The goal is to get bgs to stay in a normal range. Remission is great but sometimes a cat just doesn't want to go there even if you're doing everything right. The most important thing is to have a happy and healthy cat 