Feeling helpless

Status
Not open for further replies.

BatGirl

Member Since 2023
My 11 yr old female, BatGirl, was first diagnosed 11/03/23. She weighed 7.3lbs, about half what she did a year ago. Blood glucose was 362 that day. Our regular vet doesn't treat this disease. I Finally found one who does but can't get in till Jan 4th. Meanwhile, I've changed her diet to nearly all wet, either Tiki Cat or Orijen, 2 1/2 cans per day. 7am, 2:30pm, and 6pm feedings. With breakfast and dinner she also gets a scant 1/4 cup of Tiki Cat kibble, moistened with the wet food, and sometimes more broth. I chose that kibble due to 43% protein, grain free. She would eat the wet only; kibble was an effort to increase protein. Since the change she is urinating less frequently. Some days she seems to feel better. This last week she sleeps a lot. I don't know what else to do to help her at this point. She's just so thin, it's heart breaking. I don't know if she can last 2 more weeks. Any positive suggestions would be helpful. Also, has anyone successfully used this Bexacat? She's had no insulin or treatment at this point.
 
Last edited:
My 11 yr old female, BatGirl, was first diagnosed 11/03/23. She weighed 7.3lbs, about half what she did a year ago. Blood glucose was 362. Our regular vet doesn't treat this disease. I Finally found one who does but can't get in till Jan 4th. Meanwhile, I've changed her diet to nearly all wet, either Tiki Cat or Orijen, 2 1/2 cans per day. 7am, 2:30pm, and 6pm feedings. With breakfast and dinner she also gets a scant 1/4 cup of Tiki Cat kibble, moistened with the wet food, and sometimes more broth. I chose that kibble due to 43% protein, grain free. She would eat the wet only; kibble was an effort to increase protein. Since the change she is urinating less frequently. Some days she seems to feel better. This last week she sleeps a lot. I don't know what else to do to help her at this point. She's just so thin, it's heart breaking. I don't know if she can last 2 more weeks. Any positive suggestions would be helpful. Also, has anyone successfully used this Bexacat? She's had no insulin or treatment at this point.
Oh gosh, I'm so sorry for what you're going through. I'm not one of the senior members here, but I just want you to know there is hope.

Also, I would be seriously reluctant to use Bexacat. It's a newer drug and we've had some members have very negative consequences from using it. Though I do think some have used it with success, so I don't want to be super bleak. I'll let the more experienced members share their opinion, but Bexacat is not one of the preferred insulins. Neither is one called Vetsulin. Don't use it.

You want Lantus, it's generic glargine, or Prozinc. Those are the long-acting insulins that will give you the best results. Tiki Cat is a good low carb wet food. I use it too. I think their dry food is actually still too high carb for a diabetic kitty though, but if your girl isn't eating right now, getting some food in her is important. Do you know if your vet tested for ketones? Do you have a blood glucose meter at home to monitor BatGirl's blood sugar? Some people will be chiming in shortly to help you with more detailed information, but don't despair. You've come to the right place!
 
Here is the helping us to help you link. It has some basic information to get you started. It looks like you're in Michigan, is that right? If so, you're near a Walmart. If you don't have a meter, then I would suggest you go down to Walmart and purchase a Relion Premier Classic. It's only $9, and you can get 100 test strips for $17. Just make sure you buy the test strips for the Premier, not the Prime. They don't make the prime anymore, but still sell the strips for people who have one.

Here is a link to the Relion so you can see what it looks like. https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

If they're out of test strips on the shelf, ask at the pharmacy. Sometimes they have them back there. The people on this forum can help teach you how to test. It's not real hard once you get the hang of it, and it will be super, super helpful. You'll also want some ketone strips, which are sold in the same section at Walmart. Here's a link to those. https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Ketone-Test-Strips-50-Count/33574014?athbdg=L1200&adsRedirect=true They're like $7.

And in case you're wondering, you can use the human meter and test strips on your cat. It's totally okay. You don't need a pet specific meter. If you get the meter and test strips that will give you something to do, so you're not just home sitting worried. Which I totally would be doing myself. I know how hard it is to see our fur babies sick. Hang in there.
 
Welcome.

Not a lot of cats on bexacat yet. You might start by reading this thread.
And also this one.

Tagging a couple of people for you
@@Hercules
@@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Check out the chart in the link. You want to feed low carb. Low carb is considered to be under 10%. If you want to increase protein, try a bit of poached chicken or freeze-dried treats – single ingredient protein.
Since your cat is not on insulin, it would be wise to check for ketones in the urine. Ketones are very dangerous and result in thousands of dollars in vet bills. You can the testing strips at most pharmacies. Below is the link about ketones.
 
Welcome to FDMB.

I hate to tell you this but the Tiki Cat dry food is high in carbohydrates. It's approximately 24% carbs. Low carb is under 10%. You would be better off feeding BatGirl a low carb, higher calorie food.

I'd encourage you to do a couple of things:
  • Get your kitty on a low carb diet.
  • Learn how to home test. I've included a link to our materials on home testing. Many people here use the Walmart Relion brand meter. Home testing will let you know where your cat's blood glucose levels are and if a diet change is helping. I didn't know if you are already comfortable with home testing since you have a value in your post.
  • Please pick up Ketostix at the pharmacy. Given the delay in treatment, let's make sure that BatGirl isn't developing ketones.
  • Yell at your vet. How can a vet not treat diabetes? About 1% of cats are diagnosed with diabetes and is the second most common endocrine disorder in cats.
Just so you know you've got some back-up, check around to see if there's a local emergency vet. If you're getting worried or if BatGirl is showing ketones over trace, I'd get her to the emergency vet.
 
I knew I forgot something..... Bexacat.... I've been doing some reading.

Bexacat was approved about a year ago. If there is any chance that BatGirl has ketones, this treatment is a big NO. It increases the risk for diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). While the research is promising, there are also safety concerns that involve ongoing monitoring by your vet. A slew of basic labs need to be run to ensure your cat can safely take the drug.

Along with the other Moderators, we're working on a post that will include detailed information about some of the new insulin treatments, including Bexacat. It's just about done. It will be posted on this board and elsewhere on FDMB.
 
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.
So ignore that
I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
I knew I forgot something..... Bexacat.... I've been doing some reading.

Bexacat was approved about a year ago. If there is any chance that BatGirl has ketones, this treatment is a big NO. It increases the risk for diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). While the research is promising, there are also safety concerns that involve ongoing monitoring by your vet. A slew of basic labs need to be run to ensure your cat can safely take the drug.

Along with the other Moderators, we're working on a post that will include detailed information about some of the new insulin treatments, including Bexacat. It's just about done. It will be posted on this board and elsewhere on FDMB.

Thank you for your input. Oddly enough, Just before reading your reply I had found a formula that I actually understood and figured the carb count on that kibble. Wow! Never would have fed her that if I'd known. That explains why she felt better after eliminating the Rachael Ray, but then became a little punky still eating that many carbs. As to the Bexacat, I've done a lot of reading but definitely hesitate on that. Anxious to get her to this new vet. January just can't come soon enough.
 
Thank you for your input. Oddly enough, Just before reading your reply I had found a formula that I actually understood and figured the carb count on that kibble. Wow! Never would have fed her that if I'd known. That explains why she felt better after eliminating the Rachael Ray, but then became a little punky still eating that many carbs. As to the Bexacat, I've done a lot of reading but definitely hesitate on that. Anxious to get her to this new vet. January just can't come soon enough.
Don't feel bad about the dry food. It's a learning process :) Hopefully your kitty will feel better eliminating more carbs.
 
BatGirl had her first visit with the new vet yesterday. Her weight is 6.5lbs, which is a half pound increase in a little over 2 wks. Bg was 268, and she was put on Vetsulin, 2 units in the morning only. Does anyone use this brand?

She's off the kibble completely, and is eating Tiki Cat wet food 3 times daily. She's still quite hungry, but urinating less frequently. More like her old self, grooming and more social. At this point the vet hasn't recommended testing daily, but we see her again next week. Hoping for good results.
 
Hi and welcome to the FDMB!

most vets don't recommend home testing at all, which is crazy because you should always know where the BG is before you shoot --- so you know it is safe to give insulin. Just like if you have a small child with diabetes, no parent would ever give insulin without checking first because it can be deadly. Please please please learn how to test at home and do it whether or not you vet thinks it is needed. This is your cat, you are in charge!

As far as Vetsulin goes, while yes there are quite a few cats here at the FDMB on it, it is not officially recommended for cats. It is actually for dogs not cats, and it is a very fast-acting, harsh insulin. I would highly recommend you request Lantus/Glargine from your vet it is a much more gentle and long-lasting insulin and many people have had great results with it.
 
Hi, regarding the dry food someone on here recommended to me Dr Elseys high protein dry kibble. You can try that for your cat if she likes crunchy. My cats like it so far! Keep us updated
 
She's off the kibble completely, and is eating Tiki Cat wet food 3 times daily. She's still quite hungry, but urinating less frequently. More like her old self, grooming and more social. At this point the vet hasn't recommended testing daily, but we see her again next week. Hoping for good results.

Good news that she has gained some weight. Did the new vet check for ketones?

I know we have talked to you about home testing, I won't repeat all of that information. I do want to express to you that the type of insulin that you were prescribed (see message above for why it isn't the best for Batgirl), is harsh and fast acting. Becasue you aren't home testing, I'd be very leary to start 2 units (I wouldn't start at 2 units regardless of type of insulin). We usually increase doses by .25 u, not typically in half units and never in whole. This insulin hits immediately so having food on board first is critical. Batgirl has to eat some food before giving her a shot. Changing her carb intake will affect her numbers. This is important to know because she has insulin on board now. Her insulin needs could change with a reduction of carbs. Also, it is important to know that being at the vet usually increases BGs. While 268 is high, I'd be very curious to know her numbers just relaxing at home.

If she seems hungry still, give her more food. It is just best that it is low carb.

I'm hopeful you can start home testing as soon as possible. We do not recommend giving your cat insulin without knowing the blood glucose level.

I'm also hopeful that you try to get a different insulin for her. I know it can be uncomfortable to ask a Dr to make changes, but it is what is best for Batgirl.

I know this is all overwhelming. Safety is key though. Getting your cat to safer bgs numbers is important. Doing so safely is key.

Let us know if we can help.
 
Considering that you have switched her to a low carb wet food exclusively, and that there is no dry food in the mix, I would say 2u is too high; the recommended starting dose here on the forum would be 0.5u twice a day, although the manufacturer does have a recommendation based on weight of 0.25u-0.5u per kg. Given that her BG was 268, I would suggest erring on the side of caution and starting with only 0.5u twice a day and test often during the first three days to see how the insulin is working. There are some further suggestions in the link I have posted below specific to this type of insulin.

Because it is an and out insulin, I don’t think dosing once a day would be of any specific benefit. Please be sure you are using the U-40 insulin syringes.

Vetsulin can start to affect blood glucose levels shortly after giving the dose, so it is important that you make sure she eats before giving insulin. You want to 1) test to be sure BG is safe to shoot 2) feed then wait 20-30 minutes, then 3) shoot.

see here for more info The Beginner’s Guide to Vetsulin
 
I agree with Christie. Vetsulin does not have adequate duration to be used for once a day dosing. No injectable insulin for cats has that kind of duration. All of the injectable insulins are dosed twice a day given that cats have a fast metabolism.

Of the available insulin that's available to treat feline diabetes, Vetsulin has not been recommended by the American Animal Hospital Assn since 2018. This is a link to their guidelines. You'll notice in the table on p. 5 that insulin for both dogs and cats is prescribed twice a day (every 12-hours). The AAHA recommends either Lantus (glargine) or Prozinc for the treatment of feline diabetes. I suspect vets continue to prescribe Vetsulin because it's used in dogs (it's also called Caninsulin) and because they can sell in out of their office.

Chances are that BatGirl is hungry much of the time because most of the low carb varieties of Tiki Cat are fairly low in calories. You've also switched her to a higher protein diet which she is metabolizing more efficiently than something loaded with carbs that cats can't process. You may need to be feeding her more in order to keep her calories where you want them.
 
So here's a quick update on BatGirl's progress.
As of 1/18 her weight is up, only a couple ounces, but I'll take it. After 13 days of Vetsulin (it's the best I can afford), her bg is improving. 8 hours after her morning dose, (always after breakfast) bg was 104. No ketones (checking daily). Also testing. That part is hard. She Hates her ears to be messed with! Also I am feeding a little more, lest we arm wrestle over what's on My plate. Tweaking her diet to add a few calories without raising bg. Not easy but I'm learning.
Closely watching everything as much as possible.
Thanks for all your help and advice. Folks don't realize cats can become diabetic. This site offers so much great info, and hope. Thank you for being here!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top