H.M. Victor (GA)
Member Since 2018
So we took Victor in to the vet for the second week to check his glucose levels and I'm not happy with how it went.
When he was first diagnosed (6/25/18), his glucose number was 433 and the vet put him on 2 units of Humulin N. When we took him in the next week (7/2/18) his number was 510 and the vet wanted us to increase his dose to 3 units, which we did not do because we weren't home testing. Today at the vet his number was 435 and she wants us to increase the dose again to 4 units, even though we mentioned that we hadn't even been giving him the 3 units. To me that just doesn't seem like a wise thing to do, and I would appreciate some input from you guys here.
I really don't care for this vet we have. I would like to know, when you guys have taken your kitties in to your vets for testing their blood glucose levels, do they actually take you back into a room with them and your cat? Cause ours just takes Victor to the back while we wait out at the front desk, then the nurse brings him back, tells us what his levels are and any instructions the vet has, but the vet herself doesn't come out to tell us, which doesn't seem right. We even mentioned we had questions but the nurse just had us ask her and she gave the answers. I asked again about the home testing and again she strongly discouraged it, saying that the readings would be different from theirs because different meters are being used and that the home testing results wouldn't be accurate, and I am just so frustrated by it. Please give me your thoughts about these things.
Getting our home testing supplies has been delayed until tomorrow, unfortunately, and we will most likely try to start testing in spite of the vet's being against it. I'm not sure how well it will go because Victor still gets uncooperative/angry occasionally even when getting his insulin shot. I really hope things start to get better/easier cause the stress and worry from all of this is really taking a toll on me and my mom; we've both had pretty much no appetite/barely been eating, I'm almost afraid to sleep, and literally all I can think about is how are we ever going to handle all of this? My mom and I are both not very good at handling high-stress situations, and this has just been one of the worst.
When he was first diagnosed (6/25/18), his glucose number was 433 and the vet put him on 2 units of Humulin N. When we took him in the next week (7/2/18) his number was 510 and the vet wanted us to increase his dose to 3 units, which we did not do because we weren't home testing. Today at the vet his number was 435 and she wants us to increase the dose again to 4 units, even though we mentioned that we hadn't even been giving him the 3 units. To me that just doesn't seem like a wise thing to do, and I would appreciate some input from you guys here.
I really don't care for this vet we have. I would like to know, when you guys have taken your kitties in to your vets for testing their blood glucose levels, do they actually take you back into a room with them and your cat? Cause ours just takes Victor to the back while we wait out at the front desk, then the nurse brings him back, tells us what his levels are and any instructions the vet has, but the vet herself doesn't come out to tell us, which doesn't seem right. We even mentioned we had questions but the nurse just had us ask her and she gave the answers. I asked again about the home testing and again she strongly discouraged it, saying that the readings would be different from theirs because different meters are being used and that the home testing results wouldn't be accurate, and I am just so frustrated by it. Please give me your thoughts about these things.
Getting our home testing supplies has been delayed until tomorrow, unfortunately, and we will most likely try to start testing in spite of the vet's being against it. I'm not sure how well it will go because Victor still gets uncooperative/angry occasionally even when getting his insulin shot. I really hope things start to get better/easier cause the stress and worry from all of this is really taking a toll on me and my mom; we've both had pretty much no appetite/barely been eating, I'm almost afraid to sleep, and literally all I can think about is how are we ever going to handle all of this? My mom and I are both not very good at handling high-stress situations, and this has just been one of the worst.
. I took Sammi in once for a blood glucose check; he'd just been diagnosed and the clinic was basically holding the insulin (that I'd had to prepay for) hostage until they ran their own test. It was $11 for the technician visit, and $20 for the test, for a total of $31 dollars. For a bit of perspective, I just bought a backup AlphaTrak 2 meter that came with 25 strips for $37.80. That makes a single BG test $1.51. The AT2 is the exact same meter most veterinarians use, and from experience I know it takes less than a minute to test Sam. So my vet made a very nice profit of $30 for a minute's work -- although the technician kept Sam in the back for more than a half-hour. $30 for a BG# that was raised from stress from the nightmarish trip to the clinic.
Maybe get a copy of all of Victor's records, and call around. See if another veterinarian would be willing to write a prescription for a different insulin with just a single office visit. Don't let your current veterinarian back you into a corner; when it comes to Victor, you have the power. You ultimately make all the decisions regarding treatment, never forget it. As my vet said to me on one memorable occasion (in a very loud voice and with a finger pointed in my direction), "I obviously can't control what you're doing in your own home! But you will never get Sammi regulated this way!"
A bit of learning, a bit of patience, and soon both Victor and yourself (and your mom) will be doing just fine with the sugar dance.