Feeding unregulated (and constipated) kitties with neuropathy

Status
Not open for further replies.

AliceR

Member Since 2020
Hello,

Update: Sunday morning he ate fine peed and pooped no ketones but he was straining a little...

Catman is having trouble eating and pooping. He didn't eat his 5am thawed hockpuck/catsicle and that never happens but it's downstairs safe from the drooler in the laundry room with his litterbox and he's been having trouble with the stairs... So without knowing that this am (AMPS was 335) DH gave him some FF, same Turkey and Giblets he's been enjoying for weeks. He only ate ⅛ of a can. I tried tuna - 10g and he stopped.

That's when I discovered the untouched meal in the feeder. I brought is up to wash and for fun put it on the rug where Catman was lying. He ate almost the whole portion!

I'm thinking the neuropathy makes it hard to be in a normal feeding position even though he eats on a nonslip mat.

We were going to increase his dose today but I was worried about the eating (and all the barfing yesterday).

Anyone with experience with neuropathy have advice until we can get this BG regulated? Does it effect colon muscles?
 
Last edited:
Morning Alice,
I can hardly make out your spreadsheet, I know nothing about setting up SS, a member set mine up for me, your SS looks different than what we use.
I can't pinch it to get the whole thing bigger so you can see the whole SS , then Can't move it to see the night time numbers

I can tag a member to see what's up with yours if you want me to, so members here can take a look at it and give you some dosing advice

About the neuropathy Tyler had it, I would have to put his bowl on a couple of books or a whatever you have to raise it up so he could eat.

I don't know if it could affect colon muscles , could be Carman can't stay in the position to poop because of the neuropathy.

How long has he been constipated, when did he poop last

What most of us use for neuropathy is Vit-B methyl
Some use Zobaline but it's expensive
I will post below what a lot of us use instead

The Vit-B methyl will help but will help much better once Catman is regulated
Can't really see the numbers on your SS

For constipation you can try giving an 1/8 of a teaspoon two times a day of Miralax
buy the supermarket brand it's much cheaper.
You might want to put a question mark in front of your title and even post this on the Lantus board since I see Catman is on Lantus
It might draw more attention :cat:
 
Last edited:
Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up
The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

  • SKU #: 835003001804
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
  • Servings: 100
 
About the neuropathy Tyler had it, I would have to put his bowl on a couple of books or a whatever you have to raise it up so he could eat.

That's helpful and I'll try!

We've been giving him Methyl B-12 for about a month but he rarely leaves the beach so I don't think it can compete with the glucogen or whatever is oxidizing his poor little nerves. Plus now with his inappetence we can't get it into him.

My SS is a pdf not a Google sheet. There is something in the template spreadsheet, I think it's part of the conditional formatting code, as soon as I share it a tunnel is opened and bots are able to control my Gboard and change the permissions on the file so that I is the owner I have view only privileges. That's another thread in the spreadsheet forum.
 
That's helpful and I'll try!

We've been giving him Methyl B-12 for about a month but he rarely leaves the beach so I don't think it can compete with the glucogen or whatever is oxidizing his poor little nerves. Plus now with his inappetence we can't get it into him.

My SS is a pdf not a Google sheet. There is something in the template spreadsheet, I think it's part of the conditional formatting code, as soon as I share it a tunnel is opened and bots are able to control my Gboard and change the permissions on the file so that I is the owner I have view only privileges. That's another thread in the spreadsheet forum.
I didn't know you were giving the methyl already, hopefully you will get some answers on the lantus forum
I'm sorry he's not feeling that great , poor guy, he's so adorable

What you are telling me about the SS , it's like talking to me in another language,
Lol I have no clue about this stuff .
I hope you get some answers over in the lantus board :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Alice,

Plus now with his inappetence we can't get it into him.
Diabetes can affect gut motility (another nerve-related issue) and that is one possible cause of constipation. Also, constipated cats can become inappetent - for obvious reasons. However, as you know there can be all manner of things that may affect frequency of bowel movements.

The first step to managing the problem is to get a vet check-up to determine whether there is any obstruction or other problem in the gut. (NB: Vital not to attempt any treatments for constipation before this examination takes place.)

Provided vet gives the all-clear with respect to obstruction/other issues, then if poor gut motility is thought to be the issue then I suggest asking the vet about a couple of days' treatment with metoclopramide (Reglan). It improves gut motility and can help 'get things moving' again. Also I suggest asking the vet about preventative measures such as adding some fibre (e.g.psyllium husk, pure canned pumpkin) or a stool softener (e.g. Miralax) to the diet.

Note that if nausea problems arise then any constipation needs to be addressed first. If meds are needed temporarily until normal appetite is resumed then ondansetron or Cerenia are the appropriate treatments. Some vets may say that the metoclopramide helps treat nausea but, according to IDEXX, cats have very few of the receptors upon which it acts so another anti-nausea med needs to be given.

Good info at:

felineconstipation.org


Mogs
.
 
A couple of thoughts...
  • Raising Catman's bowl may help.
  • If you're kitty is having trouble with the stairs, you may want to reconsider where the litter box and food are. Also, some cats do not like to eat if their food is near the litter box. (I certainly wouldn't want to eat next to the toilet!) Consider how sensitive their noses are!
  • If you're not already doing so, you may want to add water to Catman's food.
  • Adding a bit of oil, butter, etc. may also help things to slide more easily. However, go carefully. If you add too much you'll have problems in the opposite direction.
  • Miralax is a form of laxative that draws water into the colon. It may also help with constipation
 
Adding a bit of oil, butter, etc. may also help things to slide more easily. However, go carefully. If you add too much you'll have problems in the opposite direction.

Definitely we'll talk with the vet. He had a nice normal poop this morning but definitely was straining to get it out. Here's my question what kind of oil? We have olive oil truffle oil grapeseed oil canola I don't think he liked the grapeseed oil.

putting his bowl in the middle of the carpet in the kitchen up on a couple of books definitely helped.

He never minded eating in the laundry room on the opposite corner of the room from the litter box but lately he really just likes to be upstairs with us.

Part of the thing that's neuropathy is the muscle wasting as well as the nerve damage right? I keep thinking if he at least has to walk up and down the stairs once or twice a day he is getting those muscles worked a little bit. I'm sure if he didn't want to he would just hang out in the mud room on the bed down there (because of course you know we have beds for him in every room of the house) but right now he's upstairs sitting next to me on the couch as if nothing's wrong.

Thanks @Sienne and Gabby (GA) for your post as well. I did not know that got motility was something that I should be alert to. Our last diabetic cat was so easy no symptoms just shots. Makes me think something else is going on with Catman.

I'm going to increase his dose tomorrow he was 307 at +6 this afternoon which is stupid.
 
I would not use truffle oil! Canola oil is neutral. If you have butter, I suspect that might be a big hit!

If he's not feeling great, he may want to hang out with you. I would take my cues from Catman. You may be correct about his getting exercise. However, if neuropathy in humans is any parallel, it can be painful. Getting up an down the stairs may be a little much until you're seeing signs that the neuropathy is improving.

Is there any way you can not use a pdf format? I'm having a terrible time viewing your spreadsheet.
 
Is there any way you can not use a pdf format? I

Here is the SS file. I don't want to share it in Drive and I removed the conditional formatting code. Nothing like watching someone or something else manipulating the keyboard and the formatting and changing the values on a file on your phone!

Catman ate his whole dinner portion with canola!
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top