Feeding schedule and dose questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Member Since 2016
Chuck is very reactive to any food and bouncy. On prozinc between 5.6-6 units twice a day. He gets 4.5oz 9Lives pate and once a day .25oz pumpkin puree for soft potty issues.
I'm starting to wonder if I fed Chuck half of his food at meal time and gave him his whole dose then fed him the other half of his food around +4 if that would help his insulin last longer?
So it would be: preshot- feed 2.5oz food. Give 5.6-6 units. Then put the other 2 oz food in his autofeeder for +4. I would add water to make him feel more full for each feeding since he's use to the 4.5oz meals.

I worry that might let him drop too much at first but he reacts to food so much I wonder if he will spike from the food 4 hours later. Is this possible to feed him this way and only give 2 shots a day? I don't want to give more than 2 because I'm not always home.
I was thinking about trying this method for both meals tomorrow. If it works I can do it Friday too but I will be leaving from +4 til after his pm shot at +3. Of course I haven't said out loud that I'm leaving the house because that's when his levels decide to be on the lower side enough to make me freak out.
 
Food won't help insulin last longer, but I like the idea of several smaller Meals. Does he tend to eat the whole can right away or graze on it over time?

If he's very carb sensitive, have you tried young again zero carb food?

You can only buy it online,but it is one of the only diabetic dry cat food. I literally credit it with getting my cat into remission. You can call or email the company and they will send a free sample to try.

I feed my cat about two ounces of wet food in the morning and evening, then leave the young again food out all day. The food is pricy at $49 for an 8 lb bag, but even with several of my cats eating it, an 8 lb bag lasts me a month. This is because the food is nutrient dense and high in calories so the cats eat less of it in a sitting then regular food. It is high protien and less than 1% carbs!

Youngagainpetfood.com
 
I'm starting to wonder if I fed Chuck half of his food at meal time and gave him his whole dose then fed him the other half of his food around +4 if that would help his insulin last longer?
So it would be: preshot- feed 2.5oz food. Give 5.6-6 units. Then put the other 2 oz food in his autofeeder for +4. I would add water to make him feel more full for each feeding since he's use to the 4.5oz meals.
Hi Steph,

Try doing some food trials with your current schedule first. Feed as normal then test at +1, +2 and +3 after the meal to see what effect the food has on BG levels. If you post the results and tag me I'll have a look to see whether I might be able to suggest something.


Mogs
.
 
Food won't help insulin last longer, but I like the idea of several smaller Meals. Does he tend to eat the whole can right away or graze on it over time?

If he's very carb sensitive, have you tried young again zero carb food?

You can only buy it online,but it is one of the only diabetic dry cat food. I literally credit it with getting my cat into remission. You can call or email the company and they will send a free sample to try.

I feed my cat about two ounces of wet food in the morning and evening, then leave the young again food out all day. The food is pricy at $49 for an 8 lb bag, but even with several of my cats eating it, an 8 lb bag lasts me a month. This is because the food is nutrient dense and high in calories so the cats eat less of it in a sitting then regular food. It is high protien and less than 1% carbs!

Youngagainpetfood.com
My theory was maybe his insulin wouldn't run out at +8 or +10 on the lower doses if he didn't have the whole 4.5 oz to fight in the beginning of the cycle. Basically not using so much of it in the first 3-4 hours of his cycle. Am I making sense? haha

I did get a sample of YA mature zero. He LOVES it. But I tested it for a snack and it increased his BG levels. To be fair-- plain baked chicken breast does the same! I need to test it again on a normal cycle.
He use to be a grazer before becoming diabetic. Now he inhales 4.5 oz each meal in about 5 minutes. I actually spread it out in a round cake pan to slow him down a bit.

I did try the different feeding schedule last night. He had a big drop from +2 to +3
PMPS: 600+ (I suspect bounce from AM drop)
6 units
Fed 2.5 oz food with 1oz water
+1 583
+2 510
+3 332 fed remaining 2 oz food with 1oz water.
+4.5 335
+6 240
+8 209
then
AMPS 600+ again... I think he had to have found something. Or I guess it's possible it was a bounce that didn't really show until the insulin wore off? IDK He's almost always pink after a 6 unit shot. The different feeding schedule could have messed it up but I'm not sure.
I can't wait til he gains enough weight to drop his food back down but he's been at a stand still for a couple weeks now... basically since I stopped the chicken snacks. I might try leaving some YA out for him on a day when I can monitor. It will have to be in the auto feeder because he will eat the whole bowl at once if left out for grazing.
@Critter Mom
 
My theory was maybe his insulin wouldn't run out at +8 or +10 on the lower doses if he didn't have the whole 4.5 oz to fight in the beginning of the cycle. Basically not using so much of it in the first 3-4 hours of his cycle. Am I making sense? haha

I did get a sample of YA mature zero. He LOVES it. But I tested it for a snack and it increased his BG levels. To be fair-- plain baked chicken breast does the same! I need to test it again on a normal cycle.
He use to be a grazer before becoming diabetic. Now he inhales 4.5 oz each meal in about 5 minutes. I actually spread it out in a round cake pan to slow him down a bit.

I did try the different feeding schedule last night. He had a big drop from +2 to +3
PMPS: 600+ (I suspect bounce from AM drop)
6 units
Fed 2.5 oz food with 1oz water
+1 583
+2 510
+3 332 fed remaining 2 oz food with 1oz water.
+4.5 335
+6 240
+8 209
then
AMPS 600+ again... I think he had to have found something. Or I guess it's possible it was a bounce that didn't really show until the insulin wore off? IDK He's almost always pink after a 6 unit shot. The different feeding schedule could have messed it up but I'm not sure.
I can't wait til he gains enough weight to drop his food back down but he's been at a stand still for a couple weeks now... basically since I stopped the chicken snacks. I might try leaving some YA out for him on a day when I can monitor. It will have to be in the auto feeder because he will eat the whole bowl at once if left out for grazing.
@Critter Mom
The ya food is nutrient dense so he won't need to eat a lot of it... Please remember that while the numbers are so high it's going to cause him to be unusually hungry... If he's that hungry and you are trying to get him to gain, then it's OK to give him more food.

How much did the ya raise the numbers? It's less than 1% carb, it shouldn't have much, if any, effect.

Does your cat get much exercise /activity? I found getting my cat to play lowered her numbers sometimes.
 
My theory was maybe his insulin wouldn't run out at +8 or +10 on the lower doses if he didn't have the whole 4.5 oz to fight in the beginning of the cycle. Basically not using so much of it in the first 3-4 hours of his cycle. Am I making sense? haha

I did get a sample of YA mature zero. He LOVES it. But I tested it for a snack and it increased his BG levels. To be fair-- plain baked chicken breast does the same! I need to test it again on a normal cycle.
He use to be a grazer before becoming diabetic. Now he inhales 4.5 oz each meal in about 5 minutes. I actually spread it out in a round cake pan to slow him down a bit.

I did try the different feeding schedule last night. He had a big drop from +2 to +3
PMPS: 600+ (I suspect bounce from AM drop)
6 units
Fed 2.5 oz food with 1oz water
+1 583
+2 510
+3 332 fed remaining 2 oz food with 1oz water.
+4.5 335
+6 240
+8 209
then
AMPS 600+ again... I think he had to have found something. Or I guess it's possible it was a bounce that didn't really show until the insulin wore off? IDK He's almost always pink after a 6 unit shot. The different feeding schedule could have messed it up but I'm not sure.
I can't wait til he gains enough weight to drop his food back down but he's been at a stand still for a couple weeks now... basically since I stopped the chicken snacks. I might try leaving some YA out for him on a day when I can monitor. It will have to be in the auto feeder because he will eat the whole bowl at once if left out for grazing.
@Critter Mom
I wanted to add, When I started feeding my cat young again zero with just a small amount of wet at shot times (about 2 ounces) then free feeding ya.... Two weeks later my preshots suddenly went from yellows and pinks right down to blues. I was talking to the owner of the company about it yesterday, and that's what he hears from folks that it takes about 2 weeks before results really show.
 
@JanetNJ that day he also got baby food.
I just gave him 1Tbs YA (which would be 1/4 of his daily allowance) an hour ago. I just checked his BG again and it's the same! So I wonder if he had something else going on there since that night he was on a 5.4u shot which we now know isn't enough for him with his diet and bouncing.
Hard to say if he would have dropped a bit more tonight. He's still too high tonight (358 at +6) but he had an unintended extra snack of friskies after his meal/shot this after noon.
I think I might try adding some YA into his cycle tomorrow. I have been thinking of other ways to get more calories in him with less carbs. I thought about replacing 1-1.5oz with baked chicken breast but I don't want to deny him the other nutrients in the cat food. I might try the wet food with 1 or 2 TBS in with it for AMPS. I'll be home to monitor so if he needs a boost I'll be here.
 
He doesn't get much exercise besides chasing me around the house yelling at me to feed him. He's always been kinda lazy but will roll around and play with a feather toy. I let him outside in our fenced in yard but all he does is walk to the edge of the sidewalk and munch on grass.
 
@JanetNJ that day he also got baby food.
I just gave him 1Tbs YA (which would be 1/4 of his daily allowance) an hour ago. I just checked his BG again and it's the same! So I wonder if he had something else going on there since that night he was on a 5.4u shot which we now know isn't enough for him with his diet and bouncing.
Hard to say if he would have dropped a bit more tonight. He's still too high tonight (358 at +6) but he had an unintended extra snack of friskies after his meal/shot this after noon.
I think I might try adding some YA into his cycle tomorrow. I have been thinking of other ways to get more calories in him with less carbs. I thought about replacing 1-1.5oz with baked chicken breast but I don't want to deny him the other nutrients in the cat food. I might try the wet food with 1 or 2 TBS in with it for AMPS. I'll be home to monitor so if he needs a boost I'll be here.
If it's not causing his bg to rise then let him have more.... As you said he's hungry and needs the calories anyway. Have you had a chance to read any of the documentation that they send with the sample?

The sample won't last long, are you thinking of buying a bag?
 
Yes I'm looking at the site now. They sent two little bags for samples. Looks like an 8 pound bag should last about 90 days making it around $20 a month which is less than I pay for wet food! I did read a lot on the website and all the stuff they sent with the sample. They also emailed me A LOT of stuff. Links and even one to this site! :)
I talked to DH and he thinks it's worth it. I will have to try to switch him slowly on a week I'm home. I'm thinking I might give him an ounce or two of wet food a day either way to get more water into him. I'll mix it with an ounce of water. AND if it lowers his dose it's saving me even MORE money. Which is a very important part in this whole sugar dance. I'm feeling very optimistic! I tend not to give him anything after +6 because he starts his increase shortly after.
 
I just noticed the day your girl went into remission is the day that my boy started insulin! Maybe it's a sign :woot:
 
Yes I'm looking at the site now. They sent two little bags for samples. Looks like an 8 pound bag should last about 90 days making it around $20 a month which is less than I pay for wet food! I did read a lot on the website and all the stuff they sent with the sample. They also emailed me A LOT of stuff. Links and even one to this site! :)
I talked to DH and he thinks it's worth it. I will have to try to switch him slowly on a week I'm home. I'm thinking I might give him an ounce or two of wet food a day either way to get more water into him. I'll mix it with an ounce of water. AND if it lowers his dose it's saving me even MORE money. Which is a very important part in this whole sugar dance. I'm feeling very optimistic! I tend not to give him anything after +6 because he starts his increase shortly after.
That's what we did... Feed about 2-3 Oz of wet at shot time for variety and extra water, and then free fed ya. I have 7 cats... They all get wet twice a day and dry out if they want it. 6 of the 7 like it. The one who doesn't won't eat much dry at all though. It has made all of them have better coats. It does give one of them soft stools though if she eats too much of it. We have 3 big bowls of it out... One on each floor. I went through two 8 lb bags Before splurging on the 25 lb bag now. With lots of cats eating it the 8 lb bag lasts me 3 weeks. If I had just 1 eating it, it would last much longer.
 
I did try the different feeding schedule last night. He had a big drop from +2 to +3

PMPS: 600+ (I suspect bounce from AM drop)
6 units
Fed 2.5 oz food with 1oz water
+1 583
+2 510
+3 332 fed remaining 2 oz food with 1oz water.
+4.5 335
+6 240
+8 209
then
AMPS 600+ again...
@Critter Mom
Hi Steph,

Just had a quick look at the data and the meal after the +3 test didn't cause any postprandial rise in BG while the insulin was at peak effect. Whether it influenced the the 600+ AMPS I do not know.


Mogs
.
 
Still trying to figure it out. YA does seem to keep him surfing higher than what he usually does. So I don't think it really raises it but I think it definitely keeps him from going as low as he usually does.
I'm going to see what it does with his 6 unit shots when I'm home to monitor. I REALLY would like to feed him 2oz food with two tablespoons ya and see how much he goes up but that will have to wait until I get the food ordered. I plan on ordering it later today. I was debating on the 8 or 25 pounds... I think we need to start with 8 since it could go bad if we are only giving it as snack and a bit of supplement. I'll update once I have more data.
Thanks for all the input.
Happy New Year!
 
I was debating on the 8 or 25 pounds... I think we need to start with 8 since it could go bad if we are only giving it as snack and a bit of supplement.
For general info, Steph, wet food is better for a cat's kidneys. Because of the low thirst drive of felines they don't tend to drink enough when fed primarily on dry food. See catinfo.org for more information on this (especially the page on urinary tract health - diabetics tend to be more prone to urinary tract issues).


Mogs
.
 
Still trying to figure it out. YA does seem to keep him surfing higher than what he usually does. So I don't think it really raises it but I think it definitely keeps him from going as low as he usually does.
I'm going to see what it does with his 6 unit shots when I'm home to monitor. I REALLY would like to feed him 2oz food with two tablespoons ya and see how much he goes up but that will have to wait until I get the food ordered. I plan on ordering it later today. I was debating on the 8 or 25 pounds... I think we need to start with 8 since it could go bad if we are only giving it as snack and a bit of supplement. I'll update once I have more data.
Thanks for all the input.
Happy New Year!
I would start with 8.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top