Feedback or help needed - after 12/26/13

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Kim, I have never had to give her anything to help her "surf", there have been suggestions on giving her Karo but I don't think I can get her to take it in the quantities suggested.
She like milk as a treat but it is a rare treat when she gets some, if I can mix the Karo into a small helping of milk and get her to drink it do you think that would work?

I am not sure what you mean by posting at the top can you explain?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

That could still be from food, but you can breath a little easier. If you are giving karo or honey it will boost the number up quickly , but also wear off quickly, 1 or 2 hours. Then you could see another drop so you need to keep testing. She could have gotten a little of the karo you gave her. We only give a drop or two. HC food will keep the numbers up longer. What we want to see are tests that stay up for an hour or two with no additional carbs given. Once past nadir things should start to rise, but that isn't a guarantee. Nadirs can shift.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I just tested again and her number is 73, I haven't given her more food or any Karo as of yet.
Based on suggestions given.

I will be continuing to test and monitor closely, is there anything else I an give her for the HC than the food, she eats when she wants and after her morning feeding I don't think I can get her to eat more right now.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

How much Karo are you trying to give her? Usually it is only a drop or two. You will get to know how she reacts. I give Tess one drop of honey and it usually takes her up 20 points and lasts 2 hours. She doesn't notice any difference in taste. Yes you can put it in milk too. Mosts cats love milk but can't digest it properly, but you can use Lactaid Milk for lactose intolerent people. The same company makes CatSip, the only difference is that CatSip has extra taurine added and costs a whole lot more. I freeze it as ice cubes and thaw in the microwave when needed.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ann, I haven't given her any Karo yet. The suggestions posted this morning stated 1 to 2 tsp of Karo, but that was right after a shot was given when it wasn't needed at all.

I only give her a little milk when she gets it and has never had any problems with it, maybe not quite a 1/4 cup of milk, it is strictly a once or twice a year treat.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

If or when Karo is needed, we generally give a couple drops, but you're right...the suggested measurements seem to be way too much. This would be for a critically low situation in which you are also rushing to a vet.
She continues to look good.
Surfing just means to try and keep the numbers in the same area (color), and is sometimes guided with food. We like to stop or slow down a bounce if able to, and also keep the numbers safe at the same time. It's a lot of info, and don't worry...for now we will just advise you what you can do.
You're doing a super job. No need for syrup or hc right now. She is handling this like a pro. Keep testing and posting.
Sorry I was late. Kept hitting refresh and missed the second page. I am still with you :-D
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

BJM wrote:
If she is below 50 mg/dL, feed her 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy or mix some syrup in with some canned food and feed that.

The 1 - 2 teaspoons was for the gravy, not the Karo. That's just a couple of drops. Kim is right, not needed now, but for future reference.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

HC food is most of the stuff you find with 'gravy' in it. When you have time, check Dr. Lisa's food charts for carb listings. You definitely want several cans of this in your hypo kit, along with the syrup :smile: We try to feed just the gravy part when the numbers are under 50, because this won't fill them up like solid food will. The karo is an extra punch, but does wear off very quickly.
Please do read and copy off the stickies for handling low numbers. And as soon as you see them, post with a 911 icon. There is always someone watching, and we will do everything we can to help. But first and foremost, you want to arm yourself with some background info.
There is a ton to know...but I promise, it comes! :-D
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Thanks Kim,
I just did another test on her and will do another one in another 1/2 hour.

Her number right now is 57, she got up just before I tested her and ate a little more food on her own.
So I will see if that helps bring the numbers back up again a little.

I will try and get her to have a little milk with some Karo in it and see if that helps as well.
Any other suggestions, I am completely open too.

Thanks
Melissa
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I wouldn't do the karo yet, and the milk might set her tummy off. Wait...do you have hc food??
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I am also getting lost in the posts, and my refresh doesn't seems to be helping at times.
Should I start another post and start fresh from this point?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I give her Friskies Pate, she seems to like the ones with the cheese in it best, but that is all I have for her.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

The cheese ones I believe are higher carb. Let's pick that up for now so we can control when she eats. If she just ate 1-2 Tbls, she should be ok for a bit. I'm going to go look at the foods list and see what carb amount the cheese varieties have.
Better retest at the half hour since she is dropping. We just want to stay on top of it so she doesn't get too low again. Kitties like to mess with the beans :roll: :lol:
Isn't this a FUN way to spend Boxing day!? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Looks like the cheese ones have around 20% carbs and the classic pates are about half that. Do you have the cheese ones there or the classic pates?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I would stay with this post for now as it has all the info of the day. Others will be coming to read this one as everytime we post to it, it bounces to the top of the list.
I assumed earlier that you had an hc food. I looked back and don't see now why I assumed that. So if you are more comfortable giving a little milk (2Tbls) with a couple drops of karo, I say go for it. Just remember that the test number you get after will be reflecting that syrup. So we may be doing the pokie pokie for a couple hours more ;-)
How many hours ago now was the shot?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Kim, I have a little of both but she got the Chicken and Tuna Classic Pate this morning.

I have taken up for food for now and she is due for another 1/2 hour test, lets see what they are now.
Her number right now is 82, she seems pretty intuitive to her diabetic needs,when it is time to test she comes out to find me.
She ate a little food and it must have been what she needed because she doesn't eat in the afternoon usually.

I will continue to test but at least her number are rising again.
I thought I had HC food as well, I switched her to what I give her now because of forum suggestions.
She was on Fancy Feast before before she seems to like the Friskies better.

My time is just after 1:00 pm, she was given the first shot at 9:30 am my time.

Melissa
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

The posts are not staying at the top, how do I keep the most recent at the top so that new ones are easier to see.

I thought I had it figured out but it is not working now.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Wonderful. I just checked out her spreadsheet and It looks like this food is really agreeing with her (I'm struggling a bit today, new laptop and operating system :? )
Good to see the numbers on the rise again. Thanks to the food and you're wonderful care.
You and I will just hang out here for a while longer, since she is still really early in her cycle. At the next test, if her numbers are about the same or higher, we will not feed. If they are dropping, we'll give her another tablespoon or 2 of her food. Like you said, she knows what she needs, and that will help us to help her.
Please continue to post her #'s and any questions you may have :smile:
The posts in the condo don't stay at the top. It's ok, everyone else will scroll through to find them. If you stay on your page 2 and hit refresh, the new posts will be at the bottom of the page.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

If you mean the posts within the thread, look at the bottom of the page. There is an option to sort the order of the posts.

It is normally set to ascending; click on that and change it to descending and when you go to the top of the page, the most recent post will be there.


Looks like she's hanging in there. Thanks everyone for coming over to monitor.

Summary:
AMPS ~ 48
+1.0 ~ 84
+1.5 ~ 107
+2.0 ~ 78
+2.5 ~ 73
+3.0 ~ 57
+3.5 ~ 82
+4.0 ~ 84
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ok, I just did another test and between her eating a little about an hour ago and then giving her a little milk with Karo the number has come up.

She didn't drink a lot of it but she did have some, her number right now is 119.
I will still monitor her as I know the Karo has something to do with that.

Thanks for all your help, it is greatly appreciated and I might have lost it if I didn't have all of your support today.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

try NOT to give her milk now - you don't want her to get sick on it and then not eat anything.

do you have anyone who can go to the store and buy you a couple cans of fancy feast - GRAVY LOVERS VARIETY - any flavor that she likes

then you can easily get teaspoons of gravy from this and give to her.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

realize I'm jumping in a bit late in the day, but just saw the 911 on Lantus Land.

my reason for saying don't give her milk, is mixing sugar and milk could make her sick (vomit) and you don't want her doing that, cause it can drop the bg quickly

the gravy lover variety of fancy feast is a great high carb food that is perfect for hypo situations - becuase you can feed the gravy and not the food pieces to keep her from getting too full and not wanting to eat anymore food.

One thing you may see is that she is feeling great and doing great, because she has these lower numbers and is getting lots of attention and treats and while that is all good - don't let the behavior make you complacent or fool you that you are out of the woods just yet.

I realize it hasn't been mentioned yet, but BEFORE you give her next shot - depending on how this cycle works out, you may want to skip the next shot as the safest thing to do. We won't know until closer to shot time - but don't get needle happy - ok - better to skip and keep her safe then give it when she is too low.

and when you do give her next shot, please reduce it by 0.25 - so if you shot 1.5 this morning, you will shoot 1.25 next time.....
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ok, it has been a full our since the last test and she seems to be doing well.

Just did another test and her number is 110, I plan on holding off for another hour until the next test.
I know the Karo and milk have helped the numbers come up so I will still monitor her closely,
but her demeanor is normal and she is still fighting me when I go to test by trying to push my hand away and that is normal for her as well.

So far so good, the next two hours will tell.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

ok - doing good - still got a bit more time to go, but looking good and kept the hypo at bay...yay!

you are doing great! nothing like trial by fire eh....
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Hilary, you aren't kidding, trial by fire, learning on the fly and crash course all rolled into one.

Another hour has passed and I just tested gain, her number right now is 77.

I will check her again in another hour as well.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

You're at about +6, so levels should start to rise as the Lantus wears off. Maybe can stick with normal low carb food from this point.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

At least you got to do this during the daytime.
I did this with Spitzer overnight! (And I have a sleep disorder!)
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ok, not sure what to do now.

I am at +7 and her number just dropped again and now she is back down to 54 from 77 an hour ago.

Any suggestions?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Melissa

I have no experience in dealing with dropping numbers but have asked for help again from the Lantus users, so hopefully someone will come over. If she keeps dropping maybe some more Karo?

Terri
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I would retest in 20-30 minutes from last test. If she keeps dropping you can give her some HC food or Karo.

I will stay here with you so please post as soon as you do the next test.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

When is the last time you fed her?

I think it would be about time for another test so please test and post as soon as possible. Thanks!
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ok, I was worried there for a little bit but I think we are finally out of the woods for sure.

She went from 77 to 55 two hours ago, but just did another test on her and she is at 103.

I think I can finally breathe and stop worrying.

I won't test again until later tonight before her next shot, I think I have stuck her enough today.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Nows a good time to review the earlier post this morning on signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

ok you are out of the woods when you get three consecutive tests with rising numbers.

take a break, give yourself a treat and be sure to treat her and you are doing really well.

please check in before shooting insulin tonight - let's make sure it's safe to shoot and if you don't get a quick enough response, please go to the lantus forum and ask -

if you post on this thread, I've flagged it, so I will get an email notification and will be able to respond - how many hours until PM shot time for you... as it's 10 pm et for me right now....
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I don't test again for about 2 1/2 hours, that will be 9:30 pm my time.

I will definitely be testing before a shot.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

You are doing a great job!!! Please just post her BG before giving an insulin shot. We just want to make sure she is safe!!! Good job today!!
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Well done today Melissa!
Hope you are treating yourself after all that hard work!
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Ok, final test for the evening, her number is 68.

I would assume through all I have learned today that I would not give her the shot.
Am I correct in that assumption?

If I don't give her the shot then do I skip it for the night or should I test a little later before going to bed?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

With such low numbers all day and such a low preshot number.... I would skip tonights shot.

I am going to post in the lantus forum in hopes of getting some other experienced members to give their opinion.... on wether or not you need to test more tonight. I think they will agree to skip the shot tonight.

Also before giving a shot tomorrow morning, please test and post the number. If a low preshot number you may want to skip or reduce... you can post here for advice

You did a great job today!!!
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I'm hopping over from the Lantus ISG. Personally, I'd skip the shot tonight and see what she does.

Lantus is a depot insulin and she likely has a pretty full depot. I don't think you want a night like the day you had. You can shoot a reduced dose but her cycle will likely be the same as if you shot a full dose. Other then today, you don't have much data.

In the morning, you will want to reduce her dose by 0.25u to 1.25u unless she is still under 120. If she's under 120, I'd post and ask for help before shooting.

Any questions? What a day you had! Good job. :-D
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Thank you to all the people who have stood by me today and helped me through this, it has been very stressful and exhausting.

I will skip the shot for the night and start fresh tomorrow, and I will definitely post her number before giving her her shot or food.

Thanks again, good night all !!!
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Melissa

Please be sure you test her tonight and make sure she is coming up before you go to bed. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles and so she might still throw you some mid green numbers tonight. She won't have a "fresh shot" for this cycle but she could still run a little lower.
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

Good Morning Melissa

We suggest new insulin users not shoot if the pre-shot test is below 200 mg/dL.

If his pre-shot is over 200 mg/dL, it may be safe to shoot the reduced dose of 1.25 units. (I'd almost be inclined to drop him down to 1 unit, given how low he was yesterday and the battle you had to keep his numbers up.)

Here is a calculation to estimate a starting dose:
How much does he weigh and how much should he weigh?
Take the lower weight and convert it to kilos (divide pounds by 2.2)
Multiply by 0.25.
Round down to the nearest quarter unit.

How does that compare with what you were told to give him?
 
Re: Happy Holidays - feedback needed

I would not drop her dose down below 1.25u yet; she did fine and didn't earn a reduction. We reduce when we are working hard to keep them above 50 (for a newly diagnosed cat). I felt Sassys numbers stayed pretty level for you having shot a 48 with 1.5u. Even us most experienced members don't shoot below 50. :-D

I also don't think you should skip if she's below 200. You've been shooting some fairly lower numbers for a new member. I'd likely draw the line at 100 for someone who has shot as many lower numbers as you already have.

What I do strongly urge you to do is to test! If you are going to shoot down to 100, you must test to see what she is doing and keep her safe. If you can't, then I'd raise the no shoot number or you can even move over to the Lantus ISG forum where we have a lot of members working and shooting lower numbers. There are more eyes to help you but we ask for a minimum of a morning and evening PS, a mid cycle in the a.m. and a before bed in the p.m. If you work, we can also help you figure out how to test around your schedule.

Ideally, if you don't work and you want to keep shooting down to 100, we recommend you get a +2 test and that will give you an idea of how active the cycle might be. If her +2 BG is similar to her PS, it's likely to be an active cycle. If it's much less than her PS, she might drop early so you need to be on your toes.
 
Good morning everyone!!!

Another day, hopefully a better one than the last.
I just tested Sassy for the morning, and no I haven't fed her or given a shot before posting this number.

Her number this morning even without a shot last night is 89.

Give me some guidance today on where to go from here, the low number are throwing me off, this is a first.
Thanks
Melissa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top