feeburt day 4 AMPS 365 Pmps 462

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly and Spaceman

Member Since 2010
Ugh...I want some yellow.

BTW...Thank you to whoever made that spread sheet. It's by far easier than writing numbers in your profile and then trying to interpret them.

Alright. So I tested at +11 and that is when I got 462 so he got his shot early...and I raised his dose. Don't beat me up too much!! I actually raised it to what our vet wanted me to start at...and she's pretty good at dosing advice. I probably shouldn't have second guessed her to begin with. He's a big cat with, apparently, a big storage shed. I can already see how gentle this insulin is and feel like I have a good handle on things so I'm not really all that worried. I wanted to increase over the weekend when we will be around more to watch him.
 
Re: feeburt day 4 AMPS 365

yesterdays link for Feeburt
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6668&p=66758#p66758

Hi Shelly,

have u got yourself a Ketostix box to check for ketones?
when u do check, note it in ur comments, this is something u may want to be doing - usually every other day or so, just to make sure there is o ketones coming around.

whats ur schedule like this evening? if it's clear, could use a couple of spotchecks, some kitties tend to go lower in the evenings no matter what the preshot.

hang in there! the good ones will show up - just a little patience. :YMHUG:
 
I see that you increased to 2 units tonight. Keep testing, as his infection clears he might drop fast. How much longer will Feeburt be on Baytril? I think I might have asked you that before but I don't remember the answer, sorry!
 
Just to clarify, you didn't raise the dose based on pre-shot numbers, did you? Sorry if you already know this but Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. Feeburt's numbers are high enough and you've been at this dose long enough to up the dose but the way your post read, it seemed like you decided to raise the dose based on the PMPS.
 
lol! i think you've showed remarkable restraint. i probably would have raised the dose already. :-D
libby's right though. once the baytril clears the infection the numbers could drop...
 
Thanks,
I'm not basing on Preshot. The most I've seen him drop is 60 points so I figured I had a lot of room to play with. He will be on Baytril for 5 more days. He seems totally fine. When Cosmo was first diagnosed he could barely walk on his own and his numbers were not as high as Feeburts. Feeburt still runs...All 4 of them run when ever anyone heads toward the bathroom. God forbid I get lonely or something while I'm in there.

Ok. Good to know I'm not rushing things. Thanks for the support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top