Sounds great!
Sandi, I would still get a PMPS test and not shot until +12. Also, feed first then shoot. The ideal way is to Test, Feed and Shoot (T/F/S). That way if for some reason Chase decided not to eat, you wouldn't have insulin on board and then be worried if he would eat for you that cycle.Chase's BG is 190 at +11.25. Am about to shoot recommended reduced dose of .25. And then feed him.![]()
I used size 25 Terumo needles. They are very sharp and I never had to poke more than once. My vet preferred needles but used a different brand.I only have lancets but am not using the device's trigger. What else will I used to poke his ear? I am using Neosporin with pain relief. No treats yet. I don't have any that are low carb.
She was going to shoot a little early to get back on schedule.Sandi, I would still get a PMPS test and not shot until +12. Also, feed first then shoot. The ideal way is to Test, Feed and Shoot (T/F/S). That way if for some reason Chase decided not to eat, you wouldn't have insulin on board and then be worried if he would eat for you that cycle.
Her vet showed her to test in the craziest way I’ve ever seen. She showed her to poke the inside of the ear in the middle. It’s no wonder she couldn’t get blood. She has now started poking the outer edge freehand with a lancet and I think that is a good option for them right now.I used size 25 Terumo needles. They are very sharp and I never had to poke more than once. My vet preferred needles but used a different brand.
I missed that, thanks!She was going to shoot a little early to get back on schedule.
I would, too!Sandi - I'd be asking for my $30 back!![]()
Sounds good. I suspect he flattened out due to the food.My lower back is absolutely wrecked... for getting down on the floor so many times to test him, over the weekend. I can barely get up without having something to pull myself up on. Time for the heating pad... and bed. I will set my alarm to get up in another 2 hours to test him for the last time, tonight... unless, of course... he has dropped a LOT, for some reason. Then I'll get up every one or 2 hours all night long if I have to.
Sorry... I was just offering a reason for why he likely stopped coming down. It's a good thing to know that the LC can get him surfing.Does that mean I shouldn't feed him after he gets a shot? Or is this the way it's supposed to work? Isn't this a dance, of sorts? LOL.... I feel like I know less than I did a couple of weeks ago.
Wait... nevermind. I'm certain that I'm starting to sound like an arguing kid. I think this weekend has takena toll on my brain and my back. LOL. I'm just so very grateful that Chase is doing as well as he is. And am eternally grateful for ALL of you. You know... angels, like all of you... are a kitties best friend.
Thank you, all, for putting up with me.
Good night.![]()
Thank you, so much.Hi Sandi, I haven't stopped by and met you yet, but just wanted to give you a little encouragement. Seems like it's been a rough weekend. The beginning of this is the worst, but in a week or two you'll be amazed at how easy it will be. The more you understand, the more things will make sense. So keep asking questions, read, read and read more, and this will become much easier.
For pokey treats we gave Punkin cooked bits of chicken breast. Cooked a couple on the stove in water, diced them small (1/2" cubes), froze most of it and kept a couple of tablespoons worth in the fridge. That's enough to last for a couple of days, then reload from your freezer supply. Two chicken breasts lasted at least a couple of weeks.
When you're giving pokey treats, think small - just a little treat to let him know that you recognize the indignity of him being poked and you're rewarding him for enduring it! Many people give freeze dried meats too. Whatever is zero/low carb and will make Chase happy for a moment.
Welcome to the group!
julie
Thank you, Marje.... SO much. I fell asleep again.Sorry... I was just offering a reason for why he likely stopped coming down. It's a good thing to know that the LC can get him surfing.
He's doing great and you are learning![]()
I was just looking at your spreadsheet and I want to mention that the 196 you got was actually at +7. We count hours from the last shot, and this test was 7 hours after you shot. A +11 would be one hour before your next shot, and that would make it 0535, I think. Are you military? It's not often I see someone using 24 hour time (AF brat and AF wife here).But I did just get a +11. He is at 196.
Hi Tricia. I'll get the hang of it.... at some point. I just know that I won't give up.Hi Sandi.
You've had quite a time of it, but you are so lucky to have Marje there in Tucson with you (my home town). She is one of the people that helped me when I joined the Board, and helped to save my Cinco's life. She is very knowledgeable, caring and patient.
This is all so overwhelming when you first start, we know. But hang in there. It will get easier, I promise.
I was just looking at your spreadsheet and I want to mention that the 196 you got was actually at +7. We count hours from the last shot, and this test was 7 hours after you shot. A +11 would be one hour before your next shot, and that would make it 0535, I think. Are you military? It's not often I see someone using 24 hour time (AF brat and AF wife here).
Remember to take some deep breaths. You are not alone - you have joined a wonderful family of people that love their cats as much as you love your Chase. We're going to help you get him feeling better.
Hey Sandi, the below might help, it is from New to the Group Stickie. It gives an idea of an active cycle.I'm still not understanding when I should be testing,
Thank you so, so much. I know that there is so much good information on here, I have just been overwhelmed with facts and numbers, and tight scheduling, and taking hundreds of notes. I don't have a working printer so I'm going to have invest in one. I do much better if I have things printed out that I can pick up and read. I was going to put my notebook together over the weekend but Chase kept doing the "Dipty Dip". LOL. I was exhausted. I also deal with chronic pain... neck injury and severe arthritis in the lower back. All of the getting down on the floor and up again to test Chase put a horrible strain on my back. Pretty soon, now that I've learned how to shoot properly, I will put him on my bed to do it. For now, though, since he's still a little skiddish about being poked, I need to sit down on the ground, put him between my legs as he is laying down and facing away from me to keep him still. Then I test and pull my self up onto something to stand back up. LOL. We are quite the pair, here.Hey Sandi, the below might help, it is from New to the Group Stickie. It gives an idea of an active cycle.
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
Initially, don't expect to see "active" cycles after every single shot whether you're using Lantus or Levemir. Chances are, your kitty had diabetes for some time before diagnosis. It requires time for kitty's body to become used to dropping into lower numbers than their bodies have become accustomed. Don't expect immediate results! Regulation takes time and patience:
- "Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here: Lantus Starting Graph". http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
A full understanding of the following concepts will go a long way in helping you regulate your kitty's blood glucose when using Lantus or Levemir:
- Also worth noting: "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm. Here in the Lantus and Levemir Insulin Support Group (ISG), we've affectionately dubbed this unexplained phenomenon "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW).
- Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
- Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
- Insulin Depot - a "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
- LANTUS & LEVEMIR: WHAT IS THE INSULIN DEPOT?
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
You poor thing, before I was going to suggest for you to put a towel on your kitchen counter so you wouldn't have to get down on the ground but I see where keeping him corralled between your legs is the reason for being on the ground. I do the counter height method and keep an arm across his back to keep him from escaping but, now he is so used to getting tested he is cooperative.Thank you so, so much. I know that there is so much good information on here, I have just been overwhelmed with facts and numbers, and tight scheduling, and taking hundreds of notes. I don't have a working printer so I'm going to have invest in one. I do much better if I have things printed out that I can pick up and read. I was going to put my notebook together over the weekend but Chase kept doing the "Dipty Dip". LOL. I was exhausted. I also deal with chronic pain... neck injury and severe arthritis in the lower back. All of the getting down on the floor and up again to test Chase put a horrible strain on my back. Pretty soon, now that I've learned how to shoot properly, I will put him on my bed to do it. For now, though, since he's still a little skiddish about being poked, I need to sit down on the ground, put him between my legs as he is laying down and facing away from me to keep him still. Then I test and pull my self up onto something to stand back up. LOL. We are quite the pair, here.
Chase is a BIG boy. I have a very small apartment so counter space is very limited. I'll try the bed once he gets more accustomed to all of this. LOL... and once I get accustomed to all of this.You poor thing, before I was going to suggest for you to put a towel on your kitchen counter so you wouldn't have to get down on the ground but I see where keeping him corralled between your legs is the reason for being on the ground. I do the counter height method and keep an arm across his back to keep him from escaping but, now he is so used to getting tested he is cooperative.
Hey... great idea. I'm going to do that right now. At least I'll have one central place to look at the docs most important, right now. Oh... how I wish Starbucks delivered. For now, my hot tea will have to do.PS, and I understand about being overwhelmed. I copy all the info that is valuable and save on word doc so I can find it easier than trying to look it up on the forum .