? Feb 19 Chase PMPS 190, +1 175, +2 149, +3 147, +9 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Very Active Member
Good Morning,

My Chase gave me quite a scare, yesterday, but seemed to weather the storm just fine (better than I did). o.O
I just did his pre-shot test and his number is 152. Someone said I should only stall if his number was than 150. I just fed him a little less than a quarter cup of his wet food. I didn't see the "stall" comment this morning until after I had put his food down.

I'm hoping that someone is around to look at his SS and be at the ready to guide me, should I need help. I'm trying the SLGS method. I learned some things yesterday, about what to do, but I also saw what I mess I became when I got scared and it seemed like anything I had read just evaded my brain. I have been on this forum for just over 2 weeks and Chase was diagnosed 1 month ago. There isn't much info on his SS, but we're working on that. I'm getting him ready for his 0.5 unit of Lantus. Please let me know if you have any suggestions. I know I just have to see how he does. Thank you.
 
It looks like at amps he is flat, or rising (he may have gone lower last night)

If you are able to monitor him for at least the first half of the cycle I would go ahead and shoot now.
 
Chances are that his numbers will start heading up very shortly, if you shoot, you have a couple of hours (usually) before you start to see the effects of the dose, by that time, Chase's numbers will be higher, just in time for lantus to grab hold of them and pull them down, giving you a nice flat cycle which Lantus is famous for.

If you shoot, please get a +1 and a +2 then we will take it from there.

I can hang with you if you decide to shoot.
Please keep me updated and I will help guide you.
Another thing you can do to get other eyes on your condo is to use the following format

19/2 Chase amps 152 shooting low.
then when you get that +1 you would write
19/2 chase amps 152 +1 XX +2 XX +3 XX and so on as you go on, that way at a glance everyone can see how he's doing and we'll know to pop in if we see anything out of the ordinary.
 
Another thing you can do to get other eyes on your condo is to use the following format

19/2 Chase amps 152 shooting low.
then when you get that +1 you would write
19/2 chase amps 152 +1 XX +2 XX +3 XX and so on as you go on, that way at a glance everyone can see how he's doing and we'll know to pop in if we see anything out of the ordinary.

One addition: it's also helpful if you note in the subject line that you are using a pet meter, something like "chase (AT) amps 152 +1 XX" etc. just because the "quick action needed" cutoffs are different.
 
Hi Sandi,
You have great advisors here. I'm glad that you're feeling a bit calmer today. Have a look at the way people write their thread titles when they're reporting BG test results and not asking for help. This is the way readers get a capsule view of how Chase is doing before they answer your post. You can revert to a question mark title any time you have another urgent question.

Give it a week and you'll feel like an old hand at all of this. :)
 
Chances are that his numbers will start heading up very shortly, if you shoot, you have a couple of hours (usually) before you start to see the effects of the dose, by that time, Chase's numbers will be higher, just in time for lantus to grab hold of them and pull them down, giving you a nice flat cycle which Lantus is famous for.

If you shoot, please get a +1 and a +2 then we will take it from there.

I can hang with you if you decide to shoot.
Please keep me updated and I will help guide you.
Another thing you can do to get other eyes on your condo is to use the following format

19/2 Chase amps 152 shooting low.
then when you get that +1 you would write
19/2 chase amps 152 +1 XX +2 XX +3 XX and so on as you go on, that way at a glance everyone can see how he's doing and we'll know to pop in if we see anything out of the ordinary.
Thank you. Computer shut down. I just got back on.
 
Chances are that his numbers will start heading up very shortly, if you shoot, you have a couple of hours (usually) before you start to see the effects of the dose, by that time, Chase's numbers will be higher, just in time for lantus to grab hold of them and pull them down, giving you a nice flat cycle which Lantus is famous for.

If you shoot, please get a +1 and a +2 then we will take it from there.

I can hang with you if you decide to shoot.
Please keep me updated and I will help guide you.
Another thing you can do to get other eyes on your condo is to use the following format

19/2 Chase amps 152 shooting low.
then when you get that +1 you would write
19/2 chase amps 152 +1 XX +2 XX +3 XX and so on as you go on, that way at a glance everyone can see how he's doing and we'll know to pop in if we see anything out of the ordinary.
Yes... I need to read my notes thoroughly today. I understand the subject line you suggested. But what does 19/2 mean?
 
One addition: it's also helpful if you note in the subject line that you are using a pet meter, something like "chase (AT) amps 152 +1 XX" etc. just because the "quick action needed" cutoffs are different.
Actually with SLGS the cutoff is the same, 90. There are no AT numbers for SLGS as such.
It's only with TR that we have a different cut off of 68 for AT instead of 50.
But good point, it sometimes helps to highlight it if things get fraught, I'm glad it's clear on Chase's sig block and ss though:)
 
Hi Sandi,
You have great advisors here. I'm glad that you're feeling a bit calmer today. Have a look at the way people write their thread titles when they're reporting BG test results and not asking for help. This is the way readers get a capsule view of how Chase is doing before they answer your post. You can revert to a question mark title any time you have another urgent question.

Give it a week and you'll feel like an old hand at all of this. :)
Thank you, Kris. Many of you SAVED us, yesterday! I still need to learn how to word my subject line. Practice, practice, practice. :)
 
Actually with SLGS the cutoff is the same, 90. There are no AT numbers for SLGS as such.
It's only with TR that we have a different cut off of 68 for AT instead of 50.

I'm not talking about dose reduction under the two protocols, I had the "needs some HC food now" cutoff, which I thought was the 68 (AT) vs. 50 (hum) distinction. For example, yesterday Chase went to 76 at +2 and 65 at +2.25, which might not have been too alarming to those using a human meter, but was a definite signal to get hopping on an AT.
 
I'm not talking about dose reduction under the two protocols, I had the "needs some HC food now" cutoff, which I thought was the 68 (AT) vs. 50 (hum) distinction. For example, yesterday Chase went to 76 at +2 and 65 at +2.25, which might not have been too alarming to those using a human meter, but was a definite signal to get hopping on an AT.
Absolutely, good point.:)
I thought that's what you were talking about, just wanted to clarify it for Sandi's sake and any lurkers.:)
 
What is "con
One addition: it's also helpful if you note in the subject line that you are using a pet meter, something like "chase (AT) amps 152 +1 XX" etc. just because the "quick action needed" cutoffs are different.

One addition: it's also helpful if you note in the subject line that you are using a pet meter, something like "chase (AT) amps 152 +1 XX" etc. just because the "quick action needed" cutoffs are different.
Hi Sandy hang in there there's great people to help you here just keep posting so you keep everyone in the loop of what's going on and do edit your title, you can do it any time
Hi Veronica. How do I edit my Title? Do you mean edit my Subject Line of this thread?
 
Hi Sandi,
You have great advisors here. I'm glad that you're feeling a bit calmer today. Have a look at the way people write their thread titles when they're reporting BG test results and not asking for help. This is the way readers get a capsule view of how Chase is doing before they answer your post. You can revert to a question mark title any time you have another urgent question.

Give it a week and you'll feel like an old hand at all of this. :)

I will look at other posts. I have been so wrapped up in Chase, and the fact that I have a very touchy loaner latptop while mine is being fixed, that I was only staying on my thread yesterday.

Can I edit my Subject? I looked but don't see how I can do that.
 
One addition: it's also helpful if you note in the subject line that you are using a pet meter, something like "chase (AT) amps 152 +1 XX" etc. just because the "quick action needed" cutoffs are different.
What does "condo" mean? Also, it seems like you have all suggested that I write a very long Subject Line. I thought the characters were limited???
 
I don't see thread tools. How do I change the Subject? Now I'm nervous because of his low number. I did what was said. I am looking at the subject line but don't see anything that says thread tools so that I can edit the Subject, as was suggested. :(
 
Hi Sandi,
Can you give Chase some higher carb food now.
A teaspoon or two of gravy.

Or the usual low carb with some honey added. (teaspoon of food with 1/2 teaspoon of honey.
Then test in 20min.
 
Ducked away for a bit, but I'm back. Follow Gill's advice-- a bit of gravy or low-carb with honey are what is needed. As usual, limit the amounts so you can be sure he'll eat later. You got this!
 
@Sandi & Chase in AZ

See if this helps. Once you have the box you just delete or add/change the info you want.

edit thread title.JPG

Let me know if you need more help.
 
Ducked away for a bit, but I'm back. Follow Gill's advice-- a bit of gravy or low-carb with honey are what is needed. As usual, limit the amounts so you can be sure he'll eat later. You got this!
I thought Gil was going to hang out with me. Sorry... I freaked when he wasn't here. And no one seemed to be here.
 
I was here, I was just helping someone else too, sorry, I know a few minutes can feel like an eternity.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes it can. Especially after yesterday. I will just have to know what to do, myself. People get busy and I know I'm not the only one here. His numbers never used to go this low (at least... not that I know of). And after what happened yesterday, I was trying to get ahead of the game and post so that someone could hopefully be here when I tested.
 
Next test at +1.5 at the latest.

If when he you get the next test he has dropped below 68 give him some more gravy, but add some honey to it too, a couple of drops.

If he is the same, then a couple of teaspoons of more gravy.
If he has come up to over 80 then with hold food.

(Just in case you don't get an immediate response thought I'd give you a plan of attack up front)
 
Nice he's come up.
I think you could wait now till +2.25 and check his BG again.
As I said earlier you could with hold food for now. Or give a teaspoon of lower carb if he's usually a good eater, just to help him surf along in this early part of the cycle.

The reason for a test in another 30min is that the carbs in the gravy can wear off and you can find the BG dipping again, combine that with it still being early in the cycle, and that we don't really know Chase's patterns yet, I would just play it safe and get a check in another 30 min.
 
That +1.5 must be about due now?
How you doing?

I am doing the best I can by myself. His +1 was 70. His +1.75 is 80. I couldn't get him to bleed so I couldn't test as quickly.

I don't understand. The lancet went completely through his ear and actually started to bleed on the outside of the ear, rather than the inside where I am lancing it. I am warming his ears. They are both so bruised. I am emotionally exhausted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top