Moose (GA) & Rae
Member Since 2017
Hello all! I'm going to try to compose my thoughts as best that I can...so forgive me if I'm all over the place.
Last week, my sweet Moose showed signs of hypoglycemia. He was walking in circles, bumping into things, etc. I checked his blood sugar and it was very low (47 mg/dl). I gave him some honey, and his numbers started to increase but I was still worried. I called my regular vet, who advised that I rush him to the emergency vet.
Long story short, he is fine (thank goodness!) The emergency vet advised that I decrease his insulin from 2 1/2 units twice a day to 2 units twice a day.
I have been diligently checking his blood sugar every time before I administer the insulin...but am a bit confused/scared whether or not I should give him insulin depending on his numbers. I ran a full curve this past Saturday (and will be running another full curve this coming Saturday) and his nadir was 65 mg/dl...still very low.
I called my vet and she advised that if his blood sugar is 120 - 150, do not give insulin. If it's > 150 but < 200, give half of a dose (1 unit). If it's > 200, give the full dose (2 units). Does that sound like a good rule of thumb? I read the FAQ here and the rule of thumb was the same. I'm just so scared to give him his insulin, go to work, and then come home to...well...I don't even want to say. More times than not, I have been skipping the insulin altogether if his blood sugar is < 250.
I just downloaded the spreadsheet for tracking his blood sugar and will be filling it out tonight and posting it. For now, here is his most recent curve:
Saturday, 1/22
8:43am (pre-shot): 329 mg/dl
9:00am - Gave 2 units of insulin
11:58am - 212 mg/dl
2:01pm - 98 mg/dl
4:01pm - 65 mg/dl
6:09pm - 90 mg/dl
7:57pm - 157 mg/dl
Lately though (in the past week) his pre shot levels have been between 230 - 280, so not quite as high as they were on Saturday.
Edit: I want to note that he was diagnosed in 2011, was on 1 unit of insulin (Lantus) twice a day until he went into remission in 2015...in 2016 his diabetes "returned" and the new vet started him off at 2 1/2 units twice a day of Glargine.
Last week, my sweet Moose showed signs of hypoglycemia. He was walking in circles, bumping into things, etc. I checked his blood sugar and it was very low (47 mg/dl). I gave him some honey, and his numbers started to increase but I was still worried. I called my regular vet, who advised that I rush him to the emergency vet.
Long story short, he is fine (thank goodness!) The emergency vet advised that I decrease his insulin from 2 1/2 units twice a day to 2 units twice a day.
I have been diligently checking his blood sugar every time before I administer the insulin...but am a bit confused/scared whether or not I should give him insulin depending on his numbers. I ran a full curve this past Saturday (and will be running another full curve this coming Saturday) and his nadir was 65 mg/dl...still very low.
I called my vet and she advised that if his blood sugar is 120 - 150, do not give insulin. If it's > 150 but < 200, give half of a dose (1 unit). If it's > 200, give the full dose (2 units). Does that sound like a good rule of thumb? I read the FAQ here and the rule of thumb was the same. I'm just so scared to give him his insulin, go to work, and then come home to...well...I don't even want to say. More times than not, I have been skipping the insulin altogether if his blood sugar is < 250.
I just downloaded the spreadsheet for tracking his blood sugar and will be filling it out tonight and posting it. For now, here is his most recent curve:
Saturday, 1/22
8:43am (pre-shot): 329 mg/dl
9:00am - Gave 2 units of insulin
11:58am - 212 mg/dl
2:01pm - 98 mg/dl
4:01pm - 65 mg/dl
6:09pm - 90 mg/dl
7:57pm - 157 mg/dl
Lately though (in the past week) his pre shot levels have been between 230 - 280, so not quite as high as they were on Saturday.
Edit: I want to note that he was diagnosed in 2011, was on 1 unit of insulin (Lantus) twice a day until he went into remission in 2015...in 2016 his diabetes "returned" and the new vet started him off at 2 1/2 units twice a day of Glargine.
Last edited: