FDMB Helping Cats in My Town! Thanks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

I thought this would interest some of you concerning our new member and my hometown friend Lu and FDMB. Lu and I knew each other, but not really well. During the fall, when we had the cookbook cover voting, I sent out emails to different rescue groups and friends in my area, asking for votes for our PZI boy Asher! (YES, WE WON!!!) Lu was on the receiving end of one of the email requests. A few months later, Grayson was dx diabetic and she went back and searched out the email that I had sent, regarding my involvement with Feline Diabetes and the cookbook voting. She contacted me and requested feedback and help with Grayson. The first thing we did was change his diet from dry to wet and reduced the dose the vet had suggested -- and now she is here, seeking micro dosing advice!

You might also remember, Martha and Risky, also from my town---- they came to PZI in the fall. She too, was on the receiving end of the same emails! For those of you that remember Martha and Risky-- he was on 8 units of PZI, when I met her and running Hi or in the 400 and 500s all day. He was in bad shape! She too joined the board also-- and while Risky is now on Lantus, he is regulated and remains below 200 for most of the day!

So, Donna's wonderful pictures of Asher and the cookbook cover contest, has made a positive impact on at least 2 diabetic cats in my community!

The positive impact this board can have on diabetic cats' lives is amazing! I have told Martha and Lu, that I hope through Kitty's diabetes, that I can create something positive. I already have proof, that Kitty has touched the lives of two additional diabetic cats-- in Grayson and Risky. It is my hopes, that with the help of this board, that my town can have the healthiest diabetic cats around. I hope that, Martha and Lu, will pay it forward and help other diabetic cats in our area and the outreach will continue. I actually had a local vet call me this week, asking me to help a client with hometesting!

I truly believe, that this board saved Kitty's life and through that, it is now helping other diabetic cats in my town--- THANK YOU!

Disclaimer--- Please God don't give me any additional Diabetic pets. I got the message. I am trying to help!
 
Kim's comments this morning go to show how much impact everyone telling their friends what they're doing w/ their sugar cats can have on the population. Being a packrat, I kept the e-mail and was able to contact her. I truly credit her and her recommendations with the fact that I didn't kill Grayson by automatically shooting him when his PMPS was 125 - but the clock said it was time to shoot.

A few weeks ago, when I was first getting started, I returned to work after lunch in a state of pure frustration from not getting blood. I caught the ear of a fellow cat person/co-worker (1 of 20 people in my department)... who proceded to tell me that she had had TWO diabetic cats. She had not tested; subsequently one experienced a painful end, while the other she had PTS.

Yes, people think you're nuts sometimes when you tell them the extent you go with your pets... but who is the first person they call when their pet is having problems or just got a DX and their head is spinning? Yep, it's us.

So I challenge everyone to make sure they get the word out about what they do with their cats. Encourage your vet to have any newbies contact you for support (and of course, testing assistance). TRY to get your vet to check out this board and see for themselves what a difference testing can make. Don't accept status quo, and know that sometimes IT'S OKAY to question authority!!! If I hadn't, I'd have five one-eyed cats (fortunately, I'd been directed to a vet opthamologist when my dog was diagnosed w/ glaucoma). And had I listened to the vet that recommended destroying an entire litter of kittens I raised from bottles because two of them had false positive FIV tests as kittens, after their mom had been hit by a car - I wouldn't have my morning dance partner, my playmate of "Poking Mom" through the shower curtain, etc, etc... - and yes, my friends know all about these special interactions!

My dad used to say "You're gonna break that arm, patting yourself on the back!" - but I think he'd be pleased to know that telling people what we're doing can actually save another cat... as it clearly has!

Lu-Ann
 
Way to go Kim and Lu!!! :RAHCAT You are awesome.

On a family gathering holiday I was discussing FD with my then Vet/DIL and she was telling me that you can't save them all that she just had to PTS her friends cat because they couldn't get him regulated. I said "Why didn't you call me?" she said "Why would I call you?" :cry:

Keep up the good work ladies! Maybe one day we can save them all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top