? FAT DOSE QUESTION?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I know this is my eternal question, that at times it does not need answers, for being ahead of things
But I will ask again. If Corky's BG is lower than 150 at PMPS or under 140, how would I dose a regular 0.75 dose or continue the 0,75F dose, please keep in mind when answering that Corky's insulin kicks in at 10PM (+4 ) and at times it spirals dangerously low !dosing and meal is in 1 hour
 
Slow down and breathe. It will be okay. When I look at his spreadsheet for the evening cycle, I see that Corky’s insulin kicks in sometime between +2 (8 p.m.) and +4 (10 p.m.). It probably would be noticeable by +3 but that isn’t a time when you typically test. I also see that, oftentimes Corky’s BG has risen at +2 as the ProZinc is wearing off from the previous shot and the new shot hasn’t quite started to lower BG yet (although sometimes it has.)

What I do not see is Corky’s BG spiraling down dangerously low. I am trying to find that on his spreadsheet (looking at only evening cycles right now) and the lowest recorded number I can see for all of 2024 is a 74 on January 2, which is not dangerous. So I am just trying to put things into perspective.
 
Slow down and breathe. It will be okay. When I look at his spreadsheet for the evening cycle, I see that Corky’s insulin kicks in sometime between +2 (8 p.m.) and +4 (10 p.m.). It probably would be noticeable by +3 but that isn’t a time when you typically test. I also see that, oftentimes Corky’s BG has risen at +2 as the ProZinc is wearing off from the previous shot and the new shot hasn’t quite started to lower BG yet (although sometimes it has.)

What I do not see is Corky’s BG spiraling down dangerously low. I am trying to find that on his spreadsheet (looking at only evening cycles right now) and the lowest recorded number I can see for all of 2024 is a 74 on January 2, which is not dangerous. So I am just trying to put things into perspective.
As you know me already I alway expect the worse I’ll be testing every hour after 8 to be safe if I need you, although before I post you I know what to do the Karo is already out, should I give HC for the last meal at 11pm? If in the 2 digits?
 
So I am not trying to minimize your anxiety about shooting this lower preshot. I understand. I’m just trying to reassure you that Corky has been in similar places before and you and Corky came through it with flying colors.
 
I would suggest that, if you are worried, try getting a +3 test tonight so you can get an earlier idea of how he’s doing before +4.
 
As you know me already I alway expect the worse I’ll be testing every hour after 8 to be safe if I need you, although before I post you I know what to do the Karo is already out, should I give HC for the last meal at 11pm? If in the 2 digits?
Do not give HC unless he hits 50. If he’s at 90 just give LC. If he’s somewhere between 60-80 maybe you could give MC.
 
an almost a fat dose, I know I will not be able to sleep tonight I also sent a mssg to Rover but did not get an answer, from anybody on the Foeum
And I am sorry that you didn’t receive a reply to your question. You did the right thing though, I think. This is a good opportunity to see how Corky does with this preshot at this dose (although as I said he had a very similar preshot on February 9.)
 
So I am not trying to minimize your anxiety about shooting this lower preshot. I understand. I’m just trying to reassure you that Corky has been in similar places before and you and Corky came through it with flying colors.
Thanks I never refer back, I should do that, is like I go blind when I see this numbers before dosing ( I swear I know they are goog numbers Suzanne, but they scare me so much especially dur
I would suggest that, if you are worried, try getting a +3 test tonight so you can get an earlier idea of how he’s doing before +4.

I would suggest that, if you are worried, try getting a +3 test tonight so you can get an earlier idea of how he’s doing before +4.

I am sure by now you now my obsession I will be testing by the hour at minimum until 12AM thank you for your support:bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat: you reassuring me makes all the difference in the world.
 
So we just did a little bit of “feeding the curve” tonight with the extra teaspoons of Low Carb. It can help keep him stable without resorting to any higher carb food. He may not have even needed the extra bit at +3 but it was a very small amount and would not mess up his cycle. He’s been very stable in blue so far this evening.
 
So we just did a little bit of “feeding the curve” tonight with the extra teaspoons of Low Carb. It can help keep him stable without resorting to any higher carb food. He may not have even needed the extra bit at +3 but it was a very small amount and would not mess up his cycle. He’s been very stable in blue so far this evening.
Great he’s eating quite well in small amounts we should be good till tomorrow will continue to test at what BG should I stop feeding? 120 maybe?
 
Great he’s eating quite well in small amounts we should be good till tomorrow will continue to test at what BG should I stop feeding? 120 maybe?
Well just test him at 11:00 o’clock and see what you think. Your call if he needs that snack or not.
 
My apologies, Maria. I've had an incredibly busy and diverse day, and have barely looked at the forum. Nice cycle tonight.

We are great 250@11PM sorry to have taken your time, now since I actually took the right steps, I will never forget them when needed. Thank you Suzanne, good night Bless you, I went to the PT today less pain Good night:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
Okay. See. Corky did fine tonight (now 150). He is now going up. Go to bed! I am. The interesting thing is that I think the normal fat dose would have been fine — you said you shaved a little off of it? But who knows— eyeballing a fat dose is difficult enough.
 
We are great 250@11PM sorry to have taken your time, now since I actually took the right steps, I will never forget them when needed. Thank you Suzanne, good night Bless you, I went to the PT today less pain Good night:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
You mean 150 — not 250. You must be tired. Good job. I’m glad you went to PT and it helped.
 
What’s going on with Corky this morning?
just posted, I test write in on my hand and when I wake up I post he's good I'll test at 10:20Am since I did get up a bit late, I am normally up at 8 I overslept, Thanks
10:20AM 184BG
 
Last edited:
What’s going on with Corky this morning?
184@ 10:20AM you can see SS now is complete for the morning I tried posting notes from last night and I get error I closed the page it still does not let me post, tried several times
 
Last edited:
Sorry you’re having trouble with the nites on the spreadsheet again! Thank goodness Corky came down into some better blues. He is having late nadirs lately.
 
Sorry you’re having trouble with the nites on the spreadsheet again! Thank goodness Corky came down into some better blues. He is having late nadirs lately.
Hi Suzanne,Corky is at 113 right now on PMPS can you tell me if I should dose?? HC?
I will hold feeding and dosing hoping you can advise me by 6:30pm they are starving
Feeding LC 6:25PM
Holding Dose waiting for advise
6:55PM did not get advise I dosed 0.75U ??
 
Last edited:
Okay, so since Corky was at 113 at 6:00 p.m. what was he at the time you actually shot? Did you retest him? It would have been good to know if, after you waited, if his BG had gone up? Although if you were stalling, then you should not have fed him (so that your test would not be inflated by food.)
 
Okay, so since Corky was at 113 at 6:00 p.m. what was he at the time you actually shot? Did you retest him? It would have been good to know if, after you waited, if his BG had gone up? Although if you were stalling, then you should not have fed him (so that your test would not be inflated by food.)
I did not posted it was 113 still I did test him again at 6:30 I am testing again now for 7:30
I just tested him and he read 285 tested twice, I swore that if this scenario would happen to me after begging for help, I would just deal with it on my own, this is embarrassing, I fed him his regular pate , no MC HC, just his regular low pate FF Ocean whitefish, I do not understand, as much as I want to be in control, try not to bother you guys that have better things to do than to rush to answer me, I am sorry
 
Last edited:
I did not posted it it was 113 still I did test him again at 6:30 I am testing again now for 7:30
I just teste and he read 285 tested twice, I swore that if this scenario would happen to me after begging for help, I was no longer going to ask, I would just deal with it on my own is embarrasing
 
No no no. This is not your fault and there's certainly no embarrassment attached to it! You should have posted for help. We need to take the numbers at face value and that's all. You already checked twice and so that's good. He didn't have any HC food or anything, did he? Just his regular dinner?
 
No no no. This is not your fault and there's certainly no embarrassment attached to it! You should have posted for help. We need to take the numbers at face value and that's all. You already checked twice and so that's good. He didn't have any HC food or anything, did he? Just his regular dinner?
Like I said FF Ocean Whitefish pate alone
 
If he just had his insulin shot at 6:55 p.m. and now at only 7:30 (only approximately half an hour after his shot) that is quite a jump. You should just wait then until 8:00 (which would be +2) and test him then.
 
And you know what's even more odd... getting a 113 twice and then getting a 285 twice. The odds of that happening are not in favor of it happening with a meter where there's a variance up 20/25 percent allowed. It can happen, but usually you retest and get a similar number but not exactly the same number as before. I rarely go the exact same number even testing the same drop of blood twice. I hope there's nothing going on with the meter. But don't worry about it. I'm sure all will be well and Corky will come down safely just like he did in today's a.m. cycle.
 
Good. He must have been on his way up. It certainly wasn't caused by food.But wow, that is just such a jump of more than 100 points. It's very odd.

Correct !! I’ll be testing by the hour he might just reverse that, I don’t know what to do with that! I also get different readings if is just by 1 number but never the same, I have new batteries here I’m going to change it this drains me as always, I’m sure he’ll be fine otherwise I’ll follow yesterday’s steps as you showed me I’m so sorry for rushing you really :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
you are great putting up with me:oops:
 
And you know what's even more odd... getting a 113 twice and then getting a 285 twice. The odds of that happening are not in favor of it happening with a meter where there's a variance up 20/25 percent allowed. It can happen, but usually you retest and get a similar number but not exactly the same number as before. I rarely go the exact same number even testing the same drop of blood twice. I hope there's nothing going on with the meter. But don't worry about it. I'm sure all will be well and Corky will come down safely just like he did in today's a.m. cycle.

just tested 319, I am also positive I did not shoot a fur shot by the way; What the hell happened here?? he never ever had this number that I can see during this time, so so disconcerting
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top