FAT CATS SPREAD SHEET :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you doing a version of TR (tight regulation) with FatCat? It looks like you're dosing at various times in amounts related to a BG test just before.
 
That wasn't my over all plan per say.... however there were times when I had given him less insulin because I was worried he would get too low, but then when I would retest he would be way to high, so I would give more. The last few days he has been so much better with his numbers that I have been able to just do twice a day, which is what I would like to do in the long run, I think. Although being a nurse i often feel conflicted and would like him to be tightly regulated. That being said I feel much more comfortable about not getting too low when he is between 90 and 140. Guess this isn't a good answer.
 
That wasn't my over all plan per say.... however there were times when I had given him less insulin because I was worried he would get too low, but then when I would retest he would be way to high, so I would give more. The last few days he has been so much better with his numbers that I have been able to just do twice a day, which is what I would like to do in the long run, I think. Although being a nurse i often feel conflicted and would like him to be tightly regulated. That being said I feel much more comfortable about not getting too low when he is between 90 and 140. Guess this isn't a good answer.
I understand you feeling conflicted. I think we can either chose to: a) get them regulated and in decent numbers with adequate monitoring on our part and less worrying about a hypo or we can: b) go at it full steam pushing down high BGs with more aggressive dosing but risking a hypo and needing to monitor often.

A similar issue came up on another thread and this was @Tuxedo Mom's response:

"OK That is not a good idea. By giving extra insulin in the middle of the cycle it throws off the Nadir (lowest number) since it will change with the extra dose. Instead of the nadir maybe just happening at +6 or +7 it will now be pushed forward or estended another 4-6 hours. This makes it very hard to see if a certain dose is working or if it is taking the numbers too low, since you will have in effect 2 nadirs or at the least an extended nadir. Prozinc will last 10-14 hours depending on the kitty so it is not advised to give extra shots in between the usual 12 hour time period."

I agree with her response. Things could get very complicated trying to track the effect of a particular dose if more insulin is added as the first dose is going through its cycle. Having said that, you have gotten some very nice numbers and have been able to lower his dose as a result of what you've been doing.
 
Yeah, it's really only been a couple of times that I gave him more than the initial dose, my plan is to just dose him twice a day, as of right now he's down to 1.2 units BID and maintaining blue and green numbers :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top