Fasting & Insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terruscats

Member Since 2016
Eddie is supposed to go for surgical consult tomorrow at 10 a.m. I have been told to bring him in fasting in case they decide to do surgery or a biopsy. He has a lump in the area where we give his shots. His primary vet pulled cells from it and it was indicative of a fatty tumor or lipoma but because she wasn't sure if it came from the core had suggested having it removed and tested. He also needs his teeth cleaned and she's suggested doing both at the same time. I have opted to take him first to a specialist for the liopma removal. I was given rather vague instructions on fasting and insulin. They said at least 12 hours without food and give half a dose of insulin and bring the insulin with. His visit isn't until 10 a.m. and he normally gets his insulin at 6:30 a.m. I am a little unsettled about this protocol. They didn't even question me about his normal insulin schedule. I am really worried and wondering if I would be better off letting his primary vet remove it at the time of his dental. Anyone have any experience in a situation like this?
 
It is best to skip insulin before a surgery. Your kitteh can go high on BG for a 12 hour period and generally be fine.

Consider what happens if you give insulin and no food. Then the insulin has nothing to process, and can cause a hypo. That is why they suggest no insulin or heavily reduced insulin prior to surgery. And the no eating is to reduce the possibility of vomit from the anesthesia. Once your kitteh wakes up, you can work with the vet on dosing. I have had Leo in surgery a few times, and reduced or no dosing is the way to go.
 
I agree with that general approach Larry. However, some cats like Leo are real sensitive to calories. If I dose him (anything) and he gets no food, then he goes low real easy, even to hypo range.
 
Thanks everyone for replies and sorry for long delay but after posting we began having major internet issues & I haven't been able to access anything lately. Eddie did well with the half dose & no food strategy. He ended up needing to have a mass between the shoulder blades removed & biopsied. We won't have the results for 7-10 days. Sadly,it's in the area of his microchip. When it was implanted I had no knowledge of dangers of sarcoma. I fear this is what is happening. It makes me sick that I have been the cause of his possible demise. He has been on Zobaline & I am wondering if it's a good idea to continue as I have read that B12 may cause cancer to spread. I don't know if that's any size dose or high levels only. We won't meet with an oncologist until biopsy results are in. The Zobaline has reversed the neuropathy so not sure what to do now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top