Fasting for Labwork?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Active Member
Well, my LL'ers, our vet would like to perform a test for exocrine pancreatic insufficiency on Shadow, but this will require a 12 hour fast. What would be the best way to approach this? Not shoot the night before, get him in early for the blood draw then feed/shoot as soon as I get him back home? I know it may set him back a bit, but it really needs to be done. How have you guys handled this in the past?
 
I've managed to get an appointment for this Saturday at Shadow's AMPS +5. He will need a 12 hour fast, but that's not difficult since the only feeding that I'll miss from the night before is his +9, so I might be able to shoot that evening if I'm fairly certain that he won't dip so low as to require more food. I could just load him up with a med carb food and time the last feeding to fall just before his cutoff. I'll just need to skip the following AM shot before his testing. Does this sound like a reasonable approach?
 
Thanks for the feedback. I feel better about that now. This will be the last in a series of tests. We just got his standard blood work labs in and he's doing really well - improved values across the board. His spec fPL (test for pancreatitis) is only slightly elevated, his phosphorus is down from 5.6 to 4.5 and his liver enzymes are better. Even his creatinine was lower than it's ever been since his CRF DX! (A 2.5 for the creatinine - at the highest end of normal.) I'm pretty happy with how my 20 y.o. cat man is doing. Late August will mean 4 years of dealing with his CRF. Our vet has been exceptionally patient in dealing with both of us. (Me as the worried mama bean and him as the feisty little beast he is!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top