Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think...

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimouette

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

Here's Farine's spreadsheet
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... hZ1E#gid=0

Alain and I were not too worried about injecting 1u this morning cuz according to the protocole (ECID I know!) giving usual dose at 124 should be normal...

0 = 124
Received 1u
+2 is 61... we start to worry
+3 is 34, we give Farine couple of spoons of Evo chicken tuckey
The only obvious symptom of hypo is hunger. Farine is very hungry, but nothing else
+3.5 Farine is 43, and this is where we are right now. We decided not to feed her anymore to see if the numbers keep going higher wihtout any more food being involved

If +4 is still higher is it ok to consider we are out of trouble?

I will also have more question about the next injection! Now I'm not sure we should decrease the dose or simply wait until she is above a certain value (and if so, which value should we consider is ok to shoot 1u)?

Thanks for your help
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Since it is so early in the cycle, I would keep testing until around +6 as long as the numbers are going up or staying the same. If she continues to drop, then more testing would be needed, perhaps beyond the nadir or around +6.
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

When a kitty drops into numbers that are below 50, you want to feed a higher carb food and re-test in 30 min. You repeat the process until numbers are in the 50s or higher.

Please take a look at this post on handling low numbers. This will walk you through the process. Unfortunately, I'm at work and won't be able to lend much of a hand. I'll see if there's someone in addition to Dyana who can help out if needed.
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

How is she now?
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

+3.5 = 43
+4 = 45
+4.5 = 52
+5 = 56

She seems to be fine :)

Could you guys help us figure out what we should do for pmps? what "scale" should we respect and/or should be give a skinny 1u or less?
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Farine has earned a reduction to .75 units. You have a choice tonight to do something we call "shooting through the bounce". If she bounces over 300 by PMPS, you can shoot her old dose of 1.0 tonight, and then her new dose tomorrow morning. If she is lower tonight, go with the new dose of .75 tonight..

If things are OK now, could you take off the 911 on your first post. Thanks.

Great job Alain on catching that 34!

ETA: A number in the 30's always earns a full .25 reduction.
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Bienvenue à LantusLand! Yikes, Farine! No need to go that low! How about staying above 50?
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

but a 0.75u would be for what bg range? I really dont think it's gonna rise a lot! She is still at a healthy 75 at +6...
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Farine is surfing nicely now. Those are great numbers. :mrgreen:

Lantus is dosed on the nadir, not the PS value, so .75U is her new dose now, until she either earns an additional deduction or if she can't hold onto this reduction. Alain should use this .75 dose for 6 cycles and then evaluate how Farine is doing. If he isn't seeing any blue or green by then, she may need to go back up to 1.0U. You can post again then and ask for advice.
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Thanks for the answer Wendy, but looking at farine's sheet, we never gave her 0.75u after a nadire (or even a preshot) of 128, which makes me think 0.75u could be risky...
And considering her nadir today (34!), and the fact that Alain will be sleeping when farine reaches her nadir, I really dont want to put him in a risky situation. Are we 100% that 0.75u NOMATTER WHAT PS numebr he gets, wouldnt be risky?

Sorry for insisting, but I wont be able to help if anything happens!
 
Re: Farine's first hypo on Lantus... almost ok now, i think.

Those low numbers can be quite scary. I remember how panicked I was when Neko first got into the 30's. But Alain did a good job feeding Farine and getting her into normal numbers. We have control of the numbers with food.

Sometimes after a reduction, there can still be an active cycle or two, because the Lantus depot from 1.0 is still there. It's hard to tell right now what her PS will be. Most often, cats will zoom up after a low like 34 so .75U will be safe. If her PMPS is really low, he could temporarily give a reduced shot tonight (say .5U) or skip to help drain the depot, but going forward, the new dose tomorrow should be .75U. That is quite a percentage drop in the amount of insulin from 1.0U. Alain can always get a +11 or PS test tonight and post asking for advice if it's not clear what to do based on her BG number. If the before bed test tonight shows that Farine is dropping a lot, Alain can always leave out some high carb food for her to snack on so she'll be safe tonight. I often abort an active cycle with high carb food so I can sleep.

With Lantus, you have to get used to shooting lower numbers than on Caninsulin. Lantus doesn't onset for a couple of hours, so the food given at shot time will help boost her numbers. And Lantus is a gentler insulin and doesn't drag the numbers down like Caninsulin does. Take a look at some of the other condos here, you'll see that when people shoot a lower number, the cycle is often quite flat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top