Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimouette

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone!

One week ago a man named Alain called me because he had questions about his sugar kitty called Farine (which means “flour” in French). She is 15 years old and weights a little less than 12 pounds.
Over a year ago she was diagnosed with diabetes and after couple of weeks on Caninsulin she went off the juice. Unfortunately couple of days after, she was diabetic again… That was 10 months ago.

So for 10 months now, Alain has been giving her 3u of Caninsulin twice daily (unfortunately without testing) and feeding her a mix of Friskies canned food and dry kibbles.

He saw a video I posted on Youtube explaining how to test a cat with a glucometer, so he got himself a glucometer and started to test Farine as often as he could.

Here is Farine’s spreadsheet : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AumMJBQ_r05GdGgyTEtXSjR5cjVnXzUtTjNGQTZhZ1E#gid=0

As soon as he contacted me I told him that low carb canned food was the first change he had to make. I also helped him to choose an “ok” brand. So tomorrow (Tuesday) he will start to feed Farine ONLY “Fancy Feast Ocean white fish and Tuna Classic”, no more kibbles. He might change to Evo 95% chicken and turkey in two weeks, but he will first start with the FF flavor I just mentioned. During this diet transition he is prepared to change the insulin dosage. Instead of 3u, he will be following this scale:

AM Preshot and PM Preshot:
0-8.3..............0, no injection!
8.3-9.4.............0.25u
9.5-10.2...........0.50u
10.3-11.1..........0.75u
11.2 et plus.......1.00u

:?: If you look at Farine’s spreadsheet and consider that she is now eating half kibbles half cans, do you guys agree that his is a safe guideline during the transition?

The one thing that worries me is that he will need to be guided during the first days/weeks, as he learns how Farine’s diabetes is evolving. For the morning shot there’s no problem he can reach me and ask me any question he wants, but for the evening shot he might not be able to reach me.
:?: Would you guys be willing to help him if he asked question about the insulin dosage right here in this thread ? Do you have enough information with what I gave you?
I’m asking all this cuz he’s a French speaker that does understand English but I’m not sure how well! I really want him to succeed and don’t want to leave him alone, especially now that he’s changing Farine’s diet!

:?: Oh and one more question: we’ll wait to see how Farine does with her new food before jumping to conclusion (Alain will do a new curve when he makes the transition), but looking at her spreadsheet, if the numbers keep going up and down like they do right now, I was thinking I could suggest him to change his insulin for Lantus… do you guys agree with me? But like I said, I’ll wait to see how Farine does with her new low carb food!

Thanks all for your help!!
Kim
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Would you guys be willing to help him if he asked question about the insulin dosage right here in this thread ? Do you have enough information with what I gave you?
I’m asking all this cuz he’s a French speaker that does understand English but I’m not sure how well! I really want him to succeed and don’t want to leave him alone, especially now that he’s changing Farine’s diet!
Of course we will try to help. We want him to succeed too.

I know that some of our international members have used the google chrome translate app to convert the English to their native language. It's not perfect, but it might help him to understand better what we write.

We will need to remember to not use too many abbreviations or colloquialisms. BJM put together a list of diabetes terms in several different languages. translation of diabetes terms

If Alain does not understand something we have said, he needs to ask for clarification. A lot of what we say needs to be restated sometimes for our native English speakers. :lol: :lol: :lol:

If you look at Farine’s spreadsheet and consider that she is now eating half kibbles half cans, do you guys agree that his is a safe guideline during the transition?
I can not advise on the sliding scale to be used. I don't have enough experience to develop scales. The only person I know who does this is Robin and Harley over in the PZI forum. I know that Alain is on Caninsulin. Not sure if Robin would be comfortable advising on a scale for Caninsulin.

I revised the scale you posted to add mg/dL since most of us are in the US.
Sliding scale to be used
AM Preshot and PM Preshot:
0-8.3............0-149 mg/dL...........0, no injection!
8.3-9.4..........149-169......0.25u
9.5-10.2.........171-183......0.50u
10.3-11.1........185-198......0.75u
11.2 et plus.....>200.........1.00u

I would want him to put this sliding scale into his user control panel signature. Also the fact that his first language is French, not English. and where he lives so we know the time difference.

Oh and one more question: we’ll wait to see how Farine does with her new food before jumping to conclusion (Alain will do a new curve when he makes the transition), but looking at her spreadsheet, if the numbers keep going up and down like they do right now, I was thinking I could suggest him to change his insulin for Lantus… do you guys agree with me? But like I said, I’ll wait to see how Farine does with her new low carb food!

Caninsulin can have a too short duration in cats. Let's wait until after the food change to switch to another insulin. Lantus does have a much longer duration than the Caninsulin and work better for Alain's cat, Farine.
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Hi all...
I am the Farine's father, Alain.
First of all i want to say how grateful I am about kim. She did so much for Farine and me...
Some precisions now...
Farine have been diagnosed diabetic 2 years and a half ago and it came back to normal after about 10 months of veterinarian food (kibbles and cans 50/50)
She has been ok for about 1 year and was diagnosed diabetic again about 8 months ago.
Then 8 months ago I gave her about 1.5u of Caninsulin for maybe 2 or 3 months. With the evolution and some veterinarian evaluations it needed more and more Caninsulin. So since about 2 months I give her 3u.
She looks good when we consider that she is diabetic but her situation is not going better.
Then I met Kim who explaned me a lot of elementary things about food and diabetes. ..
Now I want to do the change to good food and hope it will bring my little baby to normal...
Thats it.
The begining is tomorrow morning...
So good luck to us... a special thank you to Kim for all the time she spend for me and all of you.
Alain
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Welcome Farine's dad Alain!

We will try to help you as much as we can.

First, adding some information to your user control panel, signature would be helpful. Once you add this info, it will appear at the end of every post.

Here are some directions.
Would you please provide us with some more information and put this in your user control panel? It helps us to help you better.

Go to the upper left corner of your screen and click on the words, User Control Panel
On the next screen, a row of tabs is presented. Select the Profile tab
On the next screen, there are a number of choices along the left hand side. Select Edit Profile.
Go down to the location field and enter your country, state/province, and city if you are willing to share that info.
Click on submit to save this change.

Still in the User Control Panel, Profile tab, this time select Edit Signature from the left hand list of options.
A free form text box appears.
We like to see information like your name, your cats name age and sex, the diagnosis date for the diabetes like this (DX 4/30/13), what meter you are using for testing, what insulin you are using , what you are feeding (wet or dry, what brands/style of food), any complicating health issues your cat may have, any additional medications your cat is receiving. If you are using a pet specific meter like an Alphatrak or Ipet, please change the font size on that text from Normal to Large (using the drop down arrow list in the middle of the editing commands)

I would also like to have Alain add "native language French". Also, the link to the spreadsheet that Kim gave us.

Click on submit to save this information. Now, this will appear at the end of every post you make. You can update the info when you need to.

Think of this as having some very useful information at our finger tips for those that are replying to your posts.

Would you please do those updates when you get a chance? Thanks.

The profile is in addition to this info See this link on how to create a profile. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Bienvenue! Je suis Canadienne et j'habite pres de Toronto. Je ne parle pas le Francais tres bien. Mais je vais essayer trouver un quebecois que parle le francais et que pouvez vous aidez.

Bien que, votre anglais, c'est tres bien!!

Une question... Avez vous l'insuline "lantus" ou "levemir" en Suisse?

Wendy
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Hi Wendy,
I am from Quebec :)
I am using Caninsulin since she is diagnosted diabetic.
For now I want to change her food (friskies and Kibbles) for a good one that you find now in my signature

Thank you Deb & wink...
Hope my signature is ok... :)

Let me introduce Farine to you (browny)
and the Princess Zoé (White & black)
 

Attachments

  • Zoé_d.jpg
    Zoé_d.jpg
    31.2 KB · Views: 1,238
  • Farine_d.jpg
    Farine_d.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 1,249
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Well there he is!
Alphatango is Alain and one of the cuties on his picture is Farine the sugar kitty!

I am no longer worried that he might not be understood, his English is fine! Maybe even better than mine!
Today is the big day : it's diet transition day for Farine!
I hope it'll be the beginning of her remission !
See ya around!
Kim
:)
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Bonjour Alain et Farine!

Je suis Québécoise habitant à Toronto. Bienvenue dans le groupe! Il me ferais plaisir d'aider tant que possible.
Je ne suis pas familière avec l'insuline utilisée avec Farine. J'ai traité 2 chats avec le diabète et avec chance les 2 n'ont eu besoin que de quelques semaines pour être contrôlés seulement grâce au changement de nourriture. Malheureusement, cela veut dire que je n'ai pas beaucoup d'expérience dans le dosage...

Je suis disponible pour aider au besoin.

Sonia
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Bonjour sonia et merci
Quand tu dis "contrôlé" est ce que tu veux dire que tu nas plus besoin de leur donner d'insuline? Ils sont completement guéris? cat(2)_steam
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Thank you Alain for putting that information in your signature.

Farine is a beautiful tortoiseshell. Pretty colors.
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Hi Deb & Wink
Yessssss i know. Also she does I think!
Thank you...
 

Attachments

  • sourire-DD.jpg
    sourire-DD.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 1,209
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Regulated means an effective dose of insulin which controlls the glucose most of the time.
Diet-controlled means no insulin. also called off the juice (OTJ)

And the Google translate version, which may be inaccurate:
Réglementée signifie une dose efficace d'insuline qui controlls le glucose la plupart du temps.
Diet contrôlée signifie pas d'insuline. également annulé le jus (FMT)
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

No problem!

Ask us anything - we'll have ideas that may help.
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Great job on getting all set up and home testing. I am not going to even try french now that I know you are in Quebec ;) Your english is so much better than my high school french.

Do you think though you can talk to your vet about lantus? Its a much better insulin for Farine. Its got a good success rate for remission whereas Caninsulin is really harsh on cats- it pulls their blood glucose down really quick. You can get Lantus for $99 at costco and it will last you six months in the fridge.

Lastly,like with humans, dou dont want to give fish all the time to your cat. Twice a week is better. The other FF pates are just as good for diabetic cats. Also gives her more variety.. "oh not fish again " ;)



Wendy
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Would you please update your spreadsheet when you have some time? We'd like to see how Farine is doing.
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Hi Wendy
Now things are going so well i dont want to change anything.
The spreadsheet has been updated (thanks Kim)so you may notice the nice evolution. Later maybe I will look for lantus. Will my vet agree with it? I don't know. I imagine that if not I wont be able to buy that. Anyway for now it's not in my perspective.
Also I ordered for Evo 95% chicken and beef... I dont want her to be bored eating always the same thing...
Thank you for your comments
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Farine's spreadsheet has been updated!
Do you think though you can talk to your vet about lantus? Its a much better insulin for Farine
Hi Wendy, I too was prepared to recommend Lantus instead of Caninsulin, but since Lantus has a slower remission process, I wanted to make sure Caninsulin really was problematic. As you can see on Farine's spreadsheet, before she was on a low carb diet, her results were definately "roallercoasting". But eversince she has been fed with a low carb diet, the results have got lower, but also, they remain low enough until the next shot! ... except for yesterday (06.23.13) PMPS where the injection might have been a fur shot...

The difference between AMPS and PMPS results like : 214 to 292, 238 to 187, 268 to 218 ect... are not telling me that Farine has some huge ups and downs during the day, they simply tell me that dosage might need to be adjusted as she gets closer to remission. Since she is currently improving and test results are getting closer to normal range and remain close to that normal range until next shot, I would still wait a bit and give a chance to Caninsulin!
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Ok then. I would like to see how low she drops during the day since her PMPS seems to be blue and we cant assume she didnt drop lower below that. .. esp with the 77 the other day. Can you get a mid cycle test?

thanks
Wendy
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

alphatango said:
Bonjour sonia et merci
Quand tu dis "contrôlé" est ce que tu veux dire que tu nas plus besoin de leur donner d'insuline? Ils sont completement guéris? cat(2)_steam

Je ne crois pas que nous pouvons dire "guéris" car ils ont toujours le diabète mais ils n'ont plus besoin d'insuline.
 
Re: Farine's case : new to low carb diet and adjusting dosag

Wow c'est fantastique.
Je pense que Farine est dans la même voie. Elle progresse de jour en jour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top