Fancy Feast Canned Cat Food

Status
Not open for further replies.

strawberry gal

Member Since 2012
I've never posted here before, I'm a new member. I've been reading about the fact that a low carbohydrate,
high protein, wet diet is better for diabetic cats. In the article I read, it stated that certain varieties of Fancy
Feast are better than others. I'm wondering which varieties of Fancy Feast are best for diabetic cats and
if you know, why are they better ? Are there also other wet cat variety brands that are good for diabetic
cats ? Our cat has been newly diagnosed as having diabetes and we've been feeding him a dry diet.
 
Fancy Feast Classics were found to be under 10% calories from carbohydrates when data was gathered around 2006.
For more information on the data collection and other foods, please see Binky's page.
Any varieties which say "with gravy" typically use a carb source to make said gravy, which bumps up the calories from carbohydrates.
 
Here's a link to the diabetic-safe flavors of Fancy Feast: http://felinediabetes.com/glutenfree.htm

Fancy Feast is a good mid-grade food that's easy to find and a lot of cats seem to love it, so it's a pretty popular food for diabetics. However, you can feed any food that is under 10% carbs (preferably under 8%). Here's a link to the cat food nutrition charts that tells you the carb content of many foods: http://felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm Also, here's some more information, written by a vet, about the basics of feline nutrition, and why cats do best on a low carb, canned diet: http://catinfo.org/. Here is her page on cat food and diabetes as well: http://catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes

Have you started insulin yet? One very, very important thing to remember if you change the diet is to make sure you're home testing and lowering the dose. Changing the diet from high carb dry food to low carb wet food can cause a diabetic cat's blood sugar to drop 100-200 points, and some lucky cats can even go into immediate remission. Since the lower blood sugar will mean less insulin will be needed, you need to be testing and lowering the dose significantly or a deadly hypoglycemic incident could occur.
 
Here's a link to the diabetic-safe flavors of Fancy Feast: http://felinediabetes.com/glutenfree.htm

Fancy Feast is a good mid-grade food that's easy to find and a lot of cats seem to love it, so it's a pretty popular food for diabetics. However, you can feed any food that is under 10% carbs (preferably under 8%). Here's a link to the cat food nutrition charts that tells you the carb content of many foods: http://felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm Also, here's some more information, written by a vet, about the basics of feline nutrition, and why cats do best on a low carb, canned diet: http://catinfo.org/. Here is her page on cat food and diabetes as well: http://catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes

Have you started insulin yet? One very, very important thing to remember if you change the diet is to make sure you're home testing and lowering the dose. Changing the diet from high carb dry food to low carb wet food can cause a diabetic cat's blood sugar to drop 100-200 points, and some lucky cats can even go into immediate remission. Since the lower blood sugar will mean less insulin will be needed, you need to be testing and lowering the dose significantly or a deadly hypoglycemic incident could occur.

Elliott (was 20 lbs-notable weight loss got him to DVM= 14.8 lbs) is receiving Wet FF Classic 3 oz twice/day (80 cal, 3 carbs) when cat is supposed to receive 4+ cans??...Pre- diabetic,he used to have all day access to dry and would split 1 can FF at night with his brother. This am (pre insulin+ meal) Alpha track BG 538 (Relion 483), received increase last night to 2 u. NPH..Peak has been lower at 111-230..I am wondering if we are giving NPH because it is cheaper and giving it q 12 hours because it is easier for most pet owners. After all. it does not last 12 hours. Of course, I don't like $300.00 for Lantus (not suggested by DVM) which has to be discarded after 1 month or so but I do not like BG= 538. Maybe all is okay?..I just don't know...I am sorry to have dumped all of this on you all ..but still worrying...something I do very well!!! Elliott just looks so thin next to his brother..It is sad for me!!! I will try to develop spread sheet...Thank you all again!!!
 
I understand your worry about having a thin kitty. Right after diagnosis Radar was a mere 10 pounds of skin and bones from his former 16 pound self. It was sad and made me want to cry every time I petted him. Once he adjusted to the insulin and his body began to recover he began gaining weight again. It took about 6 weeks. Radar also was only eating dry kibble before diabetes and when we gave him FF for the first time he made cooing noises I'd never heard before. Once you have your spreadsheet up and running more experienced eyes will be able to help you figure out what's happening in Elliott's body and you will be able to use your expertise with people to learn much faster than I did. :)
 
Elliott (was 20 lbs-notable weight loss got him to DVM= 14.8 lbs) is receiving Wet FF Classic 3 oz twice/day (80 cal, 3 carbs) when cat is supposed to receive 4+ cans??...Pre- diabetic,he used to have all day access to dry and would split 1 can FF at night with his brother. This am (pre insulin+ meal) Alpha track BG 538 (Relion 483), received increase last night to 2 u. NPH..Peak has been lower at 111-230..I am wondering if we are giving NPH because it is cheaper and giving it q 12 hours because it is easier for most pet owners. After all. it does not last 12 hours. Of course, I don't like $300.00 for Lantus (not suggested by DVM) which has to be discarded after 1 month or so but I do not like BG= 538. Maybe all is okay?..I just don't know...I am sorry to have dumped all of this on you all ..but still worrying...something I do very well!!! Elliott just looks so thin next to his brother..It is sad for me!!! I will try to develop spread sheet...Thank you all again!!!
Lantus, and I think other insulins, can last longer than the 28 days if stored and handled properly. Keep it in the fridge and handle the vial gently (no shaking) and keep sterile (never use a needle twice, not good for the kitty anyway and very bad for the insulin). I have heard people say it can last this way for 3-6 mos. I feel comfortable replacing at 3 mos. or if it looks different cloudy or has any floating bits)
If you decide with your vet to switch to Lantus, you can order it from here: http://www.marksmarinepharmacy.ca/insulin.html
The 5 pack of Lantus Solostar pens are &145 plus $25 shipping. You can draw up the insulin from the vial in the pens into a syringe, just like with a regular insulin vial. A 5 pack will last you quite a long time, and since the pens are about 1/3 the size of a regular vial, you aren't throwing away unused insulin.
Hope that helps!
 
Lantus, and I think other insulins, can last longer than the 28 days if stored and handled properly. Keep it in the fridge and handle the vial gently (no shaking) and keep sterile (never use a needle twice, not good for the kitty anyway and very bad for the insulin). I have heard people say it can last this way for 3-6 mos. I feel comfortable replacing at 3 mos. or if it looks different cloudy or has any floating bits)
If you decide with your vet to switch to Lantus, you can order it from here: http://www.marksmarinepharmacy.ca/insulin.html
The 5 pack of Lantus Solostar pens are &145 plus $25 shipping. You can draw up the insulin from the vial in the pens into a syringe, just like with a regular insulin vial. A 5 pack will last you quite a long time, and since the pens are about 1/3 the size of a regular vial, you aren't throwing away unused insulin.
Hope that helps!

Marks Marine was a live saver for me and my Jenga. Had I not been able to get Lantus from them, I wouldn't have been able to affors it at all.

The pens lasted me a VERY long time! :)
 
Also, I am so confused about some of the fancy feast classics. I've been using it for awhile now, but because I'm always paranoid I may have made a horrible choice I've recently, again looked at different sites with their cat food lists, and each say something different. I was buying more of thr turkey and giblet classic, but I read somewhere it is high im carbs and that the roasted turkey ans giblets is the lower one. I've also seen diff % in beef feast classic, liver and chicken classic etc. Some say 4, 7, or even 8. Ughh!!! I'm so frustrated with what to believe. I know those are still good numbers, but I am trying to feed him all under 5% :(

Thanks all
 
I've recently, again looked at different sites with their cat food lists, and each say something different.
There are different ways of measuring the carb content.
Some other sites, for example, use the carb % by weight.
On this site, and on Catinfo.org, the figure used is the 'percentage of calories from carbs'. This is a more useful comparison figure.

Then there is the data used in the calculation itself....
US cat food labelling gives a 'Guaranteed Analysis' of mininum/maximum values for certain elements. This may or may not be an accurate representation of what is in the can at any given time, so, calculations based on this data may not be accurate. For the most recent data it's necessary to contact the manufacturer and ask for the current 'as fed' values. Some manufacturers are more helpful than others.

If it's not possible to get the current 'as fed' data it is still possible to do a carb calculation using the 'Guaranteed Analysis' data, but just be aware that it may not be correct... However, coupled with a detailed look at the ingredients list (for any sources of carbs) it may still provide some useful info.
Ultimately, 'the proof of the pudding is in the eating'... Those of us who are hometesting can measure/see the effects of the foods that we're feeding our cats... ;)

Eliz
 
try not to stress about the fancy feast I am pretty sure all the classics are under 10% and some of the flaked are as well--the food chart has the specifics-- I know it is hard but anything under 10% is acceptable .... My guy is a diver so I actually give him 12-13% (Max cat) when he has a low pre shot number to try and avoid the danger zone.... patience is something we are forced to learn with FD.:bighug:
 
Thanks for the kind replies. I sure appreciate it. A bit of reassurance always helps!!!

I am always wanting to help others find new foods to try as well. I came across so many lately. I mentioned before how much he liked KOHA cat food. I found this Halo Vigor turkey and quail today. I calculated this specific recipe and it was 3.75% wet matter carbs. Dry matter carbs said 3. I still don't understand the wet and dry. I think focusing on the wet matter percentage is what I'm suppose to look at mostly?? It didn't list any ash, so not sure if that's a big deal or not. There was not any carrageenan listed, but it has agar agar and I just read a post on a different site from a lady who says carrageenan and agar agar are both derived from red seaweed, and that some sources say they are almost identical. I am not as smart as some of you with these ingredients, so no idea if that is true or not, but from what google comes up with, it's pretty much the same thing?? I didn't see any gums listed either. I do love that it has coconut oil in it because I have wanted to give him some in his food, but he is way too picky to eat it if I melt it and apply or even just dab a lil' on the food. Any way, here is the food I am talking about if you guys and gals want to look it over and give me a firm yes it's okay or HECK NO STAY AWAY. lol

http://www.vitacost.com/halo-purely-for-pets-vigor-canned-cat-food-turkey-quail-recipe

I also found a food called PetGuard that didn't seem bad, again.. I'm not a Pro like you all. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top