? Fa 8/17 amps 355...+2=297...+4=243...+5=241...+6=279...question:is testing after +6 necessary?

In this case I agree with Bron -- although, I'm a testaholic and I would have likely gotten a test at +8 or +9. A great deal depends on what you know about your cat. There is also a phenomenon we call a "double dip." Sometimes a cat's numbers will drop again after nadir but before pre-shot.

An likewise -- I'd increase the dose.
 
In this case I agree with Bron -- although, I'm a testaholic and I would have likely gotten a test at +8 or +9. A great deal depends on what you know about your cat. There is also a phenomenon we call a "double dip." Sometimes a cat's numbers will drop again after nadir but before pre-shot.

An likewise -- I'd increase the dose.

Thank you. I do think she dropped a bit at the end of the cycle but it was a small drop only. In that case it should be safe ?
 
Drops that are less than meter variance (i.e. 20%) are likely not an issue. If you're concerned, get early tests -- at +2 or even at +1. A lot depends on knowing your cat.
 
Drops that are less than meter variance (i.e. 20%) are likely not an issue. If you're concerned, get early tests -- at +2 or even at +1. A lot depends on knowing your cat.
We still have very high BG before shot(over 300), so I assume even if +12 is slightly lower than +10, it should still be ok to shoot and not to be concerned too much right? Unless when BG before shot is lower than 100?
 
If your pre-shot is in the higher ranges, you're fine to shoot. If you get a pre-shot number that makes you unsure whether it's safe to shoot, post and ask for help. For those of us who are veterans with TR, we will shoot anything over 50. However, you will likely want to work your way down to shooting lower numbers so you have the confidence to shoot low and know how Fa responds. The basic idea with Lantus is "shoot low to stay low."
 
If your pre-shot is in the higher ranges, you're fine to shoot. If you get a pre-shot number that makes you unsure whether it's safe to shoot, post and ask for help. For those of us who are veterans with TR, we will shoot anything over 50. However, you will likely want to work your way down to shooting lower numbers so you have the confidence to shoot low and know how Fa responds. The basic idea with Lantus is "shoot low to stay low."
Fa is nowhere near 100 yet even nadir. so I think it is pretty safe to shoot when pre shot is over 100 then. I will post for help if it is lower than 100 then. :)

I have some questions here. Lantus is better for shooting every 12 hours right? sliding scale is not good for lantus? I know someone whose cat got BG low in one pre shot but high in the other, so she only shoots once a day. Is she better still doing two shots a day? Thank you in advance.
 
Lantus does best when you shoot the same amount of insulin every 12 hrs. Because Lantus is a depot type of insulin, if you don't keep the depot full you lose the benefit of what the depot offers (i.e., long duration, a much gentler onset and cycle). Chances are the person you know was seeing a bounce with low numbers followed by high numbers or she has has a vet who is less familiar with the shorter acting types of insulin. Your friend would do better finding a dose that she could comfortably shoot twice a day.
 
Last edited:
Lantus does best when you shoot the same amount of insulin every 12 hrs. Because Lantus is a depot type of insulin, if you don't keep the depot full you lose the benefit of what the depot offers (i.e., long duration, a much gentler onset and cycle). Chances are the person you know was seeing a bounce with low numbers followed by high numbers or she has has a vet who is for familiar with the shorter acting types of insulin. Your friend would do better finding a dose that she could comfortably shoot twice a day.
thanks very much
 
Back
Top