Fa 5.17 amps 11.3/pmps 9.8/+6, 6.6

fafa's mum

Member Since 2019
We were thinking to increase to 10.5 from 10 unit of Levemir since we saw more pinks. Somehow hubby saw a passage and mentioned maybe too much insulin is not good either.

we then decided to lower it back to 9.5 unit instead since 10 unit had the most pinks. I was not sure about doing this but I guess no harm if just for a few days to try ( to avoid arguing with hubby). And I am so relieved to see some nicer BG on 9.5 unit again.

I wonder if we should have lowered it when 9.5u started to show more pinks last time.

I will test it again at 2am +8 tonight in case it drops too much.

any suggestion is welcome.

@Wendy&Neko
 
We don't know the reason that Fa needs more insulin than most cats, but I presume there is some sort of resistance going on. The things that cause resistance can change insulin needs over time. It's also possible that at 10 units Fa was seeing some green numbers in those cycles you didn't get a test, and was bouncing and the bounce numbers were the numbers you were seeing.
 
We don't know the reason that Fa needs more insulin than most cats, but I presume there is some sort of resistance going on. The things that cause resistance can change insulin needs over time. It's also possible that at 10 units Fa was seeing some green numbers in those cycles you didn't get a test, and was bouncing and the bounce numbers were the numbers you were seeing.
Thats true we still don’t know the reason why Fa needs so much insulin yet.

and yes I cannot test her enough to know the curve. A bit hard but I will try to do more testing if possible.

Our vet does not know we have gone to 10 unit and she thinks we are doing 6.5 unit. I cannot tell her too much in case she is not willing to continue to treat Fafa. She has been wanting to get us to reduce the dose. I have no confidence to find another vet here who is as supportive as she is . Their clinic is very reasonable with fees.

The vet has called us occasionally to check and ensure Fa is doing ok. Next time we are asked to go in for check up, I will see what she says. We need to get insulin again soon so we will find out if she wants us to bring the cat in this time.
 
Back
Top