Fa 2 June / amps 9.9/+2.5=8.2/+4=8

fafa's mum

Member Since 2019
I haven't been coming to FDMB much as I have been lazy when Fa's BG stayed high.

when on 10 unit of Levemir, Fa's BG seemed to be really high.
We lowered it to 9.5 unit to see, it got better and then went up again.
I know 9 unit did not seem sufficient but hubby wanted to give it a try and it did not work out either.

We have then come back to 9.5 unit of Levemir.

After a few days back on 9.5 unit, we talked to our vet on the phone and we made up our mind that we must do our best to cut down Fa's food intake.

Our vet said Fa's now over 7.5kg and her ideal weight should be 6.5kg. When calculating on how much raw food for her, we should work on the ideal weight not the actual weight. Also, since Fa is not an active cat, we should be on the low side of 3% to 5% of her body weight, (i.e. 3% not 5%). To sum up, Fa was fed over 300 gram of raw food a day before the cut, and now we tried to get her to do 200 gram a day. Not easy since she is a noisy cat especially when she is not fed 'enough'.

Anyway, I am not sure if it's the 9.5 unit of Levemir or if it's the reduced amount of food that's helping, Fa has come back to blues again. I am not optimistic if she can stay blue, as she did not seem to be able to do so in the past, but i still hope that maybe the food is an important factor which can help her to stay blue.

She's got a lower +2 +4 than amps. I wonder if I should tests her more after insulin from now. Most of the time I only test her from +5 if her BG before shot is high.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Nice cycle today. Did you give insulin this morning? The units are blank on the spreadsheet.

Cutting food may help a bit. Neko was around 6.5 kg and I gave her 125 mg of raw per day to maintain her weight. Of course, some proteins are higher calorie that others. For example, kangraroo is low calorie and chicken is higher. Weigh her regularly to see if you are getting the results you want.

With SLGS you should stay with a dose if it's giving you nadirs between 90 and 150.

As for when to test her, maybe it's time for a curve or two. You might find results are different if she's starting higher rather than lower. Bounce breaking cycles have later nadirs and usually start high.
 
Nice cycle today. Did you give insulin this morning? The units are blank on the spreadsheet.

Cutting food may help a bit. Neko was around 6.5 kg and I gave her 125 mg of raw per day to maintain her weight. Of course, some proteins are higher calorie that others. For example, kangraroo is low calorie and chicken is higher. Weigh her regularly to see if you are getting the results you want.

With SLGS you should stay with a dose if it's giving you nadirs between 90 and 150.

As for when to test her, maybe it's time for a curve or two. You might find results are different if she's starting higher rather than lower. Bounce breaking cycles have later nadirs and usually start high.

Thanks very much for your reply so soon. I did give insulin but I forgot to put that in. I just fixed the SS. :)

I do hope that cutting food will help Fa. I reckon she's eating too much. I only knew it would not take long for her to get used to less food until our vet told us and gave me confidence.

I did ask about if we have insulin resistance test that we can do but our vet said there is no such testing. I asked about Acro testing before and our vet did not think Fa has it and hence no intention to do more testing on this. I know her answer only means that we don't have it in our city in Australia. I cannot be bothered asking more but like the first time I mentioned to her about Levemir, she did not seem to know about it but she did do some checking and agreed for us to use it. Fingers crossed that she will do more checking about possible testing for insulin resistance and Acro.

I will try to test more maybe at +2 +6 +9 if I can in the evening.
 
Just so you know, Fa's current dose, plus that fact that she's gaining weight in spite of still being unregulated, is a clue she might have acromegaly. The diabetes is a result of the excess growth hormone that is being put out of the pituitary. Weight gain is common. It's something I constantly had to fight. A lot of it is muscles, not fat. IGF-1 and growth hormone contribute to muscle growth.

I wonder if it's worth contacting University of Queensland, where noted feline diabetes specialist Dr. Jacquie Rand teaches. She has done a number of studies that involved testing for acromegaly, If you look at the article called "Management of Diabetic Cats" that's in our dosing methods sticky note, her email address is in there.
 
Just so you know, Fa's current dose, plus that fact that she's gaining weight in spite of still being unregulated, is a clue she might have acromegaly. The diabetes is a result of the excess growth hormone that is being put out of the pituitary. Weight gain is common. It's something I constantly had to fight. A lot of it is muscles, not fat. IGF-1 and growth hormone contribute to muscle growth.

I wonder if it's worth contacting University of Queensland, where noted feline diabetes specialist Dr. Jacquie Rand teaches. She has done a number of studies that involved testing for acromegaly, If you look at the article called "Management of Diabetic Cats" that's in our dosing methods sticky note, her email address is in there.
Thanks a lot Wendy.

I do think the chance is quite high for acromegaly but part of me is trying to deny it i guess, since what we can do here is so little. It's also hard when the vet does not think so and I have to find something to prove that it's possible. Hubby always complains i worry too much and trusts the vet.

thanks for letting me know of the name of the specialist. I read before that in Queensland some vets know about it but I always don't know which name to be trusted. I will spend some time reading about it before I go to the vet next time.

Fa does look muscular in my opinion. I will find a photo.
55806321-7920-42af-a132-0e7463c5e661.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 55806321-7920-42af-a132-0e7463c5e661.jpg
    55806321-7920-42af-a132-0e7463c5e661.jpg
    105 KB · Views: 56
Back
Top