f5/02/13 Rags AMPS 426, +2 - 565

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Good morning, started Rags 12 hour curve, UGH !!!! Of course I do NOT like his numbers so far. Very curious to see the rest.

Just as word, I WILL be testing before shots from now on, plus a' couple of extras. Do not: like not knowing his numbers !!
People test before insulin, I'm going to ask her why she doesn't want me testing him.

Be in touch, Thank you,

Becki & Rags
 
Good luck with your home testing and the curve you are doing on Rags today. Don't let him escape outside like he has a couple of times in the past. We know he likes to 'evade' you when it comes time for those tests. ;-) :lol: ;-)

He is such a sweetie already but you could make him even sweeter by sweet talking him into those tests today. :shock: Tempt him with a tiny piece of those freeze dried chicken treats. Maybe sneak up on him while he is sleeping? Not sure he would like that. Wink never did.

Of course I do NOT like his numbers so far. Very curious to see the rest.
Yes, I'm curious too. I'll keep looking for your updated post with the new numbers in the subject line. Going to play out in my garden today. :cool: :cool: :cool:

Just as word, I WILL be testing before shots from now on, plus a' couple of extras. Do not: like not knowing his numbers !!
People test before insulin, I'm going to ask her why she doesn't want me testing him.

I'm glad to hear you want to test him more. I wouldn't like knowing what his numbers are either. I never felt safe not testing before the shot.

In fact, I told the shelter where I got Wink that I would not consider fostering him unless they would provide me with a meter and show me how to home test. At this point, I'm much better than any of them with the home testing and so are you! All the people at that shelter do blood draws from the leg in order to do a BG test. How barbaric when a simply quick ear prick does the trick.

Have you increased the dose yet? (Dummy me, forgot to look at your spreadsheet first before starting to write this reply. )

ETA: I see you did go up to 1.5u on 4/24
 
Deb, this DA__ computer won't let me type. It took me five minutes to do this. It will NOT let me put my numbers in the topic bar, so here they are : 7:30 a.m. 426
+ 2. 563
+ 4. 377
+ 6. 311
+ 8. 382

I am NOT liking his numbers at all ! He did MUCH better when he took when he was taking 1 unit once a day. Never had a HI number.
I guess I'm just NOT understanding this at all !!!! The higher the doses go, the higher his numbers go. What am I missing ?
Also three and a half cans is NOT enough for my boy. He looks terrible .!!!!! Always soooooooooooo hungry !!!!!!
I am just getting soooooo frustrated !!! Stuck myself with his lancet, my glucose is 98. Bleeding doesn't stop. Guess I'm a bleeder. Probably because of the meds. ( which STILL are not right yet !!!! ). Feeling so tired still, light headed to the point of walking into walls, instead of going around them !!! Ha !!!

OK, two more tests to go and YES he is running from me and hid under the bed. Closed ALL doors. My boys ears are VERY sensitive to begin with, before all this started. Doc couldn't believe how warm his ears stay. Doesn't like any loud talking, or my computer talking. He runs in the basement.

Talk later, gotta go feed my girl, she hasn't eaten all day. Hairballs, ya know ????

Thanks,

Becki & Rags
 
Deb his + 10 - 378. And he had a teaspoon of salmon at 4:30 p.m. One more to go, YEAH !!!!!!


BECKI & Rags
 
Stuck myself with his lancet, my glucose is 98.
Well, one good thing came out of poking yourself. You know you are not diabetic. On the other hand, you probably knew that already and did not need the verification by testing yourself.

I guess I'm just NOT understanding this at all !!!! The higher the doses go, the higher his numbers go. What am I missing ?
Test numbers. You may think I'm kidding you Becki, but I am dead serious. Your vet had you raise the dose and then told you to do absolutely no testing.

What testing every day shows us, are trends in how the numbers are changing. Do you understand what I mean by a trend? It's a pattern. It's variations from day to day. With more numbers, we could see some type of pattern.

With no test data from 4/23 through 5/01, we don't have any information to work with to see those patterns.

From the testing today, we can tell a couple of things but it is still not as clear as I would like to see. Clear as mud as they say. But here are a few little tidbits I can tell from his numbers today:
1. Food spike at +2, insulin had not started working yet.
2. +4 insulin has started working, sometime between the +2 and the +4 tests.
3. +4 and +6 numbers are virtually identical. Accounting for the 20% +/- that meters are allowed to read, we consider those two numbers to be the same.
4. not sure where his nadir is yet. Somewhere around that +6 number. Maybe an hour before that, maybe an hour after that time. Really need to see that +8 number to see if it is rising or falling. OOps! You had the +8 in your post but I was looking at the SS.
5. +10 is about the same as the +8

Keep that test data coming from his curve today.

This morning you said:
I WILL be testing before shots from now on, plus a' couple of extras
I'd really love to see a PMPS (which will be your +12) and a before bed test tonight to see more of the pattern.

Feeling so tired still, light headed to the point of walking into walls, instead of going around them !!! Ha !!!
Please take good care of yourself Becki. Sending healing vines and sleep well vines and eat something vines! It's probably why you are light headed, I bet you forgot to eat something.

Are you using the new syringes with the 1/2 unit markings to give this new 1.5u dose?
 
Becki, I know what you mean when you say you dont understand why his numbers went up with a dose increase. Guess what?! Jupiter did that too. First time I increased his dose - his numbers went up. I was soooo confused! But after raising his dose (we had to wait a few days in between to see how the new doses were doing and I had to test sometimes) his numbers finally started coming down.

Hang in there, Becki and Rags. His numbers will come down at some point - and I think sometimes it just takes a little time for their body to get used to the insulin.

You are doing a great job getting tests today!!
 
Deb, of course I am using the 1/2 cc syringes, love, love them. Yes, I will get his number two hours after he eats tonight, just for you !!!!
No, I'm NOT eating right cause I have no food. My kids come first !! I had to gat Rags 100 cans of food this month. 50 each time I went. What a pain in the ass to check them out in the fast food aisle. Freeway also eats what he eats, gets quite expensive. Three of my other kids have had no food for two days. I go tomorrow for litter and food and treats. Then I'm usually BROKE ! Ha, ha ! I told you I lost seven pounds in two weeks. I have been eating whole wheat toast for dinner. Now I ran out of butter, God !! Always something !!!! I think I need a man or woman, ha, ha !! Need that second income. I haven't used my stove in 12 years. I don't cook !!!!!!!
My feral cat ate Rags diabetic food this morning for breakfast, ran out of his food too. He did like it, thank God !!! My Sweetie ate it tonight for dinner and she liked it too. My girl, Freeway hasn't eaten all day. I think she has hairballs. Sorry, she did eat a little of the salmon that you sent, but not too much.
Oh well, it's getting near that "Time " for his next test and dinner. My poor boy !!!! I'll get back at you in a little while.

Becki & Rags
 
Jaimie I think he did ALOT better when he took one shot a day. He never had a high. I'm in the process of his 12 hour curve today and he is NOT too happy !!!! He is ALWAYS hungry, my boy s NOT used to eating like this. He wants more. I want soooo bad for him to go into remission that I can taste it.

Do you have anymore coupons for fancy feast ??? If so, I am interested. I'll send you the postage, just let me know, OK ???

Thank you
Becki & Rags
 
Jaimie I think he did ALOT better when he took one shot a day. He never had a high. I'm in the process of his 12 hour curve today and he is NOT too happy !!!! He is ALWAYS hungry, my boy s NOT used to eating like this. He wants more. I want soooo bad for him to go into remission that I can taste it.

Do you have anymore coupons for fancy feast ??? If so, I am interested. I'll send you the postage, just let me know, OK ???

Thank you
Becki & Rags
 
Becki, I dont need the postage! Its just a stamp and I still have some stamps and coupons left. I will mail you some coupons tomorrow! If there are any other coupons besides fancy feast that you need, please send me a private message tonight or tomorrow.
 
Becki

Sorry I didn't get beck to you on feeding. I worked yesterday and part of today.

Do you know how many calories he needs to maintain his weight? A very simple calculation is ideal weight x 20 = number of calories/day. As an example only, if he weighs 10 lbs at his idea weight, then he should be eating 200 calories/day. That is a starting point and then you weigh him weekly. If he gains weight, cut the food back a bit. If he loses weight, add a little until you get the calories that holds him at 10 lbs.

When you know how many calories per day he should eat, then figure out how much food that is. Again, as an example, if he should get four small cans a day, then divide that into several small portions for each cycle. Or you can make it into cat sickles and leave it out for him to free feed.

Right now, you don't need to do any specific management of his curve. Just feed him the number of calories he needs throughout the day in smaller portions. While we don't want to feed him as much as he will eat, feed him the calories he needs to maintain his weight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top