Ez- surfing green, ?on next step

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kath4158

Member Since 2017
good morning, Ezz has been doing well and has had no insulin for 3-4 days now.
I wonder about this being a "honeymoon " phase vs "remission"
When would I have to restart insulin? If she is above 150? More then once??
I'm thinking of trying to transition her to a friskies pate: as FF has high phosphorus? Currently she is on the proplan DM
Trying to just think through some things as I am new to all this as rescue would like to find her her furr-ever home.
Any thoughts would be appreciated, thank you
 
Morning, here's your last thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ez-surfing-green-on-next-step.173258/

Just read the last thread and looking at ss, did you not shoot a drop on the pm cycle of the 12th? ie the 69
When reading through the thread it looks like you shot that 69 but that's not reflected in the ss. Can you double check that you have the last time she shot reflected accurately on the ss please?
She's looking pretty good on no insulin so far.
 
Just this morning I looked you and Ezzie up to see what was happening and oh what a nice surprise that she hasn't had insulin in a few days.

Here is your link for your last post ( I think Gill inadvertently copied this one and posted above )

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ez-need-help-pmps-69-what-about-amps.173037/


It looks like you can call this day 4 of an Off the Juice Trail :D Keep monitoring her in the AM and the PM the way you are doing. She did have those two blue numbers on the 13 and the 14 but then was back in the greens again. If you get another blue AM or PM number, test her at +3 to make sure she brings herself back to green numbers after she has eaten and that means her pancreas is working :cat:

You would want to see numbers trending upwards for a few days before deciding on giving her anymore insulin. If you aren't sure, just post for help.

You want to continue to feed low carb food and avoid steroids if at all possible.

After 14 days, we have a party!
 
You are correct on the 2/12, she got the "drop" with the AMPS, but the PMPS at 69 , was the first NS-no shoot
 
( I think Gill inadvertently copied this one and posted above )
Ooops, looks like I did, thanks Bobbie.

Seeing as Ezzie is holding steady, it might be an idea to call this a trial.

Here are the OTJ trial instructions

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!


Keep posting daily so we can cheer Ezzie on.
flip.gif
Go Ezzie:D:D:D
 
Ooops, looks like I did, thanks Bobbie.

Seeing as Ezzie is holding steady, it might be an idea to call this a trial.

Here are the OTJ trial instructions

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!


Keep posting daily so we can cheer Ezzie on.
flip.gif
Go Ezzie:D:D:D
Thanks for posting those instructions, I went looking for them to come back and post and got sidetracked. :rolleyes:
 
Thanks so much for the help. Hopefully ez is on her way to finding that furr-ever home.

I hope she is too.:)

What I would say is that if she does find a furr-ever family her new family must be made aware how important the food issue is for her, she is still diabetic, just diet controlled, and it is imperative that they keep her on an appropriate diet, going back to a high carb kibble or cat food would easily set her back and see her back on insulin.

Monitoring her BG periodically would also be advisable.

First things first though, lets see Ezzie rock this trial

If you post each day as Ezzie DayXX OTJ trial ambgXX PMBGxx we can all share and cheer on Ezzie's success.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top