EYES pls - Hershey 2/24 PMPS 30's

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
What in the world is going on??? PMPS Relion said (36) immediate retest (34) another immediate retest (35) - Maybe batteries are low?? How in the world do you know???

Searching searching found iPet - Lo - immediate retest (31)

Fed regular food and waiting to retest in :15

Just wanted additional eyes/ thoughts.......
 
Here's how the rest of his day has gone...

AMPS (347) Walked 65X (.7u)
+6 (152) Walked 45X

PMPS (337) Walked 50X (.7u)
+5 (210)
+9 Walked 42X

02/24/12
AMPS (312) Walked 45X (.7u)

And, I always walk before testing at PS. So, stupid me - I walked him 50X! Not a good day for this...not that there is ever a good day for this...
 
I don't have any batteries for the new meter (relion) guess I didn't think we should need them so soon. That's why I dug out the iPet to double-check
 
Sorry you are having problems today :( So feed to get him up, do you have some medium or high carb food around? With gravy maybe?
 
Well if that’s all you have to go on, we have to assume he is in or near the 30s, so let’s take it from there.
 
Yes, Donna, I have a can of higher carb food. Am hoping the next test is a better number.

And, Kim, I said the same thing - that's why I kept retesting...
 
Libby
With my relion micro, when the battery goes low, it says so on the "screen" when I turn it on. You have no choice than to assume the meter is reading right with the rechecks...

Test yourself to verify the meter is working.
 
LIbby, since you haven’t said anything about it, can we assume Hershey is acting normal? Lethargic, meowing, moving his head weird?
 
libby,
yes, the side of your fingertip. Or tell Doug he needs to sacrifice an ear!
 
Good idea, Carl - too bad Doug is ~ 1-1/2 hours away with no phone contact

Mine tested (101)

Retesting now - ended up being more like :20 between tests
Retest (37) - feeding another 1/8 can

Sorry - seems a couple of posts got by me

Hershey is acting like normal. Walked the 50X with me, actually a little faster than usual, never once asking for food or trying to stop. He is eating like he's starving, which is the way he always eats...happy to get the food, but okay when it's gone.

Will retest at 4:15p (so :10)
 
Most recent test (37), so he is rising, slowly.

Any thoughts on what in the world is going on with him? It being at PMPS REALLY threw me!
 
It does seem odd to be that low at +12. But he’s eating, that will bring him up. You are doing great.
 
Cass has done somethin similar, just not that low. All I can figure is that his pancreas jumps in occasionally.
 
Well, guess I won't be walking pre-test anymore, even at PS!

Trying to catch up on some life stuff, figure out food to take to my sister's, watching the thunderstorm/tornado updates (worried about my kids 1-1/2 & 3hrs away) - maybe Hershey just wanted some extra attention...
 
So I would do your test at 4:15, then plan on doing another at 4:30, we want to make sure he keeps coming up.
 
I wonder where Hershey's BG was 2 hours ago!

The weather is pretty scary here today. I know today is not an easy day for you, but I admire your preserverance. Hopefully, Hershey will come up soon!
 
At 4:15p (42)...guess that's +13.25

I wonder when he started going down, too, but the +6 looked good...I thought...so, I didn't worry...

Hershey is alert and just hanging out in my lap like he's waiting for the next test, but I think I'll disturb him to feed 1/8 more. Trying to hold off on the karo/higher carb a few min longer since it hits him so hard, but I don't want to wait too longer, either...
 
Thats good Libby. If he were my kitty, I would test again at 4:30 and if he comes up again, you can test every half hour. We just want to make sure he comes up and stays in safe numbers.
 
Hershey probably knew you needed a distraction today... and he was glad to oblige! You're doing great with him - keep up the good work!
 
I just reread you post, I don’t know that you have to give the karo unless his numbers fall again. Food should do it and will last longer. Lets see what a 4:30 test says and take it from there.
 
Daughter called, so 4:30 test became 4:37 test (43) - not really rising, but YAY! for not falling!

Gave another 1/16 of a can of his regular food (Wellness)
 
Well, obviously you won’t be shooting insulin tonight :mrgreen:

You’ll just have to keep testing to make sure he stays up in good numbers. Mr. Pancreas wanted in on the action it seems.
 
Libby,
We're all here watching this and I think I speak for the masses by saying this is as confusing to us as it is to you! Extra long duration, on a dose that worked wonderfully the past three or four cycles. This is pretty amazing.

Once the crisis is over, we'll have lots to think and talk about....

Carl
 
5pm - hubby called - driving in bad weather and checking on us, so ~5min late

5:05 test (48) ...uhm...that's just past +14

Then, fed 1/16 reg food
 
Well that's the right direction...and one heckova late afternoon cruise! I would think in the next half hour you will see some food show up in his numbers. I would still keep testing every half hour for a bit if you can. I'll be here.
 
Sorry - called to check on my son and wanted to give Hershey a couple of extra minutes to 'rest his ear'

~+14.5 (58) - gave treat

Should I give more food or wait? Don't want to overfill him...planning to test again at 6pm (~:14)
 
Not rushing you, just don't want you to feel I'm ignoring you either. I know your plate is more than full today :(

I would make sure he has eaten his normal amount of food for the evening, maybe a bit extra. Since you are not giving insulin tonight, this should be fine.
 
Hey, Donna - You aren't rushing me; I appreciate you hanging out with me. I would've felt okay going it alone, but it was so low...and at shot time! Threw me for a loop :o

+15 (61) - And, he's had MORE than his normal amount of food...by 1/4 + 1/16 of a can! He's fat and happy!! And, he's supposed to eat another full meal in 3 hours. So, I'm guessin' we're out of the woods??? Guess I should retest in :30 or can I wait an hour since he's doing much better?
 
Since he hasn't dropped at all, and I can't imagine there is any pz insulin left in there, go for a test in an hour.
I am gonna pm you my cell number if you have any probs, you may call me anytime. I should be here tonight but just in case you'll have an instant way to get me.

You'll have to consult the experts here for dosing advise now. I would guess a reduction is in order but I don't feel qualified to suggest anything.

Look for my pm. Good luck, take things as easy as you can.

Peace, hugs....
 
The only explanation I can think of, Libby, is that his pancreas decided to join the party. This isn't something that necessarily begins and then continues. It may spurt off and on. But I think it is always a good sign. I can't see that his dose was high enough to cause that long duration. It seemed like a very sensible choice.

So you are skipping tonight. I am not sure about tomorrow. I think reducing the dose makes sense, but I am just not sure how much. Let's see what others think.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top