eyes on Bølle's ss please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nina & Bølle Denmark

Member Since 2012
Hi guys
Charlotte and I have for a while raised Bølle's dose slowly. Last change was friday evening to 0.9u. He had a bounce saturday pmps 508.
It's a long time, since he has been in the blacks. We agreed to hold the dose hoping he will settle down.
Sundag pmps was 311 and was given 0.9u. He is feeling well and are eating the usual amount of food.
This morning amps: 115 so ns this morning.
Really surpriced as we drove home from the country house sunday evening - and lucky me, as I've forgot the insulin at the country house.
Checked him at +1: 169.
I've texted Charlotte and we really need some advise about the dose.
It's also important, as I am going on holiday for 10 days as of Thursday. My daughter who is a nurse by the way, will take care of him, but I think it would be nice to make it as easy as possible for her.
Of course I will be in contact with her to advise her about the dose.
Hope you once again can give us useful advise.
Yours
Nina & Bølle
 
It's possible the .9u is a good dose. I'm sorry you forgot the insulin because even on the 115 he should have had maybe .5u. Now it will be a few cycles before he gets caught up since the shot was skipped.

As long as your daughter has some high carb food to give him if his BG goes low, I think it would be fine to stay with .9u during the time you are gone. Maybe he can settle on .9u and when you return he will be doing well!
 
I hope you have more insulin at home!

Will your daughter be testing him (I hope so). He will do OK on .9u if he stays steady and it is possible that you could have given him .9u this morning and been ok, but I prefer that the first time you shoot a normal dose on a significantly lower PS number, you be there to monitor and make sure he is going to be ok on that much. I agree with Vicky, that even a small amount of insulin would be better than skipping a dose - or you can wait 30-60 mins and retest, if his number is rising, as it was today, you are probably safe to shoot. If you are uncomfortable with that, reduce the dose to half or a third.

For your time away, it is important that his BG is known before giving insulin - as you saw this morning. If she is not willing to test then his dose probably should come down to .8u while you are away. He will be in higher numbers, but won't risk a low number. You can raise him back up when you get home.

Are you going to draw his doses before you leave? As I am sure you have found, getting .9u takes practice. You can do this with levemir (not lantus). I drew doses for Beau when I was gone 6 days and the sitter was testing. he decided to not shoot at all while I was gone so I used those doses up when I got back. That was longer than ten days from when I drew them. Just place the syringes on their side in a box in the fridge. They should be fine.
 
Thanks you so much for your answers.
My daughter will be testing him before giving him a shot. She has done so already, if I haven't been at home.
I have also taught her to draw 1u and then slowly turn until the drop is like a pin head. So I hope it will be all right. She is working on her bachelor in nursing, so she will be at home with Bølle most of the time. She is moving in to take care of him.
Bølle is happy as ever all though pmps was 466, what else to expect with a day without insulin.
I have a new Levemir pen.
 
That all sounds great (well, except that 466...).

Tell your daughter how to post here if she wants more input - although I am sure she knows how to contact Charlotte for help if needed.
 
I will tell her for sure.
Well that number just shows that he can't manage a day without insulin. Hopefully that day will come, but I will be satisfied, if I can keep him steady in a tolerable range. He is turning fourteen in the middle of July.
Thanks again for all your help, I do appreciate it :-)
 
Today pmps 425.
Shall we hold the dose at 0.9u hoping he will settle down, or is the new Insulin-pen more potent, so it would be wiser to reduce to 0.8u?
I am very eager to give my daughter the best advise for taking care of Bølle in my absence.
Maybe he just has to adjust after the ns yesterday morning.
 
Nina & Bølle Denmark said:
Today pmps 425.
Shall we hold the dose at 0.9u hoping he will settle down, or is the new Insulin-pen more potent, so it would be wiser to reduce to 0.8u?
I am very eager to give my daughter the best advise for taking care of Bølle in my absence.
Maybe he just has to adjust after the ns yesterday morning.

I think the 425 is from the skipped shot yesterday. It takes at least a day or 2 to regain the momentum that was lost from the skipped shot. No worries to stay with .9u. I don't think there's much variance between pens. Between batches of pens, maybe.

Hope this helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top